Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul from Usa

Good for Atocha and the centre of Madrid

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The front rooms are noisy, the back rooms are quiet. The hotel checked me out early by mistake but then did find me another room. Staff were helpful, but English is not their first language so best to double check everything you tell them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jim from Australia

Perfect for stopover

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We used the hotel for one night ready for a flight out next day. It was perfect for this with location across road from P de Atocha station, and 20-30 mins walk to Sol. Rooms are small but all you need. Guy at desk could have been a bit friendlier but was ok. Although on a busy road, our rooms faced the back and were really quiet. Price was good at AUD$100 per room. Airport bus leaves across the road 5 euro p.p. Highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chester from Ct, USA

Very good hotel in so many ways

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Location, staff, even sound protection from road was great.
Cons: thermostat in my room
Location: Museums, bars, tapas and restaurants. Definitely take the city tour to figure out the areas and learn about the city.
Fantastic location for getting to and from the train station! The best museums are walking distance, as are the best tapas bars and restaurants. Couldn't be happier overall. Just had a little problem with my thermostat (too hot) but I'm sure that is fixed now. The staff were great, Madrid rocks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martha from Massachusetts

Extremely convenient to Atocha RR station

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Its proximity to the Atocha Station. And that, despite being literally across a major street, the room was perfectly quiet.
Cons: The room felt a bit crowded with furniture, etc., but I'm not sure much could be done about that.
Location: next door to the national museum of anthropology, and across the street from Atocha Railroad. Also near botanical garden and Prado Museum
I chose this hotel because I had had previous positive experiences with other hotels in the nh group. This one could not have been more convenient to the Atocha Station, which was my main objective. The fellow at reception when I arrived was extremely helpful, providing me with the schedule for the airport bus that leaves from the station, and also offering to print my airline boarding pass, so I wouldn't have to pay for the privilege at the printing station down the hall. The hotel had free wi-fi in the room, and also offered a simple, free, continental breakfast for those who were "early departers" (which I was--leaving the hotel a bit after 6 a.m.!) The room was certainly not luxurious; it was a single room with a single bed (not terribly firm mattress), and with minimal extra space. But it was clean and well-appointed and served my purposes perfectly. I would definitely return if I were needing to be in relation to the Atocha Station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Denver couple

Nice hotel near Metro and train.

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Excellent experience. Helpful staff. Clean comfortable room. Convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adrian from Cos Cob, CT

Close to Madrid City centre.

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well located for our trip, it was around a 20 minute walk into the Plaza Mayor and only a few minutes from El Retiro and the Reina Sofia gallery. The hotel was quiet and clean, even though it was close to a main road near the Atocha station it never seemed noisy. There were a couple of bars nearby which we used for an occasional tapa and beers after walking back from town in the evening. It is extremely convenient for the train direct to the airport, you can be at the airport within 45 minutes if you use the Cercanias train at Atocha. All in all a good convenient hotel , rooms are small if you are there for an extended stytay though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Chicago

Tiny room

Posted Sep 14, 2013
I asked for a very quiet room and got my wish, room 209, which opens on a back-court with absolutely no noise. But the room was minuscule, with barely any space between the bed and the small desk, and the bed and the dresser. OK for me, since I stayed for one night and wanted no noise. Some sign of wear and tear on the floor of the room, but overall very clean. They use CF light bulbs that take some time to achieve full brightness, at which point the room still feels darkish. Please switch to LED bulbs ! Bathroom is small but adequate. Booking the breakfast the night before gave me a discount of 6 Euro, it was 10 instead of 16 Euro, which is a good price for an all you can eat buffet. The location next to the train station is fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by laura

Nice hotel for the value

Posted Jul 10, 2013
I enjoyed this hotel as it was a quick stay in Lagos. The walk is a little far to the center of activities and it was difficult to get wifi if not in the lobby. Staff was very nice though and we were happy with our stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chang S.S from Singapore

Nh Sur is located opposite Madrid Atocha station.

Posted May 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is centrally located, just opposite Madrid Atocha train station. It's also close to major attractions, all within walking distance. The room is neat and clean. Would like to stay at the same hotel if I return to Madrid.