Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

excellent restarants close by

Posted May 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by leonardo from Ecuador

Velazquez Madrid

Posted May 14, 2012
I have stayed at this hotel many times for the past 35 years. It is centrally located, the staff usually upgrades me into a junior suite ant they treat me really well. However, it is now old and has not been properly renovated. You have to climb some stairs in order to get to the elevator which, if you are not traveling light, is quiet unconfortable. It is close to everything in Madrid and since they treat me well, I do not mind coming back to this hotel. I can recommend it to some of my friends, but not no everyone.
3 out of 5
by zoey from Los Angeles, CA, USA

no wifi

Posted Mar 22, 2012
Cons: no wifi, no internet
Location: ok, not close to any resturant
you have to climb a stairway to get the the level with elivator, and the elivator is super small. no wifi available even though they said they have it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buenos aires argentina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, well located

Posted Nov 16, 2011
Location: In Madrid, Salamanca neighborhood will keep you away from tourists in cheap hotels
Certain rooms are extremely small and many have the windows looking to a dark patio
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2011
Stayed at Gran Velasquez for a long weekend and it was perfect for our needs. The neighborhood is lovely, there are many stores and restaurants nearby. There are also several metro stops and it is easy to get any where in the city. The breakfast buffet is wonderful if you like to start the day with a large breakfast. The hotel is old but very well maintained. If you like more of a residential upscale neighborhood, this is a good hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
Well maintained hotel, very beautiful interior. Location is a bit of a stretch as it's northeast of the main touristy areas. Staff very helpful and spoke english.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2011
I always try to book this hotel as it is a good location but is not too busy. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Use to be a very nice hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2011
We have been in this hotel a several times, but this last time we found that the hotel is in a very bad shape. The rug is dirty, the beds are very old and very unconfortable, the air coditioner does not work and the room looks not very clean. The staff is nice and helpfull and the location is perfect, but the overall hotel looks old and need urgent mantenance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Hotel Velasquez Madrid

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels.com
A smart looking hotel in a great neighborhood sadly let down by the indifference of the front desk staff the strange layout (avoid the distant staircases because there are no porters) and the fact that the a/c did not work in either of the 2 rooms I tried with temperature of 32C. Great looks but best avoided.