Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
Right in the center beween the museums a few blocks to the east and shops, restaurants, plaza mayor a few blocks west. Room was very basic, but clean and a good deal for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Hotel Mirentxu-Madrid, Spain

Posted Oct 31, 2011 on Hotels.com
Conveniently located within walking distance to Puerta del Sol, KM Zero, Restaurants, night life etc. The Hotel has an elevator that works most of the time. Rooms are small but clean and the personnel is amazingly helpful. Rooms facing the street can be noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Frederick, MD USA

Basic room at great price

Posted Oct 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
I spent 5 nights in late September at this hostel. I was alone and visiting as a tourist. I chose it based on low price, location, and reviews. It worked perfectly for me. The room was basic with shared bathroom, clean, and quiet. Location was decent for walking to sights and only about two short blocks from subway stop. Issues: Initial arrival can be tricky, but I'd read reviews which prepared me. First, the address is easy enough to find, but don't expect a Hostel/Hotel sign on the building. The Hostel is on the 3rd floor and not the only hostel in the building. To enter the building, you must be buzzed in. Fortunately the person answering my buzz understood when I gave my name and said I have a reservation. The elevator wasn't working when I arrived, but was fixed the next day. Foretunately the guy at the desk spoke english and I had no problem checking in. This is a nice quiet place for no frills people. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend this to younger people or those traveling on a tight budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Hotel Mirentxu -

Posted Aug 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hostel for 3 days. Location is great, it's very close to major sight seeings, city center. The hotel's staffs are very helpful, nice and friendly, can communicate in English. My room has no toilet, bathroom nor basin, but all of those are very close to my room and can access very easily. I lived there in August, the weather is so hot, about 32'C at the day time, no air condition nor fan in my room. I never been at the hotel on the day time, I just came back to hotel at late night, at the night it's not as hot as the day time. The outer part of the hotel is under construction when I stayed, so it's noise since the morning (around 8 A.M) to until evening (probably), cause of I left hotel since morning and came back at night. Hotel service is great, the room and the bathroom is clean, and they clean it every day. I am very satisfied with my staying there. According with the price, location and a save place, it might be the good choice to choose this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

No Air Conditioning in the Rooms

Posted Jul 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
We decided to try this place without being warned by Hotels.com nor the hostel website that there is no Air Conditioning in the room nor a ceiling fan (atleast not in the room that was given to us). It was over 100 degrees and we had to beg them to give us a fan and on the 2nd day with only half a day left to spend there, they gave us a fan (supposedly they had to get approval from their management to authorize us to have a fan). Also Hotels.com refers to Mirentxu as a Hotel (atleast when we booked our room). It is actually a hostel. The hostel is located on a tiny street and it is hard to locate because they have no sign on the building with their name on it. You have to literally read the name plate (about 2"x6" in size) on a door with a bunch of other name plates to find their name. The only thing that's going for them that the location is good to all the famous places and the metro stop (Seville). The room was also very clean and big. The bathroom was shared bathroom for us and was clean one day and other day had stains in the toilet, if you know what I mean. The toilet paper was like sand paper. They give a shampoo + body soap combined into one which seems to be common in Spain but the quality of the soap is not that good. I am posting a similar review on Trip Advisor. Hope this review helps everyone online.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mailwaukee, WI

Maximum quality, minimum price

Posted Jun 24, 2011
Excellent hotel from every points of view. The hotel is perfectly maintained (everything seems pretty new) and my room was perfectly clean (one of the cleanest I've ever had, including in much more expensive hotels). The staff is really nice and helpful. The location is ideal to visit Madrid, at walking distance from Puerta del Sol, major museums and an impressive number of small bars and restaurants in the alleys right to the south of Puerta del Sol. The hotel was pretty quiet overall. The only issue I had is that the owners do not speak English at all (but the rest of the staff do), so I had a hard time filling the forms when I arrived. But then everything was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location and Service

Posted Jun 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Inexpensive Accommodations in Central Madrid

Posted Jun 11, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel is an inespensive pension in the heart of Madrid. The hotel is on the third floor 8that is what the ¨3¨means in the address) and there is an elevator (which is NOT always true in similar pensions and hotels). It is three blocks from the Prado, which means it is within walking distance of the Reina Sofia and Thyssen museums as well. Subway at El Sol is two-three blocks. The single room I had was like a medieval monk´s cell but the cost was very modest for Madrid which, like many European capitals, can be quite expensive. The room was clean and serviceable. The shared bath (about 18-20 feet away) was clean and cleaned every day. The evening clerk spoke English well enough to be very helpful. Good accommodations at a budget price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sonoma, CA

Very clean, great location!

Posted May 9, 2011
Very clean, quaint, basic hostel. Great location, in the middle of everything. Very nice staff. Compared to other places I've stayed in Europe for this price point, this place is exceptional.