Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bobby from Hopton

Superb hotel near the Prado and Thyssen

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Keep everything as it is.
Location: Wonderfully located near two of the best art collections in the world.
This is a superb city centre hotel with excellent staff who could not do more if they tried. From the welcome to the marvellous concierge who will arrange anything including getting one on an aircraft when the French Air Traffic controllers are on strike which caused chaos throughout Spain. The terrace is an ideal place to relax and have lunch, tea or dinner. Food is excellent and the wine is very reasonably priced for a 5 Star city hotel in a capital. Whilst not the cheapest hotel it is well worth the extra. I have travelled extensively and cannot recommend this hotel more highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very nice hotel with a nice location!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location!
Cons: carpet, wood trim, paint few things to update the hotel to its standards!
Very nice hotel, friendly staff! the Hotel itself needs to be updated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from California & Ireland

great hotel, town center, near the museums

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: really everything, but service and location are prime.
Cons: I can't name anything.
Location: Being next door to the Prado, across the street from the Thyssen-Bornemisa museums is great,also at the stop for the Madrid,hop on/hop off tours.
We had fantastic service from the moment we checked in late evening. All of the help from front desk,to concierge, to housekeeping just couldn't have been more helpful or attentive. Also, for a grand hotel, they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and well cared for. The breakfast was excellent even though we didn't stay for it every day. The outside terrace garden was a lovely setting for lunch. The concierge desk arranged an outside Madrid tour for us that my husband had been hoping to do wt an excellent company,good guide and comfortable bus. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kara Katie Kour from New York/Chicago

Great Hotel Can walk everywhere!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location
My Sister And I took our youngest sister to Madrid to celebrate her graduation from College. The three of us had a wonderful room!! We were even upgraded! We felt like Royalty! The Hotel is Beautiful! The Staff was so nice to us! Thank-You!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by travel guru from New York City

Luxury of another era. A step back in time.

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Lovely old-fashioned beaux-arts decor from prewar era yet modern comfort too. Terrific location next to the park and Prado &Thyssen-Bornemisza museums
Cons: I noticed hardly anyone is paying attention to the dress code. I saw well-to-do guests coming and going in T-shirts and shorts. Tacky
Location: Madrid is quite a small city, the center that is. You can walk almost anywhere in comfortable shoes. I loved visiting the park during my visit.
Lovely room with antique furnishings. You will definitely feel like a prince in this hotel.or a movie star. I did not have any meals here because the prices were on the high side. The outdoor garden court looked nice for meals. I actually had breakfast at a nearby Starbuck's where you could sit outside. For just a few euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john from birmingham

excellent

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: the traditional decor
Cons: service in the outdoor restaurant
Location: central location
We found everything to be excellent cleanliness, bedrooms, staff service ,except we felt that the outdoor restaurant was understaffed and one man was rushing around several tables of guests trying to cope .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Georgia

Old-Fashioned in the Best Sense

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel suits individuals who seek to live in a world detached from the loud and vulgar aspects of contemporary culture. It suits those of traditional and conservative tastes who enjoy deft and attentive service from polite and respectful staff. It approaches perfection for such people. By contrast, it has little or nothing to offer those seeking a zen-like minimalism, an uber-cool detachment, Danish Modern furniture, or an assortment of abstract expressionist hangings on glass walls. In short, the Ritz is a true joy for those seeking traditional luxury, comfort, and attention to detail. Travelers disinclined to favor such things should take a pass, and leave it to those who understand and appreciate this special hotel for the rare treasure it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2013