Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom asheville,nc

good hotel near all downtown attractions,shopping

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: easy access to main shopping and historic areas.
Cons: they do not have any english language t v stations.
Nice clean room with tiled full bath.easy check in,helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dayton, OH

Heart of Madrid; Great Staff, Upgrades in Process

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, and food.
Cons: More privacy for those using the bathroom area...A clear glass divider just doesn't give any.
Location: This location has the historic church of St Jerome only 30 meters away with an original El Greco. Lots of fabulous tapas and paella restaurants, too.
There is a lot of construction going on in the hotel. This meant that the highest and lowest floors required you to climb/descend a flight of stairs. Staff always seemed to be on hand if you needed assistance. Our room was lovely and enormous - we were also the first guests to use it. Breakfast was a cold/hot buffet with plenty of choices and included vegetarian and fresh fruit options. Only real negative was the clear glass divider between bathroom and bedroom. My grand-daughter found it awkward not to have more privacy. The location was to die for! You could comfortably walk to almost anywhere in Central Madrid, but if you needed a Metro it was less than 5 min away. The place is surrounded with awesome restaurants and touristy shopping.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom E

Cell Block room 217

Posted Apr 6, 2015
We arrived as a family on the 4 April 2015 . Have been there about five years ago when I stayed in the old part . Very traditional as part of the front entrance reception . On paying 178 euros for a night stay we were taken to cell block 217 which was newly built , it looked nice and Morden contemporary feel to this room . No natural light coming through and when using shutters on exterior you were locked and blocked . After being in the room with-in five minties we noticed the room was very hot . Inspecting air conditioning unit it was in but blowing in hot air . On calling reception they told us it's set to 24c and does not have a cooling . What a load of rubbish . As it was only a night we decided to stay and we had the worst sleep ever . Felt we could not breath we had to leave the entrance door open to allow air in . Aewful xperaince and never again . Think they would have a better living conditions at. Broadmoore prison .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Helens

Perfect location for exploring Madrid

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The location and the décor - I've stayed in worse 4 star hotels than this 2 star - I do believe their star rating is wrong!
Cons: Due to the brilliant location (on a really busy pedestrianized street) the noise from the street until late at night can be heard
Location: Perfect location! Five minutes walk to the Palace, 5 minutes the other way and you are in the Plaza Mayor, truly great!
As rated a two star I had prepared myself for the worst - and was very pleasantly surprised. The Hotel is undergoing renovations (almost finished) and we were given a newly refurbished room, which was fantastic. The location is absolutely perfect for the weekend visitor - a two minute walk from either the Opera or Sol metro stations - and perfect for walking to all the major sites in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DR

Great location!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location!!
It is a very nice hotel, all rooms are being remodeled, very confortable and modern but the best thing is the location. It is really close to the main subway stations (Opera and Sol), about 200mts from Plaza del Sol which is the center of everything. Totally recomended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Taehyungfrom india

Comfortable hotel at the best location.

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel at the best location. we stayed at quadro room. the room was isolated and there was no noise. (I heard that the only issue with the hotel is noise due to its location. But, it was too silent to us.. we can't recognize we are near by Sol Plaza) the breakfast was very good considering the price. As you can guess, the location is perfect and very easy to find. it is near from Sol plaza(3min), Spain Plaza(15min), Palace(10min), etc. the staff were kind and provided all the service if he/she understood.. (english communication is not good)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carolinafrom ARGENTINA

Excelente opción en Madrid

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
El hotel superó nuestras expectativas. Merece más que 2 estrellas. El hotel está en remodelación. Ya está casi terminada la remodelación de las habitaciones: son cómodas, modernas, el baño muy completo. Y todo muy limpio. La ubicación es excelente: 2 cuadras de Puerta del Sol y 2 cuadras del Mercado San Miguel. Se los recomiendo a todos, no los defraudará.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Soo-kyoungfrom 서울

좋은 숙소예요~

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
전반적으로 세련되고 깨끗한 호텔이였습니다. 솔광장 코앞에 있어서 어디든 걸어서 갈 수 있는 편리한 위치에 있었고, 마드리드의 분위기를 한껏 느낄 수 있었습니다. 모든 시설을 새 것으로 보여 굉장히 깨끗했습니다.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by José Antoniofrom Lugo

Cuádruples

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reservada habitación cuádruple cuando en realidad era una doble con 2 camas supletorias, nos cobraron además la habitación igual y al final sólo usamos 1 supletoria y 3 desayunos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kenn Seidelinfrom Kastrup

Storbyferie

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Dejligt ophold på Francisco 1. Rare mennesker som arbejdede på hotellet.Fantastisk rengøring og hyggelig stemning til morgenmaden.Bestemt værd at besøge. Kenn Seidelin