Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sharry from glasgow, scotland uk

Good location for sightseeing close to metro.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
We had a room overlooking the "courtyard". Not much to see really but room was clean and pleasant. The rooftop terrace is worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Great location. Forget the restaurant

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The room and service
Cons: The bar restaurant.
Location: Walk to most anywhere: museums, the Palacio Real, lost of nightlife.
I've stayed here a couple of times and have always found the hotel to be great. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are wonderful. The restaurant is mediocre. On a prior visit I ate in the actual restaurant (as opposed to the bar restaurant) and it was fine, although a bit pricey. This time I just ate at the bar restaurant because the main restaurant is closed on Sundays (!). The food quality was poor and the prices high. My suggestion: forget about the restaurant altogether and enjoy one of the many nearby eateries that are great and cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ColinG from Middlesbrough/UK

A Great Central Hotel - Perfect City Break.

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Only 15 minutes by taxi from airport to hotel. Great location right on the Grand Via. An individual hotel, slightly quirky entrance but friendly.
Cons: In room info on the hotel. There were no details on meal times or hotel/room security box, no info on bar times (roof top) or gym openings etc.
Location: The hotel is in a perfect central location right on the Grand Via. Easy walk distance to Royal Palace etc and some great little tapas & bars nearby.
The hotel is a great place to use as your base in Madrid. From the airport there is now a fixed price that all taxi operators must charge to get into the central part of Madrid - this is currently (as just introduced Jan 2014 €30) this includes the €5.50 airport surcharge, make sure you pick up a white taxi with the red stripe across the door. If flying in from UK to Madrid by Easy-jet for example you will go to T-1 and I can confirm it is €30 to this hotel then a couple of €'s tip. The hotel reception is very small, just inside a small door from the main road on the Grand Via, you will not recognise it as a reception as it is more like the bell hop stand in other major hotels, I actually went up to the reception desk and asked where reception was and then they laughed when they informed us we were at it! A really friendly and very helpful reception through and the whole hotel was in fact. We did not pay for breakfast but if you want it it is a fixed charge of €15. There are just so many restaurants or Taps bars within 10 minutes walk. We felt a bit shy about entering some of the Taps bars as we did not know what to do or how it worked but once the first fear was overcome and we "just went for it" we had a great time using the Taps bars as snack places at lunch/tea time ahead of going out for a main meal in the evening. Don't just go up and down the Grand Via, explore the side streets and down the side of the hotel. Tip: Room safe - Search hard, there is 1!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from California, USA

Great Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Linens were soft. Beds were comfortable. Room had a safe, hair dryer, and extra blankets. Heating worked fine. We also liked the free wifi.
Cons: Nothing. We really enjoyed our stay!
Location: Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. Walking distance to the Prado, Palace, Puerta de Sol, Plaza Mayor, etc.
We spent a few days in Madrid this December and enjoyed our stay at Hotel de las Letras. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean, and the hotel staff was very friendly. While the outside street does get a little noisy at night, earplugs were the perfect solution. We felt very safe at the hotel and it was the perfect central location for us to walk all over the city. We also liked the modern artist style/decor of the rooms and we'd definitely stay there again if we ever return to Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value. Fun hotel.

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Great location. Great value. Comfortable beds and nice size room with high ceilings and French doors opening to a very small balcony.
Location: Great location. Can walk to all museums, restaurants. Several metro stops nearby.
Arrived on a Thursday (Halloween), was able to check-in early since our flight arrived at 9 AM...that was great. It was very noisy Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights...Sunday thru Tuesday nights were a lot better. Great bar / lounge area. Madrid is a fun, vibrant city! Definitely take a day trip to Toledo...less than an hour train ride!.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average across the board

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was a little dingy, staff needed to be engaged for help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by max from seattle

Old School Charm - Great location

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Old world charm with somewhat dated rooms/amenities but you can't go wrong with the location or the view. Upgrading to a "sea-view" room is well worth it.