Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Great location, nice staff, hard beds.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The market opposite is fantastic for food.
Cons: Comfier matresses.
Location: It's pretty central.
Pretty much as the summary above says. it's says I should add more, but I'v said all I want to.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Dirty carpets

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Carpets and room condition need to be improved
Location: Excelent
Excelent location, good service but carpets very dirty, good breakfast but is not included. Excelent for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent location! Directly across the street from Plaza Mayor. Friendly staff!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2014 by MartaH Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you have had a pleasant stay at Petit Palace Mayor.I am so happy you enjoyed your time with us due our location and the services provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel had a great location. Breakfast was nice. The room was good except for a smell that either came from the AC or the sink, we coudn't figure out which. Speaking of the sink, it was just a little too high off the ground to use comfortably unless of couse you are seven feet tall.
3 out of 5
by tourist from europe

This is not a 4 star hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
This is more like 3 star. Carpet and wallpaper is terrible. Everything else was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Nice hotel. Great location.

Posted May 12, 2014
Hotel is very nice. It's right across the street from the San Miquel Market--a great enclosed market with a great array of tapas, wine, pastries, coffees, ice cream and a little fruit. Also close to Plaza Mayor--a major gathering place with restaurants, caf├ęs and street performers. Not far from museums.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Scotts from Portland Oregon

Great location, good price.

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic smallish European hotel. Staff friendly and accessible. Location was excellent, especially if you like to walk to everything. Had a room facing the street and enjoyed watching the activity below when readying for our next outing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by annika from london

Excellently located city hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Cosier beds. Tea making facilities
Location: Right in the centre, next to Playa Major and San Miguel Food Market
Great location in the heart of the action. Clean room but uncomfortable hard beds with one flat pillow! Other facilities were fine, but tea/coffee would of been nice in room.
3 out of 5
by Gary from UK

Ideal location, but...

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and high speed Wi-Fi. Extensive breakfast choice.
Cons: Have a bar within the hotel. Improve the doors to the rooms to make it sound proofed. Have tea making facilities in the room. Mirror in bedroom.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room small, no tea making facilities and no bar in the hotel (only mini bar in room), if you want tea or coffee you have to go out. The bathroom had a glass swing to door that had a gap at either side, no privacy also the bathroom smell comes into the bedroom. There is a permanent drain smell in the bathroom that is not very pleasant. One small hook to hang your things up in the bathroom and that is at the end of the shower cubicle where it can get wet. The walk-in shower was good. The bedroom did not have any mirrors and just one chair. If you like hard beds and hard pillows you will like this hotel. There has been no attempt at any sound proofing and there was quite a bit of noise at night, but this was inside as we had a room at the back and we could not hear the traffic. The breakfast was fairly good. There is no resident lounge. No restaurant for evening meals, but many restaurants close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from England

Good Hotel, Great Location

Posted Feb 20, 2014
This hotel is situated opposite the Plaza Mayor right in the heart of Madrid. It is convenient for buses, including the ubiquitous London double decker tour bus. The rooms are modern and clean. The bathroom was great with an excellent shower. However, the sound proofing isn't great and we were woken by other guests opening and shutting doors. The staff were great and helpful, overall I would recommend this hotel.