Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Atocha train station

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Room cleanliness, attentive staff
Location: Proximity to train station, Museo del Prado, Reina Sofia and Thyssen Bornemiza
Needed a hotel close to Atocha train station and the bus station Madrid Sur for only one night. It has the added convenience of being close to major museums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Panama

Vacation

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Is was quite good for a marriage couple but it was a little uncomfortable that it had a transparent door for the bathroom and little space between beds. Overall ibliked the fact that the room was separated from the bathroom. Good job NH
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to Atocha, Sofia, Prado, etc

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Great location if you're like me and like to be close to museums to get there early after an eay walk. Also right next to Atocha which is great. There are a number of little restaurants and cafes nearby, too. The superior room with view was nice but I felt like I should've gotten a little more for my money. Room was a bit small and the view of the park/street was okay but would have likely been much better in the fall or spring (the window also has a great option to close window shield to reduce street noise). Bed was very firm but still okay. Elevators are cramped so be ready for that. Otherwise, great staff and clean rooms - I enjoyed my stay at this hotel and if location is a priority it's great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

2015 New Year's Day / Madridx

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Excellent location - Friendly staff - Room with terrace facing El Paseo de Prado with a lovely view - Kapital club around the corner - El Brillante restaurant also an excellent choice for bocadillo de calamares & also a fabulous chocolate! Overall, location could not be better & looking forward to our next visit! Madrid is a gastronomic experience! Must visit Calle Cava Baja to experience Casa Lucio restaurant! El Botin restaurant is for the succulent suckling pig!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ripon, UK

Mediocre Four star hotel in a good location.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Atocha district near the Prado
The hotel is in an excellent location in the Atocha district close to the Prado. As I travelled on the sleeper train from Lisbon, the MH Nacional was a great disappointment compared with the Tryp Oriente Hotel in Lisbon. There were queues at Reception. Although the staff were doing their best, some customers were not above queue-jumping. My room had a splendid bathroom but the bedroom itself was in need of decoration. I bought breakfast in advance at a ‘discount’. The so-called discount price for an admittedly good meal was a usurious 33 Euro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom england

Got there and they did not have my reservation

Posted Dec 15, 2014
She I arrived to Madrid I was told that Expedia had overbooked the hotel for the whole weekend and they could only provide me a room in another hotel in the north part of Madrid which was not what I wanted location wise. So not very happy about this, could have told me day before as they knew the situation and I would have found my own arrangements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom malaga

muy céntrico y tranquilo..

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Estancia perfecta.El personal,inmejorable y el desayuno muy completo. Lo mejor,la cafetera nexpreso al lado de la cama.Con variedad de infusiones incluidas.Los amantes del café lo agradecemos
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JULIOfrom Sao Paulo

Tranquilo

Posted Dec 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Foi tudo ótimo, curti muito minha estadia
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by PEDRO VICENTEfrom BCN

Desastre y desamparo.

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Desagradable sorpresa: el hotel estaba lleno, había habido un error en la gestión de las reservas y me recolocaron en otro de inferior categoría y lejos de la zona en la que me tenía que mover.