Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Quiet room. A rarity for Spain .

Posted Nov 4, 2014
I was very happy with the darkness and quietness of my room. Bed was great and amenities were good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scottsdale Az

Good Euro Hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: WIFI sucked it was weak and spotty. Had to long into wifi if you got off your device for a min. It needs to be updated, hard to face time back to U.S
Location: Every thing is walking distance Prado, Soffia, Plaza Mayor, Santa Ana
Nice hotel great Madrid location. Take Express Bus from airport to Atocha Train Station then walk up street to hotel. 5 Euros not a bad start. Pay for upgrade to Atocha street view. Hotel was very well maintained good hotel chain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Went to Madrid for the weekend, this hotel has a great location within walking distance to all the main sights (the palace and plaza mayor). The metro very close by too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eugene, OR

Nice place to stay in Madrid

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, and exceptional help from some staff members
Cons: Breakfast personnel could tell you that a "made to order" omelet was available. At least one front desk person needs some customer service lessons.
Location: Near downtown and convenient especially to the Prado, Thyssen, Parque Retiro, etc.
We only stayed 3 days while visiting friends on our way to a Med cruise in Barcelona. Nothing particularly great about it either except the exceptional help provided by Helene and Noemi at the front desk. However, rotten tomatoes for Alberto who couldn't be bothered to help us with 6 bags at 6:45 am. He didn't want to go out in "the cold" either! ( early Sep in Madrid???)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Madrid visit

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Rooftop amazing, perfect location, chic rooms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san jose california

Comfortable,Cool, Modern and Restful

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: As above, location and comfort.
Cons: can't think of anything;rooms on inside are going to be dark in order to be quiet
Location: As above, the location felt safe and was close to the Reina Sofia(Guernica),the Prado, and the Thyssen Museums as well as Caixa Forum,smaller museum.
We chose the hotel for its location near the three major museums. They are where we intended to spend most of our time. Also,however, it appeared to be modernized to a high standard,and the staff had excellent ratings. We were not disappointed. We knew it was in the station area,which was likely to be a bit grungy. Still,people lived and worked there,and it turned out that the area was full of associations with Cervantes,Lope De Vega and Calderon de la Barca,famous Spanish authors,and was very old. The hotel had in fact been modernized and had a bright and jazzy lobby with soft music playing all the time and it was very cool,so coming in from sizzling Madrid was very pleasant. We chose a room on the interior,overlooking the airshaft,I guess,because it was supposed to be quiet,and it was. It also had a marvelous,huge shower and an easy-to control air-con system. It was impeccably clean. We had not very much interaction with the staff except when we ate in the cafe our first night,and the lady in charge was delightfully helpful. We did arrange with Gonzalo and others for a car and an early wakeup call to leave and everything worked perfectly. They have a fun terrace but it was just too hot for us to be up there for long. We had breakfast at nearby Stop Madrid,which was charming,but there were numerous other places nearby. Another plus was its proximity to Plaza Santa Ana,a fun area loaded with restaurants,tapas bars and jazz clubs. Overall,a very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Very good value for the cost. Well situated and very well maintained
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville VA

EXCEPTIONAL and I have high standards!

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Location: The location was 1/2 way between the museums and the Plaza Mayor. I walked every where - all attractions were accessible on foot.
Thestaff was very helpful on arrival , getting me in a room early to nap and providing a map etc…Food was very good at the hot buffet, a mixture of typical Spanish and American/English. Everyone was very clean and the whole place was spotless. The roof top area was lovely after a day of touring and the location Was perfect to walk to all of the main attractions. I all go back to this hotel when in Madrid! BRAVO
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Annafrom Chicago

Great stay

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at Catalonia Atocha twice in our week visit to Spain, as our plane back to the states was flying or from the Madrid airport. The location of the hotel is great, very close to the Paseo del Prado and to the puerta de atocha train station. There is a place to grab a taxi right in front of the building as well. Staff was fine, very helpful when we asked questions about the surrounding area. The roof area with chairs and a hot tub was nice, but fairly small. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Madrid to see all the art museums.