Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and think the location is perfect, right in the centre but without too much noise. The hotel was clean and staff very friendly, and for those hot Madrid nights the air con was brilliant and fairly silent! The only reason I've not given it 5 stars is that we went for the Terrace option, and although the space was great, the loungers were unusable, wooden chairs that had seen better days with nails sticking out all over them. Is a shame because everything else about the hotel and our stay was great, and despite the disappointment on full terrace use if I was back in Madrid is stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PUERTO RICO

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Superior experience,unbeatable location,espectacular treatment of employees and confortable room. Special recognition to Miriam, turism student.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Can.

Breakfast inclusion?

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Great location. Staff very helpful for city highlights
At check-in told Breakfast was included. At breakfast presented with bill. Manager Sr. Sagardia said he would cancel. So all should be good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great location

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: The style of the hotel is very unique. The halls of the hotel and the antique elevator shows the history of the hotel.
Cons: Didn't like the much the bathroom door it wasn't stable.
Location: There is a nice bar/lounge downstairs and the hotel is close to a lot of stores in walking distance
The hotel was great the only thing was that the bath tub was a little dirty but room in general was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essen

Sehr schönes Hotel in hervorragender Lage

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Lage, Frühstücksbuffet und der Barbereich.
Cons: Bewirtschaftung der schönen Dachterrasse
Location: Hotel an der Gran Via,viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind fußläufig zu erreichen, nette Tapasbars und Restaurants z.B. an der Plaza Santa Anna + Plaza Mayor
Das Hotel ist geschmackvoll gestaltet und sehr günstig gelegen. Puerta del Sol und Plaza Mayor sind in wenigen Minuten zu Fuß erreichbar. Das freundliche und entgegenkommende Personal, die schönen Zimmer, die auch zur Gran Via gelegen nicht zu laut sind und das vielfältige Frühstücksbuffet machen den Aufenthalt ausgesprochen angenehm. . Nur schade ist, dass die schöne Dachterrasse nicht bewirtschaftet wird und somit nicht wirklich zum Verweilen einlädt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Fabulous location on a great street, check in was easy and staff were wonderful and knowledgeable. Room is super comfy and very cool. Great bed and bathroom/shower. Plentiful and tasty breakfast and great coffee. We had a room facing the street with a little balcony, couldn't ask for more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was not correct reservation

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Did not have correct room available eben though I reserved it. Had to rent two rooms at check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, welcoming hotel in central Madrid

Posted May 31, 2015
Location: Very central - easy walking distance to all the main tourist attractions.
My room was exceptionally comfortable with a lovely balcony. Breakfast was superb and staff were very helpful. The literary theme to the décor throughout the building was a lovely touch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Zentrale Lage, Ambiente eher enttäuschend

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Lage
Location: Zentrum, Sehenswürdigkeiten fußläufig erreichbar.
Lage zentral, aber sehr laut. Ambiente und Ausstattung eher enttäuschend. Frühstück einfach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Unfriendly staff, fraudulent charges

Posted May 24, 2015
Cons: service, and staff
To make a long story short, we encountered some rude staff who misled us about services provided by the hotel. They offered my wife and I, a complimentary breakfast for the duration of the stay. Upon check out, they stated they would be charging us for the breakfast, and that we must have been mistaken. We advised it was clearly explained to us, that the breakfast was included. The staff were very condescending and rude. They however stated they would remove the charge from our bill. When we returned home, we found a supplemental charge on our Visa for the cost of the breakfast. We had never authorized that charge, and it was not included in our final bill. We tried to contact the hotel on multiple occasions, and have got the run around. We have just returned home and contacted Visa. They are investigating the matter. If you are a tourist, please be weary when dealing with staff, and management. We have also contacted IBEROSTAR headquarters, and have yet to receive an acknowledgement of our complaint. Would expected this from a tourist trap, not a 4 star hotel.