Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cam from Adelaide, Australia

Comfortable and great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
It's close to Plaza Mayor and the other popular city locations. The place itself had the charm of an older establishment, but very well looked after with modern amenities. I'd visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isa from Puerto Rico

I slept over the ruins of a wall

Posted Jun 15, 2014
They welcome you with a cocktail. It's very well located!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lauren Amelia from Milwaukee, WI

Trendy small hotel in interesting neighborhood

Posted May 21, 2014
Although changes in my travel plans resulted in an after-midnight arrival, the staff were friendly and available around-the-clock. They responded promptly (in English--unexpected bonus for me!) to e-mails to coordinate this and suggest directions. The room was attractive, clean, and comfortable. Great bedding. Nice toiletries. I wish I'd had more time to explore the neighborhood. Sadly, there was no food for this tired, late traveler; some bread and cheese or fruit--even the ubiquitous Spanish tortilla--would have gone a long way to make a more comfortable night .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Erica from Montreal

Gorgeous hotel with a perfect location

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: I loved that the hotel was built around an atrium. Every interaction with the staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: The bathroom could be separated a bit more from the rest of the room.
Location: The location couldn't be more perfect. There are tons of great bars and restaurants just meters from the hotel and many tourist sites are very close.
My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a week while we visited Madrid for our spring break. From day 1, we had a great experience. Even though we checked in at 10am, our room was already prepared and the lady working at the desk walked us to the door, telling us a bit of the hotel's history on the way. She was extremely friendly and spoke fantastic English (and didn't seem annoyed to be speaking English). The room itself was rather small, but that was to be expected from such an old building in Europe. The bathroom was not a completely separate room, but was behind a frosted glass wall, so it you seriously need privacy that could be a problem (we didn't mind though). The bathroom had extremely modern fixtures with a fabulous shower (great water pressure is sometimes hard to find in old buildings). All the rooms open directly onto the balcony of the atrium, which we found absolutely lovely. Not only do you feel very connected to the life of the downstairs restaurant, but if you need a bit of fresh air, you just have to open the door. The location of the hotel could not be better. Calle Cava Baja is one of the most lively streets in La Latina and you really get a feel for Old Madrid. I couldn't be happier with my stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Gerry from glasgow

Warm welcome and great location

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Ideal location, tapas bars right outside the front door and within a 15-20 min walk of most things we wanted to see.
Location: Most things. The staff where really helpful and marked a few cafés and areas to visit on a map
As we walked down a busy street packed with tapas bars, from the outside the hotel looks like a cool, contemporary bar. We went hesitantly inside to be greeted at reception by the manager who offered us a drink and mapped out places to visit and personal recommendations on a map. The room he showed us to was bright with an excellent shower and comfortable bed. Ideal for our couple of nights stay to see a bit of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

On busy tapas filled street

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Right inthe middle of La Latina, there are literally dozens of tapas/bars/clubs right outside your door. It was a great place to enjoy and be able to walk home. Very small rooms but nicely decorated. We were worried about noise in inner courtyard of hotel with bar below but it was fine). The street was busy and full of people so dropping off was a bit hectic (we parked about four blocks away in a public lot).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mark_s71 from London

Superb

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
A great hotel/ restaurant, right in the La Latina/ Opera area. Clean and stylish rooms, a fantastic vibe, lovely food, friendly staff. The only thing that would make this hotel better for me would be a gym, but that's a niggle. It's an well run, authentic gem. And at reasonable prices every time I'm in Madrid I'm probably coming back here...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

location great, loud though

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is trendy. However, if you get a front room it gets real noisy and makes it hard to sleep at night, get a back room. Esp if youre on vaca then its a downfall. The upside of it is the location, middle of the action.Att: Do not make any phone calls even if calling madrid, I was charged 45 euros for 5 calls. However four calls was for dialing incorrectly. Not cool. Overall, it was a nice stay. The balcony and easy access to tapas and atractions wasa plus. Theres a supermarket three blocks away super plus. Lockbox was provided, helps you assure your valuables(passport, money, ipad) are safe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josie from Oxford

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Location is incredible, right on one of the best tapas streets in Madrid, but the rooms were still remarkably quiet. Bed extremely comfortable!
Cons: Minor flaws- room smelt of smoke so ask for non smoking; single rooms are small (but not problematically so); air con not v strong. No major issues!
Location: Very near Plaza Mayor, the amazing Chocolateria de San Gines, the Mercado de San Miguel, and the oldest restaurant in the world!
Fantastic atmosphere, lovely design, friendly and helpful staff... And yummy sangria!