Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Vancouver.BC

just there for one night before heading home.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: close to main streets and easy access to Madrid highlights.
Cons: air conditioning has to be turned on at the front desk....then it automatically turns off in the night, so woke up hot and stuffy.
front desk staff very helpful with great English language skills. Rooms very small but OK for one night stay. Wouldn't want to stay very long in this small space. Shower stall OK but on a raised platform and taps difficult to reach and control the temperature without getting soaked or splashing the floor. Bed was quite comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by steve from Portsmouth uk

Very central hotel

Posted May 15, 2014
Very central for all attractions, and transport links. Only downside was hotel is poorly signed. Once inside staff were excellent and our room was well appointed very clean and bed very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cherise from San Diego, CA.

Great location! Friendly and helpful staff.

Posted May 6, 2014
Hotel is in a great location. It's a small hotel but it is clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Edward from Massachusetts

Bed in a Box

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The clerks were very friendly and helpful.
Location: The location is close to the opera house and Palacio Real. There are 2 metro stops nearby.
Our room was the smallest we had ever seen. Fortunately we are also small people. The walls are also very thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Australia

Close to old quarters and touch of style

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were fabulous and friendly. It had a great proximity to everything. The decor was impressive. They serviced the room every day.
Cons: A fridge would be good.
Location: It was walking distance to the Royal Palace, the Prado Museum, Opera precinct, major high market shopping district and the parks if your fit.
Directions would have been helpful from the onset after booking room, so for your benefit get off at Metro station Santo Domingo on red line 2 if you want to use the train line. The next trick is finding the entrance; it's a big wooden double door next a cafe and press the buzzer to the second floor. Once your in there everything falls into place, but there isn't a fridge. It's a hostal, not a hotel, so what you get is a great bedroom with lots of character and an exceptional bathroom. Our room had ample space and a king size bed.
2 out of 5
by Eva from london, UK

Wonderful staff, appalling night sleep

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The people there were friendly, location central, room stylish, but with pipes that banged all night, thin walls, and a room right by reception, it was my worst night sleep in a hotel ever and I usually sleep like a log! Shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Bath, England

Very pleasant central hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Pleasant room, friendly staff, great location at a reasonable price.
Location: Much of the centre is walkable from the hotel and it was right next to a metro station so getting anywhere was pretty easy on the feet.
Good location with modernly decorated rooms and staff pleasant and helpful (maps, advice, kettle, hairdrier etc). They were refitting the adjacent room whilst we were there which meant 8 o'clock start which suited us anyway. As with probably any central hotel you would be advised to take earplugs although we managed mostly without them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allison from NY, NY

Cute hostel in central location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall hostel gala is a good place to stay for a few days if you're on a budget. It's in an excellent location - very close to Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, Opera, Latina, etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well decorated. There is an elevator. Cons: thin walls which are a pain when the maid staff is cleaning, and after 2+ nights the bed becomes uncomfortable. Also the showers are small (as are most European showers), so if you're a larger person, this may not be right for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Chicago, Il

You got me at "booked"

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Location; Hotel Staff (helpful and nice); Details like asking your arrival time and having bread available in the mornings (not breakfast, though).
Cons: TV Channels were not that good. We know it is not the main purpose when you're in Madrid but at night it would have been good to have options to watch
Location: Dehesa Santa Maria (next to the hotel) and Mercado de San Miguel were my favorites to eat/drink; Puerta del Sol; Palacio/Plaza Real; Paseo del Prado.
Seriously, no more than 5 minutes after I booked this hotel, I received an email from the Hotel Staff asking me if I had my flight details to have an estimated arrival time so they could have the room ready for me...I think that was a nice gesture from them. At the beginning when I got there I was a little bit confused because I didn't realize that the Hostal is located in the second floor of the building, but that was no big issue. I was very pleased with the room (3bed bedroom). Keep in mind that you are staying in an old-fashioned building and the space can be a little bit reduced for some standards (specially the bathroom), but I think it was more than enough for us. The decoration was hip, so it gave the hotel a cool ambience without compromising the fact that the hotel is good for all ages. I couldn't be happier with the location, I love to walk and you can go pretty much anywhere from here. However, we decided to make the most of our time and energy and we took the Madrid City Tour hop on/hop off bus, and being so centric, the Hotel was close to about 4 stops and from the two routes. BTW, I got the bus tickets and the Bernabeu Tour tickets at the Hotel and they have information about other attactions. I read reviews about the noise, so I brought my ear plugs but that only happened during the weekend because there are restaurants and bars opened until late, which is great if you like to go out; or if you are a light sleeper because the walls can be thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

best value for dollar

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Overall a great experience! A bit hard to find but once inside really loved it! Great central location!