Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: One of the waiters/staff
In general very good, but an extremely annoying person at the breakfast reception -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex england

central hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The position was good and the hotel clean
Cons: Breakfast is dear and there is no cheap choice.. But a good eatery next door serving breakfast
Location: visit the old Latin quarter and the royal palace in walking distance
a good position near metro station Friendly staff and quiet room Visited lots of sites and plazas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Surrey

Good centrally located hotel on Gran Via

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Nice quiet room at the back of the hotel & the rooftop terrace and pool area
Cons: Free WiFi in the rooms, as opposed to just in the reception area.
Location: Gran Via is a shoppers paradise, and offers easy access, via the metros nearby, to all the main Art Galleries, our favourite being the Thyssen.
After arriving at Madrid airport, I decided to take the metro to Hotel Emperador, this was cheap & easy, and on arriving at Plaza de Espana, it was only a 5 minute walk to the hotel. Check in was a quick process. Our room was a standard twin at the back of the hotel, not much to write home about as it was a bit small & dated, but it was clean, and more importantly, being on the Gran Via, it was very quiet. We didn't bother having the expensive hotel breakfast as there were so many places in the vicinity serving great coffee & traditional Spanish breakfast menus at a fraction of the cost. The biggest plus, other than the location, was indeed the rooftop pool, a decent size, lots of sun loungers, good shower facilities and the most spectacular views - in fact we spent a whole glorious day up there! One thing to mention, if you stay close to the rooftop bar area, you'll be subject to the overly loud & incessant europop music - so we moved to the far side of the pool area, and it didn't bother us. The hotel location is great for shopping and easy travelling to all the museums & tourist spots - an ideal hotel choice for a long weekend away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Macon, GA

Emperador Not Up To Snuff

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Good Location for Madrid.
The Emperador does not deserve of Four Stars. The physical condition of the building is getting shabby. Painted or varnished surfaces are worn, bathroom ceilings are stained, and other "finishes" are showing their age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford, England

The hotel was very good and clean.

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, well-appointed rooms, good big bed.
Location: Easy walking distance for the whole of central Madrid.
We had a three night stop in Madrid on the way back from Tarragona. The hotel was very good with very friendly staff and very good facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston texas

Excelent location friendly staff

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Love the place rooms a little small but a fantastic place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford UK

Tired room and bathroom

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We have been regular visitors to this hotel over the last 10 years and were looking forward to our return visit in September to a Club room. We have just returned from this visit and regret to say that, although the public areas are still looking good, the rooms and bedrooms are now in desperate need of updating. Doors need to be repainted since they are scruffy and chipped. Build in wardrobe is also badly chipped and worn. Mattress needs replacing because it is rock hard and most uncomfortable. Only 1 pillow provided per person and is totally inadequate-there is no filling in the pillow either ( we had to use the hotel's towelling robes under the pillow to get some sort of support !) Expedia description states that satellite TV but this is only available at extra cost- we thought that we would have free access to BBC World as has been the case at all our previous hotels worldwide but this was not the case. Breakfast was included in our Expedia price but, on this visit, we were very disappointed with the selection provided (this breakfast can be purchased separately for Euros 22.00 but we would not recommend this to anyone planning a stay at the hotel since it doesn't represent good value for money). Unfortunately, we will not be rebooking this hotel for our next visit to Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

All Good

Posted Oct 6, 2014
All Good, Pool - Room - LOCATION - Staff. 9-10 Star
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Location location location!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Lovely hotel friendly staff great location and the roof pool is a bonus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good central location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location and quiet at night
Cons: wifi access, pool bar opening times, some people like two pillows.
Next to Metro Station and hop-on-hop-off bus stop. Easily to walk to the Palace and Cathedral plus some museums a bit far to walk to the Prado, but we took the bus. Not acceptable to have wifi restricted to the lobby area in 2014. Breakfast expensive but as there is a Starbucks right opposite there is an easy alternative for your coffee 7 crossaint. A shame the roof bar closed at 7pm as would have been nice to visit for a pre dinner drink.