Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

great location, needs a night time room service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: provide room service for night eating
Location: great location, you can go to a lot of important places in a walking distance
since they dont have room service I had to order through the receptionist who made a mistake with the order she made for us in a place that they made business with
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK, North.

Well located.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Not too noisy(weekend stay). Staff very pleasant.
Location: Decent local bars round the corner; Flamenco experience at Cardamomo (10 min walk); Bernabéu fine by Metro; Parque del Retiro on Sunday.
We were 2 adults and 1 child (10). The room 509, had a balcony which gave additional space, and was pleasant after the sun had passed. Room was a good enough size; TV had BBC World news; internet was fair, sometimes quick, sometimes slow, but it was free so no real complaints. I thought that the breakfast was really good; bacon and eggs, cereals , pastries, cold meats & cheese, tea/coffee/juice and loads of fresh fruit. We booked with inclusive breakfast which seemed a good deal. We used the on site parking, I doubt that we could have got cheaper so close. This hotel is really well located for the galleries, shopping, and great evening paseos. Easy to walk back from a sunset at the Palace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel next to Prado.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Prado
We only stayed one night but it is a very nice hotel, great value for money and very near the Prado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from San Francisco

Great location, solid quality

Posted Jun 23, 2014
This hotel is an understated gem. The location is great--the museums are in one direction, bars and cafés in the other. The price was good for a comfortably modern and relatively spacious room and bathroom. The only downside was that we needed to continue to sign on to use the internet, through a cumbersome process including a specially assigned user ID and password.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good I would recommend

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: as I said, the hotel was very central one can walk must of places. But to my opinion the hotel vegas is not 4 stars.
Cons: they should have a bar inside the hotel,
Location: Location very good a lot things to do walking distance
staff very polite end helpful , the good thing about the hotel is very central.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Excellent location and very comfortable beds!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: comfortable beds and pillow!
Cons: standard amenities, shampoo, conditioner, lotion in all rooms
Location: great location, close to Botanical Gardens,El Prado,short walking distance to Puerta Del Sol, Plaza Mayor,Gran Villa, Cibeles, Atocha trainstation,etc
This hotel is within walking distance to everything. The rooms are sparse but clean and comfortable, with WiFi. Amenities are few, shampoo and soap only, but staff was accommodating when asked for conditioner and lotion. Some noise heard from other rooms probably due to the wood floors. Overall a nice stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andy from Texas

Was Okay

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and rooms were nice but felt a little old in places. Bed wasn't very comfortable. Bathroom felt dirty with lots of hairs around that weren't mine. Location was perfect however and staff were nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David N from Newark - on -Trent

Ideal location for most attractions

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Upgraded room to superior but only received fruit & water on first night. To be fair Hotel did not charge for upgrade on second & third nights. However not what I'd expected from a 4 star hotel. No bath plug either. Other than that breakfast adequate and staff helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Chicago, IL

Great location, mediocre staff...

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Staff
Location: Prado Museum, Plaza Sol, many great restaurants, Retiro Park, and Atocha train station.
This was my first time in Spain and Madrid was our first stop. Hotel Lope de Vega is a quaint hotel, situated between the old brick/cobblestone streets of the city and the more developed. You cannot beat the location. It is across the street from the Prado Museum and a short walk to the Atocha train station. It was also just around the corner from what many travel guides consider "Tapas Row," on Calle de Jesus. The one largely disappointing bit of the stay was the staff. I actually found the nicest people at the hotel to be the cleaning staff that the hotel outsourced. The desk staff were cordial and spoke fine English, but I found them to be very unapproachable and kind of cold. I am an experienced traveler and can figure things out on my own for the most part, but being my first time in the country, I would have loved some recommendations...not just to be sent to a plaza to wander aimlessly hoping to find what I was looking for. We booked a shuttle through Hotel Lope de Vega days in advance to be picked up at the airport and taken to the hotel when we arrived, and were told it would cost 30 Euro for 1-2 people. We had a different staff member book our shuttle from the hotel to the airport and it only cost 18 Euro for 2. I'm not sure why there would be such a price difference, but it left us with a sour taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Break

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Tea facilities in room
Location: Plenty to see and do centre location
do not wish to add any experience with the whole world