Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Nightmare on PP

Posted Aug 8, 2014
My first impression was unsatisfactory. Up in a hill, adyacent to a empty, dark and smelly entrance. Graffitti on the Hotel's emblem. No Wi-Fi on 4 consecutive days. Beds are hard as a rock and the AC thermostat was a on/off switch. Temperature was regulated by staff and it was hot. After 4 nights there, I was glad I left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, good for sleeping

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Easy access to Metro
Cons: AC / A bit more modern decore
Location: Placa De Espanya!
Clean, location is easy enough to get around. The hotel decor (hallways, room) is a little dated but the washroom was very modern and spacious. AC took a while to get cold but it was still acceptable enough. The value of the hotel was right on spot. Neighborhood is relatively quiet but a short walk away it gets busy. Only downside is the hotel is right on a hill - take the Placa De Espana metro stop so you walk down-hill! For our 3 day stay in Madrid this hotel was satisfactory enough =)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to the centre

Posted May 6, 2014
The room was very nice and clean for the price, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to Plaza de Espana, Gran Via and the Royal Palace. I highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sean from UK

Nice Hotel close to Palace and Central Madrid

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Location- close to Palace and Central Madrid
Cons: Seems to lack a focal point. Could do with a bar / cafe on ground floor
Location: Nice Hotel close to Palace and Central Madrid
we stayed there for 7 nights and used it as a base for touring Madrid and its environs. It is within easy walking distance of all the tourist attractions in Central Madrid and the nearby Principe Pio station provides an intefrated transport hub for rail, metro and bus services to greater Madrid
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very good value for money

Posted Apr 22, 2014
My respect to their webdesigner, the hotel photos are so airbrushed that when you see the real thing you wonder if you are actually at the right address. It is in need of a major refurbishment as probably carpet and furniture have been there since it was built. The carpet being the worst offender. And the thing is it is not cheap! Frankly is not even in a fantastic location.
3 out of 5
by Melathan from Sydney

Basic budget hotel in an ok part of Madrid

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Some of the staff were exceptionally helpful. They made the difference.
Cons: All facilities could be upgraded (but of course this would jack up the prices).
Location: The Royal Palace. Eat ham.
You get what you pay for, and the Principe Pio is no exception. The staff did their best to accommodate: friendly, patient and courteous. One helpful member even printed out our airline boarding pass which was needed on checkout. The hotel is in need of a renovation. While not new, the condition is satisfactory. Don't except a 5 star experience. The hall ways, and room smells a little - but it is acceptable for a few nights. The location in Madrid is centrally located to the Royal Palace. If you're hunting for a hotel, and not sure which to choose, this option is probably the one you'd pick if you're running out of time, and just don't want to accidentally pick a stinker. This is it. The mediocre option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Terrific location and great Staff

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: This location was convenient to many of the great sights in Madrid.
Location: This location puts you within walking distance to the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor along with the Opera House and Sol. It is a great spot.
This was our first trip to Madrid and we chose the hotel because of location, and we were pleasantly surprised by the great staff. They were always helpful and friendly, giving us tips on local attractions. We were pleased with the price, staff, and location. The hotel was clean and tidy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sue from Minnesota

Reasonable price and nice service

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: we could get one room with 3 beds and the price was good; the front desk staff spoke English well
Cons: We had trouble finding it
Location: across the street from the palace and gardens; relatively close to transport at principe pio; but it's a tough walk uphill with luggage.
Just wanted to stay one night before our early flight out of Madrid. 3 travelers and got one room with 3 single beds. A little tight, but fine for one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sharon from Taiwan

Good service

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Near by metro Opera. But there are stairs. If you have luggages. It is not so convenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from London, UK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014