Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CMM from Richmond, VA

Good hotel close to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Quiet, location!
Location: See comments above. Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, walking distance to Palace, etc.
We've been staying here for years. Love the fact that we can walk to Plaza Mayor or Puerta del Sol in a matter of minutes. You can catch a local train to the different train stations or the Metro from Puerta del Sol and head out to Toledo or Segovia for a day trip. Lots of outdoor eating options available. Quiet inside but a bit busy outside over the weekend. Definitely not a 5 star hotel but we don't want that. Want clean beds and sheets and towels and a place to sleep at night. Very clean...very safe...great reception staff. Very very helpful. Their car service to airport was better price and less hassle than hailing a taxi. Recommend Hotel Cortezo if you are looking for decent price, decent accommodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met our needs

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient, clean, helpful staff.
Location: Close to centre, not too far from railway station
Just spending a night before catching an early morning train
3 out of 5
by Amit from London

Good Location

Posted May 5, 2014
Much like the other reviews this hotel has a great location and the rooms are clean. The rooms are a little dated and the refurbishment hasn't been done to a high standard. The walls are very thin and you can hear almost everything from your neighbours. Lastly the beds are rubbish and not at all comfortable. We were there for a stag so only needed the basics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from Northampton MA

Great location - decent hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
No real complaints. Great central location near to Plaza Mayor and Puerta de Sol. Helpful staff. Hotel is not fancy but quite adequate. Rooms were interior but that might be better given the overall street noise of this kind of central Madrid location. Usual Europe convention of no double beds, just two single beds pushed together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in Madrid

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Cons: Noise
Location: Easy to center and train atocha station
It was clean. They responded to our needs. Walls thin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark from Wales

Excellent

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel just a short walk from the metro,the nightclub next door wasnt noisy at all neither was the theatre just a little further down. Very friendly staff,i would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Tucson, Arizona, USA

Nice location @ a reasonable price

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Most of the major downtown attractions are within easy walking distance. It was A good experience overall. I was put in a smoking room after I had asked for non-smoking, but the room had been cleaned well enough that there was only a very slight cigarette odor. The room is small, and the bathroom tub-shower arrangement was a little awkward, but the room was comfortable and convenient, with a view of the movie theater on the other side of the street. The staff was very professional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Williams from Calgary

Good location, mediocre hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to many attractions and popular areas. Rooms were clean but very warm with no frills. Decent hotel if on a budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Best Quality for Price in Madrid

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stay here every time I pass through Madrid. The junior suite is great for two people and worth it for the negligible difference in price--with a separate entry room, a couch, and a good amount of open space, the room is bigger than most Madrid studio apartments. Everyone who works at Cortezo is very nice and quite helpful. The rooms are always impeccable, the bathrooms are always spotless. The top floor balcony has great views of Madrid's roofs, and is a great place for a bottle of wine, or late night smoke. The location is excellent, smack in the middle of the city. The 1 line is a block away, the 2, 3, and Renfe Cercanías are three blocks away, and the 5 line is about 5 blocks. Lavapiés is a short walk south, La Latina a short walk west, Triball, Chueca, and Malasaña are a 15 minute walk north. Heading east one can be on the Paseo del Prado in about 15 minutes, el Retiro in 20. The cons are few, and not serious. The rooms I've been given are interior, and not much light enters through the windows...the plus side here is that is quiet, and Madrid is one of the noisiest cities in the world. The free wifi was great in all rooms I've had, except for when the put me on the top floor. Mobile phone signals are nonexistent/weak inside, and they charge for local calls to hard line numbers, which I know should be free. These negligible cons in no way effect my personal rating of Excellence. I'd recommend this place to anyone.