Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hotel Ganivet

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the location.
Cons: Apparently wash cloths are not used at this hotel. You only get hand towels and bath towels.
Location: Great location because the metro is steps from the hotel and there are plenty of eateries nearby along with bars.
This hotel is pleasing to stay in and very well situated with easy access to transportation and places to eat. It is located in La Latina area with many shops and a great Asian restaurant close by. We were there 4 nights and enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caracas,VE

Great first stop for honeymoon!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The ganivet hotel is a great hotel. It's located at 100mts from Puerta de Toledo, 300mts from la Latina,400 mts from plaza mayor and about 700mts from Puerta del sol, this means you're at a walking distance from EVERYTHING in Madrid. The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable, the staff is friendly and speak multiple languages flawlessly. The wifi is free but is a little bit slow and complicated to log in, don't expect to make a FaceTime call with this connection. The hotel doesn't have a mini bar in room and they don't provide amenities like shampoo or hair conditioner. But in general for the price of the room the hotel is great just for the cleanliness, the staff and the great location. The breakfast is 10 euro per person when is not included in your room rate and is a good option for the first day that you don't know around, after the first day there are plenty of other options to have breakfast, you just have to be creative. Overall I would absolutely recommend this hotel, I would recommend the staff to upgrade the internet connection speed and bathroom amenities. Also if you ask for a queen or double room you'll receive 2 twin beds put together, this might be uncomfortable if you expect to sleep close to your partner because the beds turn apart very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent value hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The location and cleanliness A good breakfast with lots of choice
Cons: Air conditioning was a bit noisy Food served at the bar in the evenings was not great
Location: It was close to the main plaza's but far enough away so it was also quiet at night. If you like football - visit Real Madrid stadium!
The hotel was in a very good location and was within walking distance of many of the main attractions. The room was very clean and new bedding and towels were provided every day. A substantial breakfast for 10 Euros.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kelly from USA

Great location

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
small rooms, nice staff, hop on hop off bus 1 block away plaza mayor 5 minutes very small rooms would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Rota, Spain

Great Deal Ultra Helpful Staff

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really felt like the hotel was great for the amount paid. Breakfast was real solid and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You are not far from the Palace and Cathedral. You are not far from Plaza Mayor neither. The metro stop is real close by as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blessing from London

Lovely hotel with great staff

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Spent three nights at this hotel for a quick city break with a friend. The location is 10 to 15 minutes walk to the city center. On arrival the reception staff are so helpful in regards to booking tours, flamenco shows and other activities. You are also given a handy map to help you get around. The room was nice and clean. If you add breakfast you will not be disappointed. We stayed here during the week so I have no noise complaints. All in all a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Sandra from Guatemala

OK, but I wouldn't stay again

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels were too tiny
Location: Walking distance to Palacio Real; Gran Plaza y Puerta del Sol not too far away
The hotel is conveniently located, about 250 m from La Puerta de Toledo metro station. It has a nice and very reasonable restaurant and cafeteria. Dinner buffet was good and inexpensive. The rooms are quite basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mw from uk

Hotel itself pleasant but rude staff

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great city and location of hotel.
2 out of 5
by BERNIE from UK

nice hotel if you are spanish

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: BAR STAFF
Cons: JUST THE WAY THEY TREAT BRITISH TOURIST, IF THEY WANT OUR BUSINESS THEY SHOULD TREAT US IN A BETTER FRAME OF MIND,
Location: GREAT LOCATION FOR ALL FORMS OF EATING AND CLOSE TO METRO
BAR STAFF ARE A CREDIT TO THE HOTEL, THE FRONT DESK STAFF REMIND ME OF FAULTY TOWERS. VERY LIMITED SPOKEN ENGLISH WHEN YOU WALK BY THE DESK NO RESPONSE FROM THE STAFF YOU SMILE AT THEM THEY JUST LOOK AT YOU STRAIGHT FACED, WE RETURNED TO THE HOTEL ONE DAY AT 3.00PM TO FIND THAT OUR ROOM HAD NOT BEEN CLEANED WE ASKED THE DESK IF WE COULD HAVE THE ROOM CLEANED SIMPLE REQUEST ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT HOTEL POLICY WE HAD TO ACCEPT THAT THE STAFF HAD UNTIL 4.00PM TO CLEAN THE ROOMS, I DONT KNOW HIS NAME BUT YOU COULD NOT MISTAKE HIM, NO HAIR ON HIS HEAD , ALL ON HIS FACE, WE STAYED THERE 5 NIGHTS ON THE NIGHT BEFORE WE LEFT I WAITED IN LINE TO BOOK A TAXI FOR 8.00 AM TO TAKE US TO THE AIRPORT ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT THE NEXT MORNING I SHOULD WALK OUTSIDE AND STOP A TAXI. WHEN YOU SEE SPANISH PEOPLE BOOK IN ITS ALL SMILES NOT THE SAME IF YOU ARE ENGLISH, MY ADVISE DONT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE A BRIT
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bill from Madrid

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the convenience to where our dayghter is stayiing in Madrid for the year. Very clean. The hotel staff was very accommodating. We broke our fast with the hotel buffet with great satisfaction.