Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The place to stay if seeking value for money with location
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick review of Hostal Persal, Madrid

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Good: great location near Sol, reception open 24 hours, price ok for central Madrid, wifi good compared with most hotels in Spain. Bad: no refrigerator, carpenter ant infestation, thin walls
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mic from London

Super clean hotel in the center of Madrid.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location and cleanness
Location: A short walk away from Puerta del Sol and La Latina neighborhoods which are full of life.
I had a very pleasant 3-night stay in this well-maintained and very clean hotel in the center, a couple of minutes walk away from Puerta del Sol. There's a WiFi connection on each floor and the staff is very kind. I had no problem at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kif from Belfast, Northern Ireland

Great hotel.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
A great basic hotel in probably the best location in the city. Staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Room was spotless, included toiletries, hair dryer, TV, free wifi, and a safe for valuables. Rooms aren't soundproofed, so earplugs might be useful if you're a light sleeper. Breakfast option is good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant hotel in central location

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Hostal Persal is very well run, the staff at the desk are friendly and extremely efficient, and everything is quite comfortable and pleasantly decorated. This is historic Madrid of course, so the rooms are small and the walls thin, but they do everything they can to make up for that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico

So so

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Pros: It's location and realtive quiteness.
Cons: Breakfast and cleanliness
Location: Location is excellent and there are many thing to see just by walking around, near Plaza Mayor, not far from el Prado and Thyssen Museums.
The Hotel is nice and the facilities are Ok, however the rooms are small and not so clean. The breakfast is not very good. Hwoever it has an excellent location. Overall is not so bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent .walk distance to all the activitie..

Posted Jan 14, 2014
A great place to stay. .Beatifull people on charge..So many places to visit just walking a litle ..Stay in Persal and its sure you recieve a great treat for your money..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lucy & Tim from Cambridge UK

Brilliant location for seeing all of Madrid

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location!
Cons: The rooms could be prettier I guess, but we don't tend to do a city break to sit in a pretty hotel room. Plus it puts the prices up
Location: Everything is near by. You definitely don't need a metro pass for your stay. You can walk everywhere and I've just had a double back op!!!
Ok so the hotel isn't exactly the ritz, but its clean and in the best possible location! What more do you really need. We weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room other than with our eyes shut so it doesn't matter if its pretty or not. We want to see Madrid, and Madrid we saw! All of it. This hotel really is in the best location for getting out and about. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. I would recommend requesting a twin instead of a double regardless of how romantic you plan on being. (We started off in a double which by british standards was very narrow, and then moved to a twin. One of the twin beds was a normal single size and the other was the size of the double in the first room!) We didn't take the breakfast at 8 euros a head, preferring instead to go to the local cafes which are quite literally on your doorstep. All of the staff we met in restaurants OUTSIDE of the hotel had a really bad attitude, slamming glasses down, not smiling - we just found it funny. The staff at this hotel however seemed to be the only friendly, helpful, smiling staff in all of Madrid! Even when we asked to change rooms they were smiling and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London

Polite people; good location

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: The staff were very pleasant, helpful and polite; the breakfast was good; the hotel was well located and my accommodation there reasonably priced.
Cons: The furniture was a little old-fashioned. My bed was too short for a tall man and rather hard. There was neither a window or a fan in the bathroom.
Location: It was right in the city centre and close to all the major sights (the Prado, other museums and art galleries, the Royal Palace, theatres and cinemas)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stef from UK

Central Hostal near Madrid centre

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Above says it all
Location: Graet for business in the city
Very clean Hostal and the breakfast was great for the money. Staff so helpful you would think you were in a five star > Thank you