Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel in the heart of Madrid.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel is one of the best features, the metro and the mid distance train is located in the near area (Puerta del Sol).
Cons: Bathroom shower need a door or curtain because you won't be able to use all the features of the shower without splashing water allover.
This is my second time in Madrid and with the high tech hotel. This time I choose the Posada del Peine , because is close to the historic Plaza Mayor. The room that I got was on the side street that is more quiet but it was a little crowded room it was more suitable for a bigger family with the extra twin bed that I did not need. In conclusion the hotel value is great because all the convenience specially the free wifi and other amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The hotel is in a perfect location if you want to be in the center of the action in Madrid. A lot of popular sites are within walking distance and there is a metro stop very close to it. The size of the room and bathroom was fine and exceeded our needs. The wifi signal was fine the whole time and there is a variety of television channels in different languages. We did not get the breakfast offered at the hotel because even at their discounted price we could find better breakfast food close by at a lower cost. The staff were alright. There seemed to always be someone behind the desk with some ability to speak English (our Spanish isn't great) and they provided helpful information regarding directions and using the metro. The location is great for nightlife and finding places to eat late - not great if you want to go to sleep early so bring earplugs if that's the case. One issue we had was that the mattresses are very hard and were not particularly comfortable. Also, our booking said that our room had a king-size bed and it was actually about the size of a double. I would recommend this hotel if you are in Madrid for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Firstly I would like to thank you for spending your time leaving your coments in Expedia. I am glad you liked our location and our free wifi, these are two of our strenghts. You are right about the breakfast, there are lot of options in the surroundings, but one of them with a free Buffet. About the matress, we use first brand matress (pikolin), but unfortunately we can not be for all likings. For the next time we can offer you a cover, over the matress, that will make it softer. Thanks again for your time, and for choosing us. Best regards, David Chía Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Iliana from Mexico

Excellent located

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds comfort
Location: It is near Plaza Mayor and others historic places. It is easy for walking tours.
Everything was in order. It is close of transportation, restaurants, interesting places, and fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Iliana, Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing us, and for spending your time filling up our survey. It is really important for us, as it helps us to improve our service. I am glad you liked our location, It is very good if you are planning to visit the city, as we are really close to lot of typical and historical places. It will be a pleasure to see you back in our Petit Palace Posada del Peine. Best regards, David Chía Front Desk Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Los Angeles

Great Location

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Add ventillation for the bathroom.
Location: Very close to shopping and souvenirs. Good restaurants in the plaza as well as EL Botin close by.
Great location - less than 1 block away from Plaza Mayor in Madrid. Very modern look inside.Staff was very helpful. However, rooms are very small and the privacy glass wall doesn't give much privacy. Quality of the buffet breakfast was not very good. Food was edible but for E12.00 better off to go to Plaza Mayor. When I made reservations with Expedia I requested breakfast to be included. When I got to the hotel, I found out it was not. Overall for the price and location this is a good choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Bill, Thank you very much for choosing us and for leaving your opinion at expedia. You are righy, our location is one of our strenghts, and allows our guest to visit the city just walking. We are changing some products and supliers for the breakfast, so we hope to improve the quality soon. Thanks again for yout time. Best regards, David Chia Front Desk Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location just behind Plaza Mayor

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Loved the location, Plaza del Sol just a few minutes walk from there, lots of places to eat and shop, 15 min walk from Prado along Huertas. Very nice ambience, renovated older building, but kept in very good condition. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the service was excellent. The breakfast was great, lots of variety (cereal, eggs, Spanish omelette, cold cuts, fresh fruit, yogurt, fabulous freshly squeezed orange juice), and open from 7:30 to 11:30. Only 1 or 2 people at the front desk could speak English, but those that couldn't were still very open to communication by other methods. We were in a room that faced a quieter side street, so we didn't hear any of the noise from Plaza Mayor, even when there were concerts going on Sat & Sun night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2014 by David, Hotel Management
Dear Sushi global, I would like to thank you for choosing us, and for spending your time filling up our survey. It is really important for us, as it helps us to improve our service. I agree with you, our location is great and we are a very good point to start a visit into this beautiful city. It is great that you liked our buffet, we are trying to improve it, and it looks like we are getting. It is also nice to read that you liked our building, It is the oldest hotel in spain, and it is open since 1610. It will be a pleasure to see you back in our Petit Palace Posada del Peine. Best regards, David Chía Front Desk Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Armando Balma from Petit posada del peine

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and value
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kirk from Chicago

Forgot Need for Bathroom Maintenance

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Returned to Madrid after Malaga for additional stay. Still love this hotel, but forgot to mention in first review that the bathroom was showing some wear. The grout in the shower needs cleaning/replacement and the wood counter top under the sink needs some re-finishing as well. We'll still return. Location, value, service, and family rooms outweigh the need for some bathroom maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kirk from Chicago

Best location in Madrid

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love the location and the service. Large rooms available for families. Good value too. Have returned multiple times.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Buzzdall from Danville, CA

Location A+, Hotel C-

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location near the entrance to Plaza Mayor is unbeatable and compensates for many of the shortcomings of this hotel. Room had low, slanted ceilings and limited window access, so not comfortable. Beds and fixtures were very average; except for shower fixture which was upgraded to top quality. Service from hotel staff was minimal. This is a very average hotel, but safe and great location for exploring all Madrid has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jennifer from Utah

Excellent Service!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had several requests of the front desk staff while we were staying with them. Christina was above and beyond accommodating!! She is wonderful at her job and our stay would not have been the same without her help! The location is great, but beware it is on a busy walkway that stays up late! If you want to get to sleep early, maybe not the best choice.