Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston texas

no complaints

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: location, wifi, good beds, nice owners good security.
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect no complaints
perfect location 2 blocks from plaza mayor and 4 from atocha and one from san marti
2 out of 5
by SHEIKH from KOLKATA

NOTHING TO SAY

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Not worth it. The rooms were too small for comfort..................................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Phoenix

Stay here

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Exceptionally helpful staff, large, clean, comfortable room, location could not possibly be better (it's on the main street--the same one as the train station--and a five minute walk from Plaza Mayor). Strong wifi, which is a huge plus for me (and far from guaranteed in Europe). On return trips to Madrid I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by kelly from Madrid

Cheap and great!

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hostel (more like hotel)! Location is less than 10 min walk from plaza mayor and right next to Anton Martin metro station. It's a small room but includes AC, closet, and bathroom with cleaning service. I found a nail in my sheets, gross, but other than that we enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a cheap stay

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect for a cheap stay. Rooms were clean with everything needed. A bit old and would require some need bed covers but still ok. I would suggest bringing ear plugs though since walls are pretty thin. Really centric and near downtown, near metros and the renfe train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cynthia from California

Madrid

Posted May 22, 2013
Nice place to stay in central Madrid....clean...comfortable room...close to plaza mayor....a little noisy at night with the constant traffic on Calle Atocha...good value for the price...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michele from San Diego, CA

very close to great tapas, flamenco, clubs

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed staying here- it's a cozy place, with all the basics that you need. The staff was very nice! It's perfect if you're on a budget and find yourself wanting to explore Madrid. It gets a little loud, especially if your room faces the street and the Madrid nightlife, but if you are enjoying the nightlife yourself, then- who cares! ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay in Castilla 1

Posted Oct 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
I had booked this Hostel based on positive reviews and was not disappointed. It was a business trip and I spent 6 nights. I had a double room all to myself on the second floor hostel. The building houses several hostels and is served by an elevator. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was a bit small as expected but clean and tidy. My room overlooked the street and it was very noisy into the wee hours, mainly with screaming of drunk youngsters. I would strongly recommend the hostel for leisure and business travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ben

Brilliant little hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Can't say enough good things about Castillia I. It's staff are friendly and helpful, there are also plenty of publications and flyers available in the foyer if you need anything. The rooms are cosy with air conditioning, wi-fi and all the usual trimmings. If you want to budget hotel at a fair price then I would highly recommend a stay here! It is ideally located for the Anton Martin stop, and is five minutes walk away from the central hub of Madrid. There are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants in close proximity, so plenty to keep you entertained during your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Bruno B

Posted Sep 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
I love, small room but very confortable and close to main attraction like plz mayor. Very kind people