Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Second stay at Las Meninas

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Close to Opera area and Plaza de Espana. Laundromat next door, nice store across the street. Area is comparatively quiet.
Cons: Replace some mattresses
Location: Madrid is a great walking city, and if you are somewhat fit you never need to take a cab. From Las Meninas you can walk to the Prado and other museums
The best think about Las Meninas is the location. The room is nice and functional, but nothing fancy and a little worn. Last trip our son got a bad mattress, this trip it was my turn to get a bad mattress. These things just happen unless you stay in a very luxurious hotel (maybe even then?).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location ever!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
I've been to Madrid twice before so I know how noisy it can be there at night. Las Meninas is located up a quiet side street just off Plaza Isabel (Opera) so the only noise you hear is the trash men around 0200. It's a lot quieter than it is closer to Puerta del Sol. We got the mini suite because we had our son traveling with us. The room was completely adequate, but not luxurious. The third bed was a daybed which my son could barely fit into...so I would say that if you have 3 large people I wouldn't go that route. The daybed mattress was really bad to the point it needs to be replaced. The other 2 beds were very comfortable. One of the best things about Las Meninas is that there is a new laundromat just next door. I would stay there for that alone because it is so hard to find decent laundomats in Madrid. There is also a very nice grocery store across th street. The Plaza de Espana is about a 2 minute walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huron, California

EXCELLENT CHOICE

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Location, comfort and price.
I did a lot of research of the hotel options available in Madrid before I choose Las Meninas. I lived in Madrid over 19 years ago and knew the landscape had changed. I made the best choice possible. The hotel is in a great location. Staff are pleasant. The price is very reasonable. The room is very comfortable. The next time I travel to Madrid I will definately stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very small rooms

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Very small rooms. Our room smelled really bad when we checked in (like sewage). Luckily they switched us to a room that smelled a little better. Staff was not very friendly when we checked in... at all. Only good thing is the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mainz

Posted Jun 23, 2015
sehr zentrale Lage an Metro OPERA und doch sehr ruhig in kleiner Seitenstrasse. Super Anbindung zum Airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Good hotel for overnight stay only breakfast very average
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Great location!

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Location was central to everything.
Location: Plaza Mayor, Plaza Sol, museums, cathedrals, great shopping and restaurants.
Great hotel in fantastic location. Just down the street from Opera train stop. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor and Plaza Sol. Just few minute train commute to parks, museums and all important sites. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was great. Only issues was our last night the air conditioning was not working. It was quite hot and uncomfortable. I would have rated the hotel all 5's if it were not for the air being out the last night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, just a short walk to the action

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: Small, you get to know the staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Walking distance to Puerta del Sol, Plaza mayor and metro station.
Arriving about 11 pm and with travelling problems, the receptionist, was very happy and efficient and my problem were solved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and very comfy

Posted Apr 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel and great location. In walking distance to everything, but off the busy streets, so there's not much noise. Everyone spoke English and was very nice. Only thing was the drain apparently backed up while we were out one afternoon, and the room smelled like poo. But the gentleman at the front desk came up, ran everything and sprayed some stuff around the room. It eventually went away. But besides that it was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Agustin from Blairsville, Georgia

Overall a fair place to stay!

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
This Hotel is rated and priced 4 stars but lacks the amenities that you would expect from that rating. For example there is no restaurant or cafeteria or even a bar at the premises. The Hotel is a remodeled building likely to be over 100 years old. However part of the charm is lost by cheap finishes, cheap furniture and dark rooms and hallways. On the positive side the Hotel's has a great location within short walking distance of the Royal Theater, the Royal Palace, Puerta del Sol, la Gran Via and Plaza Mayor and some of the best restaurants and tapas bars the City offers. The rooms are clean, the baths are modern and the staff is friendly and helpful.