Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Spaacious
Location: Well situated within short walking of a couple of metro stations which only took approx 10 mins to the centre of Madrid.
It was good to have an outdoor pool in central Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

4 Days in Madrid

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The entrance foyer is classy with an art deco feel. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful and our room was very clean and spacious.
Location: The Santiago Bernabeu stadium and the City bus tour stop is 15m walk. Metro is located nearby with easy access to the city centre.
Had a fabulous time and was really happy with the choice of Hotel. We had certain requirements which was to be near to but not on top of the city centre and for the hotel to have a nice pool to relax by as it was going to be hot! All the staff from the reception through to the waitresses and cleaners were cheerful, polite and helpful. We arrived early and were offered an upgraded room if we would like to wait for an hour. This was unexpected but gratefully accepted as we were happy to go for a look around the facilities and have the first holiday drink in the bar. Our room was lovely and we then took refuge on a sun bed at the pool. Only issue was that the water temperature was really cold but some people may find this refreshing. Overall we found the Melia Castilla to be good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by benjih

Out of town

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The hotel is great, lots of the airline staff use this hotel. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean! It's quite a walk back into the centre of town, but the metro isn't too far away and the open top tour bus stops outside the Bernabeu stadium which us just a few minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Athlete from R

Melia Castillo

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Great hotel and room. Gym equipment poor, no rowing machine! Worst of all - POOL WAS CLOSED I would not have booked this hotel if I had known that!
2 out of 5
by lynda from Wales

Not good

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Cons: Water in a pool we could use!
This hotel was advertised with a pool, however the pool was empty and work was being carried out around it. We couldn't even sit around it. I had paid more to have a hotel with a pool so was very disappointed !
2 out of 5
by Rich from England

Hotel room & facilities

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Comfy pillows & cheap wine!
Cons: Not to be next to a lift & request that the hotel doesn't lie about the facilities.
Location: Had to get public transport/taxi to city centre as too far to walk. Lots of things to do in the centre. Beware, Madrid doesn't eat until 8pm :(.
Hotel room (10-01) is right next to a high speed lift (therefore all '01 rooms are) which make a whooshing noise every few minutes throughout the day & night. Swimming pool & outdoor area closed until 1st June; very disappointing as this wasn't advertised on Expedia. Hotel is too far away from city centre. English isn't that well understood in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Cardiff, Wales

Great city hotel

Posted May 29, 2014
Great location close to the Bernabeu and between two convenient metro lines. Even the basic classic room was top quality, very big and with full amenities. The staff were tremendous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by S R Iyer from New Delhi

Comfy beds

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay at Melia Castila, but the location is in the financial district and about 5 Kilometre from the city centre so bit in convinient if you are on purely tourism, there is a metro station 10-15 mins from the hotel which takes you to city centre in 15 mins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely comfortable and great service

Posted Apr 11, 2014
The room had a great size, but the best feature was a very very comfortable bed. It is a very classical style hotel, a bit outdated in decoration for my taste, but it is easily forgotten by the comfort and the excellent service. Really outstanding service, always helful, polite and smiling this makes a difference. I most definitely recomend the hotel