Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph from L

Nice hotel, easily accessible to tourist attractio

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Jorge at front desk is very helpful. We had a room on the first floor facing front, not much noise despite being on busy street. Bus in front of hotel takes u straight to Plaza Major. Atocha train/bus station about 10 min cab ride (7-10 euros) Luggage scale available in lobby at 1 euro a luggage. Toledo tour not reliable (take RENFE train instead from Atocha as it's a 25 minute ride instead of the 2 hour tour bus ride and RENFE is much cheaper).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2014
ok hotel breakfast buffet average slow in refilling
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ted from Syracuse, ny

good location near a large park

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: the stone entrance way was beautiful and the whole hotel was just amazing stone work.
Cons: need another mirror in the bathroom, better selection on the menu, someone who actually speaks english.
20 minutes from the air port and lots of taxi's to get you there. found that we were near a huge park right behind the hotel that we could walk for 6 k with water and play ground for kids. if you like to ride bikes, roller blade, jog, walk, stroll in the evening, its all there. only suggestion i would have is bring an extra mirror if you can. they don't have anything to use to look at the back of your head when you are getting ready to leave for the night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henk from South Africa

Reasonable hotel not far from Antocha station

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The room was clean
Cons: It is classified as 4 star, but is below expectation.
Location: Location is good, but nothing special nearby.
Breakfast is a bit of a stampede due to tour groups, so wait till after 09.00 if you can. The restaurant is a minus point, little choice and not well cooked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old hotel far away from the center

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: not much
we had to take a Taxi or walk a lot to get anywhere
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxtech from Dublin

Volume centric hotel, comfortable but noisy

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Price per night on the Expedia offer. Location - out from the City but short trip on Metro. Residential area - shops, bars, food places
Cons: Five months booking ahead - please give us the room we wanted when we arrive! Noise - kids tours and the lateness of running up the corridors
Location: Short time to the City on the Metro (10 mins) or bus 23 to Plaza Major (20 mins in traffic) Park along the river - great for a stroll Bars and food
Efficient and pleasant hotel staff used to dealing with volumes of people arriving from coach tours and kids camps. Room was a twin (not a double) despite being booked in January for a May arrival. Offered to change us to a double for the next night. Madrid is a late night city but the kids running up and down corridors at midnight is a bit hard to take after three!! Was an Expedia offer - so we got a good standard room and bathroom at a very competitive price - so we have no complaints at all. Location we found to be excellent - bus and Metro to the City very quick, tennis at the Caja Majica by bus 23 and Athletico Madrid Stadium close by. Residential area with lots of shops, bars, pastry shops - great for immersion in the Spanish way of doing things. Didn't eat in the hotel - too many options outside rather than a reflection on the hotel. Fantastic Park behind the hotel along the banks of the river - great for a stroll and for children's play areas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by stuart from bewbush. crawley

madrid tennis

Posted May 10, 2014
clean room although tv quality average. bathroom large with good size shower. polite and friendly staff. the location of this hotel was ideal with good access to most forms of public transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jane from Taunton

Review of the Santos Praga Hotel in Madrid

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: We liked the room (despite the view onto nearby flats) and the staff. The location was good, only a bus ride away from the city centre.
Cons: The breakfast was not particularly appetising, and we only ate in the hotel once in the morning. Clean towels smelt a little odd, a bit vinegary.
Location: The 23 bus leaves from outside the hotel and goes straight to Plaza Major, which is very convenient. There are plenty of cafes and shops nearby.
We arrived very late and very tired, and check-in was effected speedily and with courtesy. The room was a good size, clean and welcoming. I would say the bedside lighting was a little too dim, but the room was otherwise well lit. The bathroom was well appointed and equipped. The cleaning was carried out daily, by efficient and pleasant staff, and was never intrusive. Generally, the hotel is calm and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014
good location near the bus station and not far from the underground, room is good and the staff is pleasent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bayley from UK

Excellent value for good location

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great hotel,friendly helpful staff,worth paying for buffet breakfast-loads of choice! Close to lots bars,restaurants,shops,metro short walk,atletico stadium nearby and a fantastic park to wander along the river :-) bed a bit hard and view poor,but for price it's fab!