Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

2015 New Year's Day / Madridx

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Excellent location - Friendly staff - Room with terrace facing El Paseo de Prado with a lovely view - Kapital club around the corner - El Brillante restaurant also an excellent choice for bocadillo de calamares & also a fabulous chocolate! Overall, location could not be better & looking forward to our next visit! Madrid is a gastronomic experience! Must visit Calle Cava Baja to experience Casa Lucio restaurant! El Botin restaurant is for the succulent suckling pig!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ripon, UK

Mediocre Four star hotel in a good location.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Atocha district near the Prado
The hotel is in an excellent location in the Atocha district close to the Prado. As I travelled on the sleeper train from Lisbon, the MH Nacional was a great disappointment compared with the Tryp Oriente Hotel in Lisbon. There were queues at Reception. Although the staff were doing their best, some customers were not above queue-jumping. My room had a splendid bathroom but the bedroom itself was in need of decoration. I bought breakfast in advance at a ‘discount’. The so-called discount price for an admittedly good meal was a usurious 33 Euro.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom england

Got there and they did not have my reservation

Posted Dec 15, 2014
She I arrived to Madrid I was told that Expedia had overbooked the hotel for the whole weekend and they could only provide me a room in another hotel in the north part of Madrid which was not what I wanted location wise. So not very happy about this, could have told me day before as they knew the situation and I would have found my own arrangements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom malaga

muy céntrico y tranquilo..

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Estancia perfecta.El personal,inmejorable y el desayuno muy completo. Lo mejor,la cafetera nexpreso al lado de la cama.Con variedad de infusiones incluidas.Los amantes del café lo agradecemos
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overbooking

Posted Dec 8, 2014
When I tried to check in, I was told that the hotel was overbooking. I was told to stay at another NH hotel that is located in more suburb area. I had no choice other than to stay at another one. The hotel paid taxi fee but the room of the transferred hotel was very small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Bright and Convenient Near the Prado

Posted Dec 1, 2014
This hotel is in a great convenient location, across from the Atocha train station, a block from the Museo Reina Sophia, and very near the Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza museums. The metro station is a block away and that connects you with everything else to do in Madrid in minutes. My rate was really reasonable, and even better because I was staying a few days. This is a well run (Swiss) business hotel, so you know you'll get what you expect; and both the room and bathroom were spotless. The staff are professional and friendly ... always welcoming and responsive to the opportunity to assist when asked. My room was on the 7th floor with a large balcony overlooking the beautiful Paseo de Prado and Botanical Gardens ... amazing! There's a great breakfast buffet which has a nice variety of freshly prepared items, everything you'd expect (including cold milk for tea drinkers) ... and even eggs made to order! This isn't a quaint facility with loads of charm, but pretty and a very nice experience never-the-less if that's your kind of thing. Personally, I found it an oasis that gave me fresh energy every day to go explore and have great adventures in Madrid. A super base to take in all the city (and surrounding sites) have to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very close to the Prado Museum

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: It is modern and the staff is very welcoming. The lobby level has a bar and is a mini art gallery. Breakfast (included) is a really great value.
The room was nice and modern as was the bathroom. Got two singles instead of a double bed. The hotel is very close to the Prado Museum and the Parque del Retiro (right across the street) and the Atocha train station which serves the high speed trains. There are a lot of other nearby attractions all within walking distance so it is quite centrally located
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lydiafrom UK

Short leisure trip review

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Short break in Madrid in mid October. Room was spacious and clean, bedding of good quality with comfortable pillows. Air conditioning didn't work - receptionist admitted this was the case. We could neither heat up nor cool down the room. Windows were badly glazed but room looked out onto a central main road - the result was extreme noise 24/7 making it hard to sleep deeply. No team or coffee making facility but available in lobby - extremely early however from 7am, not good for leisure visits. Price was comparable to a UK Premier Inn who have definately got the above three issues (air con, refreshments and glazing)sorted, so it can be done !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josie Socorrofrom Guam, U.S.A

excellent

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was excellent! The locations were all close to all tourist attraction in Madrid. The room was great because the bathroom was separated to the room.and lastly the staff were all nice and very approachable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel à Madrid

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Très bien situé
Cons: Insonorisation des fenêtres
Location: Très bien situé, face au Musée de Prado, à quelques pas du parc El Retiro, près de restaurants, et de la gare.
Court séjour au NH Madrid, très bien situé, nous devions prendre le train à quelques pas le seul "hic" c'est qu'étant situé sur un gros boulevard, les fenêtres ne sont pas assez insonorisées, la nuit les sirènes de police et d'ambulance nous réveillent.