Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Ritz Ritz always:-))) Not bad way to make repairs in 2-3 years will start to disappear clients:-))
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room no view - maybe due to expedia

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great breakfast but small rooms- seems like expedia customers get the worst rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
I spent the most great days in Europe warm welcome and great help I love it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Awesome Ritz experience

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. Ideally positioned to easily walk to all parts of Madrid
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central, next to the Prado Museum & Retiro Park, but comfortable walking distance to everywhere else
Hotel 100 years old but looks sumptious with all the old world charm together with modern facilities, the staff were totally attentive & helpful, treating you like a VIP throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and the stay could not have been more enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobby from Hopton

Superb hotel near the Prado and Thyssen

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Keep everything as it is.
Location: Wonderfully located near two of the best art collections in the world.
This is a superb city centre hotel with excellent staff who could not do more if they tried. From the welcome to the marvellous concierge who will arrange anything including getting one on an aircraft when the French Air Traffic controllers are on strike which caused chaos throughout Spain. The terrace is an ideal place to relax and have lunch, tea or dinner. Food is excellent and the wine is very reasonably priced for a 5 Star city hotel in a capital. Whilst not the cheapest hotel it is well worth the extra. I have travelled extensively and cannot recommend this hotel more highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel with a nice location!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: carpet, wood trim, paint few things to update the hotel to its standards!
Very nice hotel, friendly staff! the Hotel itself needs to be updated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from California & Ireland

great hotel, town center, near the museums

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: really everything, but service and location are prime.
Cons: I can't name anything.
Location: Being next door to the Prado, across the street from the Thyssen-Bornemisa museums is great,also at the stop for the Madrid,hop on/hop off tours.
We had fantastic service from the moment we checked in late evening. All of the help from front desk,to concierge, to housekeeping just couldn't have been more helpful or attentive. Also, for a grand hotel, they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and well cared for. The breakfast was excellent even though we didn't stay for it every day. The outside terrace garden was a lovely setting for lunch. The concierge desk arranged an outside Madrid tour for us that my husband had been hoping to do wt an excellent company,good guide and comfortable bus. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kara Katie Kour from New York/Chicago

Great Hotel Can walk everywhere!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location
My Sister And I took our youngest sister to Madrid to celebrate her graduation from College. The three of us had a wonderful room!! We were even upgraded! We felt like Royalty! The Hotel is Beautiful! The Staff was so nice to us! Thank-You!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by michael from la jolla

Very good but not perfect

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am writing this review based on the fact that this is a 5 star hotel with 5 star prices. So stating that one expects things to be perfect or close to it. Most things are do not get me wrong, the staff is lovely, the location can not be better, over all the public areas are very nice. The classic rooms which is what we had are ok, nice but I had expected maybe a little more. No real wow factor, also on their web site it states that you are greeted with fresh flowers in the room, neither room had the advertised roses or orchid, only a small $3 potted plant. Here is where we had the real issue. We had 2 rooms for 2 nights. Room 524 and 525. The hotel was fully booked and we wanted 2 rooms next to each other so that is the only reason I did not complain to the hotel about one of the rooms. The carpet in 525 was old and in very bad shape with ugly stains, I was not comfortable walking with out shoes that is how bad it was, not what you would expect in this kind of hotel. We had breakfast and were very pleased. We also had dinner one night in the Goya, the food is good but again nothing really special and at 40 euros a plate I guess I was expecting something a little more and my son had a small Fanta with his meal which was 9 euros, (really) we had dinner elsewhere for half that the next night and the food was better, but I guess you pay for the fact that you have dinner at the ritz., would I stay here again, I'm nut sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by travel guru from New York City

Luxury of another era. A step back in time.

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Lovely old-fashioned beaux-arts decor from prewar era yet modern comfort too. Terrific location next to the park and Prado &Thyssen-Bornemisza museums
Cons: I noticed hardly anyone is paying attention to the dress code. I saw well-to-do guests coming and going in T-shirts and shorts. Tacky
Location: Madrid is quite a small city, the center that is. You can walk almost anywhere in comfortable shoes. I loved visiting the park during my visit.
Lovely room with antique furnishings. You will definitely feel like a prince in this hotel.or a movie star. I did not have any meals here because the prices were on the high side. The outdoor garden court looked nice for meals. I actually had breakfast at a nearby Starbuck's where you could sit outside. For just a few euros.