Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and safe

Posted Jul 30, 2014
I loved the short walk to Retiro Park and feeling safe walking around the area. I took the Metro from the airport to the hotel since it left me half a block away at the Principe Vergara stop. It requires only one transfer and was easy ! If you have a heavy suitcase you will need to climb some stairs at the metro. If you preder A cab should cost no more than 15 Euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Excellent location!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Location, room space
Cons: The room could be cleaner.
Location: Fine restaurants and cafes just walking distance from the hotel.
The hotel is just one block away from the metro station. The location is unbeatable, the staff was very kind and helpful. This was the third time we stayed there and hpre it was not the last one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very Nice Hotel with Modern Amenities

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The staff was very kind and watched our bags before and after we checked in and out. Modern, comfortable, clean.
Cons: The internet was good for only one IP address, and dropped occasionally requiring you to re-login every few hours.
Location: Downtown is very close, easy Metro ride to/from the airport, right next to the large city garden.
We stayed for a few days and had a excellent stay. The staff was very kind and watched our bags before and after we checked in and out. The internet was fast and the room was modern, comfortable, and clean. It was a half hour walk from downtown with the festive nightlife, with more local spots close by. Very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

I will stay again

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The location and staff
This is the second time I stay at this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The staff is excellent as well as the location. Quiet and close to metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close to Retiro Park.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Enjoyed the view from our room of the street and adjacent buildings. Not in the touristy part if town but within walking distance and close to lots of restaurants and a train station. Catherine park is right next door so you can hang out there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mache from Bogota Colombia

Nice Hotel, excellent location, excellent price

Posted May 22, 2014
Very nice location, one block from metro that leaves you almost everywhere in minutes. The hotel staff is great and the cost is fabulous. I had a 1 person room and it was very small, but enough for me that only wanted to sleep at it. I didn´t have breakfast but they offer it at 13 euros once there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joshua from Chicago

NH Alcala is a nice place in a great location.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Pros: I liked the hotel's location, price point, and rooms, and I found the staff to be (mostly) excellent.
Cons: One employee (whom I assume is new) seemed directionally clueless; he couldn't figure out where the hotel was on the map the hotel furnished me
Location: Arzabal (v close) has amazing tapas & wine. Museums within walking distance. Upscale shopping nearby. Café y te across st for quick & decent breakfast
Our hotel room was clean and comfortable, and although we faced the street and were on the second floor, we were not bothered by noise from the street (or from other lodgers). The museums, train, and superb tapas bars were within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Filiz from Sydney, Australia

Well worth choosing the superior room

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location - Peaceful and in a nice, safe neighborhood, without being too far from the main sites. Room - Spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: I wasn't very impressed with the standard room. It was very basic but still ok. You can't go wrong if you choose the superior room.
Location: Close to Retiro Park, many restaurants and cafes, and about a 20 minute walk to Gran Via, and Puerta Del Sol. Metro is right across the road too.
I stayed here for 4 nights and would happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The first night I was in a standard room and found it to be extremely basic and not very spacious and comfortable. After I moved to the superior room I was very happy with everything in the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The hotel was right near the Retiro Park in a quieter spot of Madrid, but still within walking distance of all the main sites of Madrid. It was right next to the metro, and also had many restaurants and cafes nearby if you are looking for somewhere to eat. I was very happy with this hotel and would most likely choose it again next time I'm in Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Filiz from Sydney, Australia

Well worth choosing the superior room

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location - Peaceful and in a nice, safe neighborhood, without being too far from the main sites. Room - Spacious, clean, and comfortable.
Cons: I wasn't very impressed with the standard room. It was very basic but still ok. You can't go wrong if you choose the superior room.
Location: Close to Retiro Park, many restaurants and cafes, and about a 20 minute walk to Gran Via, and Puerta Del Sol. Metro is right across the road too.
I stayed here for 4 nights and would happily recommend this hotel to my friends. The first night I was in a standard room and found it to be extremely basic and not very spacious and comfortable. After I moved to the superior room I was very happy with everything in the hotel. It was clean, spacious, and very comfortable. The hotel was right near the Retiro Park in a quieter spot of Madrid, but still within walking distance of all the main sites of Madrid. It was right next to the metro, and also had many restaurants and cafes nearby if you are looking for somewhere to eat. I was very happy with this hotel and would most likely choose it again next time I'm in Madrid.