Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Florida

Wonderful hotel,

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: clean, good location , good neighborhood,
Cons: the Wi Fi
Location: Good location, walking distance to Plaza del Sol, restaurants, Plaza Cilbeles
I am extremely happy with this hotel, excellent customer service good location, was my first time in Madrid and I was a very nervous to be in hotel unsafe or not clean... but the hotel is in a wonderful location, very clean, I would recommend this hotel to everybody
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

loved returning to the hotel after a day visiting;

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The staff were thoughtful and very helpful, we loved them.
Cons: Eurosport on the TV channel
Location: Great to get to the three main galleries and the wonderful Academy of Belles Artes.
Nice large bathroom, well furnished and clean; the rooms have high ceilings and there is plenty of space; the entrance seating area is stylish and comfortable with a clear view of the Grand Via.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Good location,walking distance from Prado, Thyssen museums, Plaza mayor,etc. A little noise but on the Gran Via you have to expect it, but we were able to rest, comfortable beds and room. Very good breakfast, better add it to your reservation, nice restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent small luxury hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Almost everything and especially the staff.
Cons: Only small things; e.g.the door key cards had to be re-set several times during our stay so that meant going back down 4 floors to reception.
Location: Very central- Madrid is on your doorstep.
This hotel is very centrally located on the Gran Via. The standard room in which we stayed was a good size with all of the facilities you could need. At the back where we were it was quiet and everything was well presented, and tastefully decorated. Above all the staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English, making the experience of staying there a real pleasure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

Trendy hotel

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff friendly. Roof top bar. Food.
Cons: Internet speed. Poor.
Location: Location is good. Central to all things.
This is my second stay here. Great roof top bar. It's been 2 years since my last visit and I am stunned to find that the internet is still very slow. Game changer. Will not be staying again. I cannot work with snail connection stuck in the early 90's. Issue seems to be that the IT department has not sussed that one connection if the entire hotel is using it, will create a bottleneck. In 2014, this is an issue that should have been addressed a long time ago. Shame!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great central location

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Great size room with a balcony. Roof top bar, close to metro. Hop on hop off bus stop directly out front. Friendly staff. Would stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bit disappointed

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: customer service
this is the third time I have stayed at Hotel de las Letras and I expected more. My husband and I were put in an internal room which was noisy from the roof terrace and then the next night from a wedding. I asked to be moved but was told the hotel was full. Also asked for a room with a shower but was given one with bath. Would have expected a better service given that I had been a previous customer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield, UK

Nice Hotel, Great Location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Location.
Situated on Gran Via, and within walking distance of all central Madrid. No complaints at all. Hotel was clean, comfortable, modern, and the staff were helpful. We had a lovely time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location - cool bar

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The staff and the location.
Cons: Two pillows each would be nice.
Location: On the Grand Via, 5 mins from everywhere.
Stayed for 3 nights in mid September to see the city and the art galleries. This hotel is very central, the staff are very helpful and we loved the modern architecture. Take advantage of the staff's recommendations for breakfast and go around the corner - for 2 euros you get coffee, toast and tomato and orange juice. Perfect. For tapa we went to both the bars opposite, for shopping, Ale-hop opposite was great for sarongs and hats for the beach. To round off a long day at the Prado, enjoy a glass of cava for 6 euros or the real thing for 9 euros in the hotel bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, nice terrace, beautiful building.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, Noise isolation from the busy Gran Via street, near metro, walk to many attractions,restaurants and shops.
Cons: We had to wait extra 20 mins to check in and staff didn't offer us anything ( water, coffee or anything)
Location: You are at the Center of Madrid. Walking, Metro or short Taxi ride to all major must see attractions! (Prado, mayor, palace etc..)
As described by Expedia, no surprises! cant said more about the great location. 5 mins walk to peurto del sol, also close to plaza mayor, santa ana, 5 mins taxi (many available outside of the hotel) to museums, royal palace etc..