Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel next to Prado.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Prado
We only stayed one night but it is a very nice hotel, great value for money and very near the Prado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from San Francisco

Great location, solid quality

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This hotel is an understated gem. The location is great--the museums are in one direction, bars and caf├ęs in the other. The price was good for a comfortably modern and relatively spacious room and bathroom. The only downside was that we needed to continue to sign on to use the internet, through a cumbersome process including a specially assigned user ID and password.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good I would recommend

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: as I said, the hotel was very central one can walk must of places. But to my opinion the hotel vegas is not 4 stars.
Cons: they should have a bar inside the hotel,
Location: Location very good a lot things to do walking distance
staff very polite end helpful , the good thing about the hotel is very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Excellent location and very comfortable beds!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds and pillow!
Cons: standard amenities, shampoo, conditioner, lotion in all rooms
Location: great location, close to Botanical Gardens,El Prado,short walking distance to Puerta Del Sol, Plaza Mayor,Gran Villa, Cibeles, Atocha trainstation,etc
This hotel is within walking distance to everything. The rooms are sparse but clean and comfortable, with WiFi. Amenities are few, shampoo and soap only, but staff was accommodating when asked for conditioner and lotion. Some noise heard from other rooms probably due to the wood floors. Overall a nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Chicago, IL

Great location, mediocre staff...

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Staff
Location: Prado Museum, Plaza Sol, many great restaurants, Retiro Park, and Atocha train station.
This was my first time in Spain and Madrid was our first stop. Hotel Lope de Vega is a quaint hotel, situated between the old brick/cobblestone streets of the city and the more developed. You cannot beat the location. It is across the street from the Prado Museum and a short walk to the Atocha train station. It was also just around the corner from what many travel guides consider "Tapas Row," on Calle de Jesus. The one largely disappointing bit of the stay was the staff. I actually found the nicest people at the hotel to be the cleaning staff that the hotel outsourced. The desk staff were cordial and spoke fine English, but I found them to be very unapproachable and kind of cold. I am an experienced traveler and can figure things out on my own for the most part, but being my first time in the country, I would have loved some recommendations...not just to be sent to a plaza to wander aimlessly hoping to find what I was looking for. We booked a shuttle through Hotel Lope de Vega days in advance to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel when we arrived, and were told it would cost 30 Euro for 1-2 people. We had a different staff member book our shuttle from the hotel to the airport and it only cost 18 Euro for 2. I'm not sure why there would be such a price difference, but it left us with a sour taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Break

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Tea facilities in room
Location: Plenty to see and do centre location
do not wish to add any experience with the whole world
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Sydney

Amazing Madrid

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Fantastic location for the 3 important museums/galleries. Also very easy to walk to Atocha with light suitcase.Room very comfortable.
Cons: Light in the room.
Location: Excellent for access to the Prado, Reina Sofia, and Thyssen-Bornemisza galleries as well as the Retiro park. Just loved the small and confusing stree
What an beautiful city, loved the galleries, the architecture, the shopping, the opera, and the wine. I very much liked the hotel's tribute to Lope de Vega.-shame my spanish isn't better.
3 out of 5
by John from USA

No ice in Spain

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The location of Hotel Lope de Vega is great. It is close to the two most important museums and places to shop, plus a nice park nearby.
Cons: The hotel should have an ice machine that guests can access.
Location: Nearby is the Prado, botanical gardens, a park, cafes and tapas bars, the Reina Sophia museum where Picaso's most famous painting, Guernica, is kept.
It would be nice if hotels in Europe had ice machines that guests could access, but so far we have yet to find one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gwen from Kent UK

Hotel Lope De Vega.

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Helpful staff and clean quiet comfortable rooms.Good location.
Cons: More than one pillow on bed
Location: Hotel is just over the road from the Prado and close to El Retiro Park which is worth a visit. The Atocha station is interesting .
Nice hotel.Room was clean and quiet.Hotel in walking distance of Atocha station and bus station. Easy to get to other attractions in the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by beachbum

Art lovers hotel

Posted May 11, 2014
Great all around. Walk to most of the major art museums. Very nice area, yet close to train station.