Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel conveniently located

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Not you cookie cutter hotel. The staff was very efficient and delightful. Loved the fact that every floor is different, the quirky exterior, great views, metro and bus nearby, plenty of taxis, airport shuttle etc, what's not to love? Did not have time to use the other facilities but will next time. And oh, the showers are great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, a bit far from city center

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Amazing design by a variety of architects. Very helpful staff!
Location: There were a few restaurants, and a metro stop nearby, but most of the tourist activities are in the city's center.
Amazing design with great amenities. Knowledgeable and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Modern and spacious!!!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: The design and architecture!
Cons: More eating alternatives
Location: Is away from city center, the hotel has a schedule shuttle service that can take you to Plaza de la Independencia and there is a Metro Station 2 min
My husband is an architect, so he wanted to stay in this hotel due to its concept and design. We stayed at Zaha Hadid's space club room, which in one word can be described as the Jetsons' room!!! The design and areas are SPECTACULAR and hotel staff very helpful!!! In detail (i) bedroom was spacious, and bed mattress and linens were great!!! All room was white and very comfortable; (ii) staff was very helpful and nice ready to help you with almost anything; (iii) although the hotel is 10-15 min (in car) from Madrid's city center, the hotel has a scheduled complementary shuttle service that can take you and pick you up at Plaza de la Independencia (where La Puerta de Alcalá is located); (iv) Metro station is at 2 min walking distance from the hotel (Cartagena Station), which makes the distance from center not an inconvenient either. Additionally, Madrid's metro is one of the easiest to use!!; (v) schedule complementary airport shuttle is available, just need to book it in advance; (vi) the restaurant Lagrimas Negras is supposed to be an excellent place to eat (personally I did not enjoyed it much but it was because of the food I ordered). Take into consideration that it is expensive and it is advisable to make reservation. Madrid is a wonderful city and definitely will return to this hotel (only that will like to book Norman Foster's room this time). In conclusion, it was delightful!!!
2 out of 5
by Sindy from Christchurch, Dorset

Not 5 star hotel!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Some of the decor was very nice in some areas of the hotel. The room was very clean and the bath was lovely and big.
Cons: Customer service could be improved and the internal decor could look better by simplifying the look and good workmanship.
Location: The location was not far from the city centre. It cost around 9€ one way. There were lots of shopping to do and lots of wonderful food to eat.
The pictures looked amazing in this 5 star hotel. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this one was not up to the standard of a 5 star hotel. I am not sure if it was the laid back Spanish attitude or just poor customer service. Firstly the staff did not seem enthusiastic about their jobs. There was not a warm welcome when we arrived. We had to wait quite some time for room service on all occasions. On one occasion we waited over an hour for a pizza. We did get it in the end (which was not very nice) after 1.5 hours and we were told we did not place an order. Then later they said it was delivered to the wrong room! The corridors were extremely dark and gloomy. We were on the 3rd floor. The internal decor of our suite was too over the top for a modern contemporary look. It was as if they tried too hard. The workmanship was tacky and our room was very dark with charcoal grey flooring and black bathroom furniture! The toilet had a glass door!!!! We did not have the facilities to make a tea or coffee in our suite. The views out of the window was horrible and far from scenic. We booked a suite which we paid a lot of money for per night. The white furniture in all the bars indoor and outdoors were filthy. We have never felt the need to complain before and we do not look out for perfection. But on this occasion I really felt the need to write my review for the first time ever. My partner asked me to book a 5 star hotel in Madrid, I cannot help but keep apologising to him!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lawro from London

Eclectic

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Clean, well appointed, different.
Cons: Drinks/Breakfast overpriced.
Location: 200 metres from metro. Couple of nice tapas/restaurants nearby, but have to travel for City Centre eateries.
Handy for Metro and Airport. Nice, small, pool and gym. Room service good, although, for a 5 start hotel the staff were not "fantastic". Breakfast expensive, 22 Euros, for "help yourself". Basically a good hotel, but not outstanding, with interesting room design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

beautiful design, slightly impractical.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Design wise, very attractive. Close to a metro Cartagena. Close to airport.
Ask for an extra duvet to be placed on the mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caleb from Wales

kooky hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: the restaurant on the ground floor was fab - highly recommended great friendly staff good bar pool worth a visit
Cons: breakfast - bit of a free for all, there were 2 conferences on whilst we stayed, so it was heaving the breakfast buffet was ok-ish, coffee was awful
Location: bit of a way out, metro 3 minutes away, but could walk to calle de serrano in 30minutes easy to get to from the airport, bus or metro
stayed on the plasma studio floor - the only non-smoking room left when we arrived it would have been our last choice - had we been given one warning - NO bathroom privacy in these rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amjad

Great hotel in Madrid with kids

Posted May 28, 2014
Great place to stay with kids. Incredible breakfast buffet. Make sure if traveling with kids to stay on the 8th floor that looks like a space ship. My 8-year-old loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James

Excellent hotel. Unmatched facilities and eating.

Posted May 27, 2014
Excellent facilities and had the best restaurant in the area!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted May 27, 2014
It didn't live up to the expectation based on description and info said in Expedia. Rooms despite being designed in different and unique styles they were very unpractical. No hot drinks in the rooms. Tv programs very limited. Spa facility very poor (did not even have a changing room so you have to make your way to 13th floor with swimming clothes). Also you are dependent on metro or taxi to get to the city centre. Staff were very helpful and friendly.