Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet area, opposite Retiro Park

Posted Jun 9, 2014
The front desk staff were terrific, very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful, albeit not very imaginative. Room / bathroom were fine. The hotel is a bit away from the centre of Madrid, although very close to the big museums, which is why we chose it. The location was quiet and great to have the big Park opposite but the possible down-side is there are few restaurants in the immediate area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chad from Phoenix

Tasteful Hotel in Madrid

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tiny room and hard bed, so basically status quo in Europe but a very cool modern shower. The bathroom has a funky glass door so if you feel you need privacy in the bathroom, this hotel is not for you. Ten minutes walk to the Prado Museum and a huge park across the street. Restaurants were 15 to 20 minutes walk away. If walking is not for you, this is probably not the best choice. This was not "right in the middle of everything" but it is a uniquely renovated old palace with friendly staff. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value and great location

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: I would give the rating of 4 1/2 stars. It's not the Ritz or Westin but definitely a great place to stay.
Cons: I liked the bed but four of my companions were used to tempurpedic foam mattresses and found the hotel mattresses to be a bit hard.
Location: I loved the location, it was just across the street from beautiful Retiro Park, close to the metro and near the Prado. There were 3 bikes available.
Eight of us stayed at the Petit Palace Alfonso in Madrid for 8 nights. We were there for a 1/2 marathon. The room was clean and stylish. It had a hi-tech theme. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.....most spoke english. The breakfast was incredible with a variety of juices, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, etc. They also had sparkling wine so you could make a mimosa. There was a laptop in every room and the decor was very high tech.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2014 by Maria, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks for your review! Since few years ago we are receiving so many participants of 1/2 marathon in Petit Palace Savoy Alfonso XII and they usually love our hotel! We are very happy you found us a good choice for a week stay and you liked our rooms and location. Best regards from the staff! MarĂ­a Santos Front Desk Manager alfonsoxii@petitpalace.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice room, annoying bed

Posted Apr 28, 2014
The hotel is in a great location right in front of the park and close to the museums - the centre is also easily walkable. The facilities are good, with its 4 stars fully deserved (not one of those 1980s feel hotels) and what you see in the picture is a good representation of what you get. Only downside for me was the two single beds placed side by side which created that incredibly annoying gap in the middle. Also not sure about the sink/hair dryer etc. being placed in the main room. The bathroom essentially only has the shower and the toilet - meant to be a stylish thing but didn't quite work for me. Overall a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Brisbane,Australia

Nice hotel close to Park

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Well presented, clean and helpful staff. Computer in room wonderful and free Wi-Fi. Comfortable bed and room, nice ambience.
Cons: Dining experience (breakfast and dinner) fairly ordinary.
Location: Prado Museum, nice part of city. Walking distance to most Madrid attractions
Modern refurbishment of old building, it is about 15-25 minutes walk from Central Madrid. Close to Prado Gallery (free after 6 pm). Reception staff helpful and friendly but check that you are in the type of room you booked. Room overlooking Park was great. Airport Bus stop 5 mins walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meredith

Good location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful and in a good location in Madrid near the Garden and the Prado.
Cons: The clerk at check-in was abrupt and seemed to have an attitude problem like we were annoying her or something when we asked routine questions like "w
Location: The hotel is beautiful and in a good location in Madrid near the Garden and the Prado.
The hotel is beautiful and in a good location in Madrid near the Garden and the Prado. The clerk at check-in was abrupt and seemed to have an attitude problem like we were annoying her or something when we asked routine questions like "what time is the Prado open until?" She asked us to please wait for her to be done checking us in before we asked her any questions. Bizarre. We enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the room itself. Very clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the room was stuffy due to the a/c being turned off. This is a shame as it gets very stuffy in the room with no ventilation. We had to open the window due as it got quite warm and there was noise outside at 4 AM due to the garbage being picked up with disturbed us. Turn on the ventilation system! This discomfort could have been prevented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NY

great modern hotel, close to museums

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay here. The hotel is sleek and modern inside, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient for getting to the museums, but we sometimes took the metro to get to the better nightlife areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat

Near the Park

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms were spacious. Great breakfast at reasonable price. Great location across from the park and five blocks from the Prado.
Cons: Hotel accommodations were unusual and on several floors but functional.
Location: Retiro Park was across the street. Restaurants and designer just a few blocks away. One major street away from museums. Good location..
Modern rooms near the park, Prado, shopping, and restaurants. Also only blocks from the train station. Great staff. Printed out tickets and helpful all around.
3 out of 5
by Kieran from London

High tech, Low spec

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Leaving. Joking, it's not that bad, but tough to find anything to sing about.
Cons: Redesign it, this time don't sacrifice functionality for style.
Location: It's a great location - within walking distance of most of Madrid's main attractions, we never used the tube.
This hotel is billed as a 'high tech' hotel. The design is very modern and there's lots of quirky elements and nice touches, like a laptop to use in the room. We would however have preferred a kettle in its place. The modern design is not high spec though - most of the fixtures and fittings are on the cheap side. It seems like the designers were constrained to demonstrate post-modernism on a budget. And it's not just the fixtures that are cheap - the breakfast is very poor, everything from the smoked salmon to the apply juice was disappointing, not worth 15 euros at all. All things considered, it's not a bad hotel, and if your an artzy type who's looking to experience something a little different, then you may well enjoy it. If you're like us however, and usually prefer a traditional hotel, where flashy design is not at the expense of functionality, then this is probably not the best place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Front desk- no help

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Front desk staff was unable to provide information on transfers to the airport; pretended that the advertised bikes free for guest use were always in use (but they were never on property so likely do not exist), had a bad attitude. We had a 'family room' which allowed 4 of us to stay together but the chic, modern decor means the bathroom door is glass so when someone uses it at night, it lights up the whole room. Location is great so that outweighed the other issues.