Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My husband and I stayed for five nights in a double room with its own bathroom. The location is great in accessibility to top tourist sites, it's on a relatively quiet street, Margarita was very helpful with information about Madrid, and the breakfast was good for this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruth from Texas

Half beautiful, half out of the last century

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: It's barely a block and a half from metro stop "Opera." Never needed the metro for palaces and museums (Prado c. 20 minute walk).
Cons: The rooms with shared bath. That said, I never had to wait at all to use a bathroom. Ever. Shower only.
Location: Metro stop "Opera." Museums a 20-30 minute walk, Royal Palace 2 blocks away. Very near a pedestrian walk to Plaza del Sol - it's a GREAT location!
I am torn about both the Hostal Luz Madrid and this review. From the pictures available on the Hostal Luz website the hostal rooms look beautiful, and, indeed, the private rooms with attached private bath are. What is not so beautiful are the rooms with shared bath. Different mattress (I could always feel springs), different sheets, no atmosphere whatsoever. And the staff kept telling me they would "show me the good rooms" so that maybe I would switch (which I did halfway through my stay) - for an additional 15 euros a night! No more "free upgrade" as on some reviews, now it is about the money. Also, nice as the staff are, they do not speak English beyond bare basics. They are SO sweet, but the language barrier was quite apparent. Go for the private rooms ensuite from the beginnings, and you will love it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Wonderful value for money

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Good central location and amazing value for money.
Location: The central location meant that we were in easy reach of the places we wanted to visit. There is a Metro Station very close by if one needed it.
Despite not arriving until 2 am, thanks to a seriously delayed flight, we were welcomed warmly. The room was spacious and immaculately clean. There was plenty of hanging space, drawers, a safe and a fridge. The bathroom was, again, immaculately clean. The towels were of good quality and were changed every day. There was soap, shower gel, shampoo and even a small 'dental hygiene' pack provided. Although the room was on the third floor there was a small lift so climbing stairs was not a problem. The Hostal is very centrally situated near the Opera House. Breakfasts were available in a little bar just around the corner in the square. There was a reasonable range of food available for breakfast along with tea or coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marco from Rome

Good stay on Madrid

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
It's a very good stay
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim from Michigan

Total misrepresentation

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Total misrepresentation. Our room was nothing like any photos. Total disrepair of showers and bed linens were threadbear All beds in room were cots. Staff was rude when we lost one breakfast voucher Considering making a Facebook page with all the pictures I took.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Erin from Vancouver, Canada

Clean and cozy

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Small room but very clean. Location very good, close to Opera metro station, but far enough from main drag to be quiet at night. Breakfast was at very cute restaurant about 200 m from the hotel. Will stay next time I'm in Madrid
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan Lewis from Sacramento, ca

Noisy spot, nice folks

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed in the OLD part of the hotel. 1st room on the street was TOO noisy ALL night; couldn't sleep, earplugs wouldn't have been enough. Next room much quieter. Staff was very friendly, but next time we will book elsewhere. The place needs a lot of maintenance.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Bad customer service

Posted Sep 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I paid for a room with a private bathroom. Instead i got a room with a sink. They would not change the room. 2 of the shared showers were broken. No fridge. Clean room and convenient location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Riley from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Okay - but got to be better hostels in Madrid

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit hard to find. First night my room wasn't available so I was put in a twin room, then had to move to my single room the second night. Okay stay, but nothing memorable. Would probably try another place if I return to Madrid.
2 out of 5
by Laurence

Great location, but.

Posted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: The location...
Cons: The neatness of the bedroom, especially the bed.
Location: Plaza mayor, grand via very near.
The hostal sure has a great location. The toilets are clean and there are enough of them. But the woman who welcomed us was not nice, the bed cover was stained and there was hair on the sheets.