Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

great location, needs a night time room service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: provide room service for night eating
Location: great location, you can go to a lot of important places in a walking distance
since they dont have room service I had to order through the receptionist who made a mistake with the order she made for us in a place that they made business with
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK, North.

Well located.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Not too noisy(weekend stay). Staff very pleasant.
Location: Decent local bars round the corner; Flamenco experience at Cardamomo (10 min walk); Bernabéu fine by Metro; Parque del Retiro on Sunday.
We were 2 adults and 1 child (10). The room 509, had a balcony which gave additional space, and was pleasant after the sun had passed. Room was a good enough size; TV had BBC World news; internet was fair, sometimes quick, sometimes slow, but it was free so no real complaints. I thought that the breakfast was really good; bacon and eggs, cereals , pastries, cold meats & cheese, tea/coffee/juice and loads of fresh fruit. We booked with inclusive breakfast which seemed a good deal. We used the on site parking, I doubt that we could have got cheaper so close. This hotel is really well located for the galleries, shopping, and great evening paseos. Easy to walk back from a sunset at the Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel next to Prado.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Prado
We only stayed one night but it is a very nice hotel, great value for money and very near the Prado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from San Francisco

Great location, solid quality

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This hotel is an understated gem. The location is great--the museums are in one direction, bars and cafés in the other. The price was good for a comfortably modern and relatively spacious room and bathroom. The only downside was that we needed to continue to sign on to use the internet, through a cumbersome process including a specially assigned user ID and password.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good I would recommend

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: as I said, the hotel was very central one can walk must of places. But to my opinion the hotel vegas is not 4 stars.
Cons: they should have a bar inside the hotel,
Location: Location very good a lot things to do walking distance
staff very polite end helpful , the good thing about the hotel is very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Excellent location and very comfortable beds!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds and pillow!
Cons: standard amenities, shampoo, conditioner, lotion in all rooms
Location: great location, close to Botanical Gardens,El Prado,short walking distance to Puerta Del Sol, Plaza Mayor,Gran Villa, Cibeles, Atocha trainstation,etc
This hotel is within walking distance to everything. The rooms are sparse but clean and comfortable, with WiFi. Amenities are few, shampoo and soap only, but staff was accommodating when asked for conditioner and lotion. Some noise heard from other rooms probably due to the wood floors. Overall a nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Chicago, IL

Great location, mediocre staff...

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Staff
Location: Prado Museum, Plaza Sol, many great restaurants, Retiro Park, and Atocha train station.
This was my first time in Spain and Madrid was our first stop. Hotel Lope de Vega is a quaint hotel, situated between the old brick/cobblestone streets of the city and the more developed. You cannot beat the location. It is across the street from the Prado Museum and a short walk to the Atocha train station. It was also just around the corner from what many travel guides consider "Tapas Row," on Calle de Jesus. The one largely disappointing bit of the stay was the staff. I actually found the nicest people at the hotel to be the cleaning staff that the hotel outsourced. The desk staff were cordial and spoke fine English, but I found them to be very unapproachable and kind of cold. I am an experienced traveler and can figure things out on my own for the most part, but being my first time in the country, I would have loved some recommendations...not just to be sent to a plaza to wander aimlessly hoping to find what I was looking for. We booked a shuttle through Hotel Lope de Vega days in advance to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel when we arrived, and were told it would cost 30 Euro for 1-2 people. We had a different staff member book our shuttle from the hotel to the airport and it only cost 18 Euro for 2. I'm not sure why there would be such a price difference, but it left us with a sour taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Break

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Tea facilities in room
Location: Plenty to see and do centre location
do not wish to add any experience with the whole world
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim from South Carolina USA

Excellent on every count

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
For sightseers in the old city of Madrid, this hotel is great: a few steps from the Prado, easy walk to metro stations, and 15 minutes to the Atocha train station for day trips. Room was very comfortable and the air conditioning actually worked great. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Would stay here again in a minute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Perry Munson from Michigan

Across From Prado a Clean, Modern Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Lope de Vega is literally across from the Prado on the west side of Paseo del Prado. It is very modern in décor and management practices and comfortable. We had three in our room and it was a bit crowded. Even with two, there was a shortage of places to put your bags and spread out. For Americans who were doing a three week trip to Spain with a variety of clothing necessary, it was slightly snug. Yet, it did well and was very comfortable with good AC and very quiet. Just up the hill you find Plaza Santa Ana, a fabulous place to check out the restaurants. Or go to Los Gatos for tapas! Loved the place, but it was a bit pricey for what we got.