Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joshua from Chicago

NH Alcala is a nice place in a great location.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: I liked the hotel's location, price point, and rooms, and I found the staff to be (mostly) excellent.
Cons: One employee (whom I assume is new) seemed directionally clueless; he couldn't figure out where the hotel was on the map the hotel furnished me
Location: Arzabal (v close) has amazing tapas & wine. Museums within walking distance. Upscale shopping nearby. Café y te across st for quick & decent breakfast
Our hotel room was clean and comfortable, and although we faced the street and were on the second floor, we were not bothered by noise from the street (or from other lodgers). The museums, train, and superb tapas bars were within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Filiz from Sydney, Australia

Well worth choosing the superior room

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location - Peaceful and in a nice, safe neighborhood, without being too far from the main sites. Room - Spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: I wasn't very impressed with the standard room. It was very basic but still ok. You can't go wrong if you choose the superior room.
Location: Close to Retiro Park, many restaurants and cafes, and about a 20 minute walk to Gran Via, and Puerta Del Sol. Metro is right across the road too.
I stayed here for 4 nights and would happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The first night I was in a standard room and found it to be extremely basic and not very spacious and comfortable. After I moved to the superior room I was very happy with everything in the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The hotel was right near the Retiro Park in a quieter spot of Madrid, but still within walking distance of all the main sites of Madrid. It was right next to the metro, and also had many restaurants and cafes nearby if you are looking for somewhere to eat. I was very happy with this hotel and would most likely choose it again next time I'm in Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Filiz from Sydney, Australia

Well worth choosing the superior room

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location - Peaceful and in a nice, safe neighborhood, without being too far from the main sites. Room - Spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: I wasn't very impressed with the standard room. It was very basic but still ok. You can't go wrong if you choose the superior room.
Location: Close to Retiro Park, many restaurants and cafes, and about a 20 minute walk to Gran Via, and Puerta Del Sol. Metro is right across the road too.
I stayed here for 4 nights and would happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The first night I was in a standard room and found it to be extremely basic and not very spacious and comfortable. After I moved to the superior room I was very happy with everything in the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The hotel was right near the Retiro Park in a quieter spot of Madrid, but still within walking distance of all the main sites of Madrid. It was right next to the metro, and also had many restaurants and cafes nearby if you are looking for somewhere to eat. I was very happy with this hotel and would most likely choose it again next time I'm in Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carolina from ecuador

Great location

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Is a nice hotel with kind staff and great location but the room wasnt as good and new as the one in the pictures. I checked all the pictures before i confirmed my reservation and the rooms were better than the one i had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good to stay!

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: The staff is friendly and helpful to us
Location: Near Subway 1min
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penelope

Good-value hotel in convenient, quiet location

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Comfortable, clean and friendly. Boutique feel. My room was a double - compact and fine for one person, but a squeeze for two people. Delicious buffet breakfast with plenty of options. Located close to Retiro Park and just a 15-20 minute walk from the centre. I would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PT from NYC

Reasonably prices hotel not so far from downtown

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Located in a very nice neighborhood, this hotel is great and surprisingly not far from the downtown. There is actually a metro station right across the street which takes to Puerto Del Sol in 5-10 minutes. It is also close to Retrio park which is a nice place to visit if you have time. All in all we really enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by chris from orange county california

madrid

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice hotel, typical for EU, small bathroom, small room but nice people and a great location!
3 out of 5
by Carlos from Santo Domingo , DR

Nice location , no so good Place

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: beds
Location: almost next door the Paruqe del Retiro , BEAUTIFUL place to exercise , or just relax and enjoy nature
The location of this Hotel is prime , it is clean , but access to the Hotel is bad you have to go to stairs whit your heavy luggage , I will say it is not handicap friendly , but it is good for business travelers .