Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Nice hotel close la gran via and puerta del sol

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Excelent room 319, view over la gran via, free wifi in our room, early check in no extras or taxes
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by L.S from Nashville, TN

Great location in the heart of Spain

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Regente is located right in Gran Via - you could not ask for a better location! There are two metro stations easily accessible (like within a block on each side) plus its literally 10 steps from the main road where you will find taxis, buses, etc. The hotel lobby is nice but the rooms are a bit lacking. We had a standard room and it wasn't the nicest quality of sheets and towels. Plus its also very tight in the room and in the bathroom. The internet is not free and even if you pay for it - depending on your room location, you may not get it. For example, we were on the 10th floor and had access in the lobby and in our hallway, but the minute we entered the room it did not work. Oh and there was only 1 outlet in the room. Despite the small room (which you may not spend much time in there anyways) for the price and location this hotel was definitely worth it!
1 out of 5
by jp MILITARY GUY from military

Never again. Stay away from this place!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
I'm active duty military stationed in Spain. Took a trip with my buddy to Madrid for a two night stay at the regente. I have stayed in hotels, hostels, motels etc all around the world. This was far the worst both me and my friend agreed. Got a double room two beds. Very over priced for what we got. The room was about 20'x15' no way to control the temp in the room thermostat was prob broken that's why, had to use my shoes to prop the windowopen to clear the smell out and catch a breeze. The bathroom had paint and drywall chipping away just above the tub. The towels I believe are made of sand paper. The toilet at the bottom had rust stains in it. The door hindges were green from moisture. The tv was the size of a shoe box and the remote had NO batteries lol. The list goes on and on. Three friends randomly showed up just by chance same hotel. Guess what... they had a three room and same horror story. All we could do was laugh. Oh and the parking when I called they say you have to park in a garage there. Didnt know they meant public garage at 30euro a day. I asked about validating my parking they said yeah we give a discount. Ok yeah 2 euros off was the discount. Oh and yeah the staff wad rude like we were bothering them during our check in. Horrible experience. We all def felt like we got ripped off. One thing I will say its in a GREAT location. Next time I will just do better research. And yes I will be teLling everyone one base my horror story.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Regente

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The location was great, everything on your doorstep.
Cons: Staff can do with customer service training.
Location: Lots of lovely shops, resturants and lots of Police around so felt safe at all times.
I will only recommend the hotel in terms of location which was great, ease access to Metro, resturants and shops etc. I think the hotel staff could have been a little more friendly and welcoming, the room was disappointing as the bathroom door was jammed and unable to lock, and also the timming on the hair dryer was terrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

loud, hot, stinky, lacking internet mess

Posted Mar 3, 2014
the internet in the room did not work, the central heat would not shut off and opening the window was not possible above the major street. The room had horrible stinch of human waste. With no internet in room to help find a new hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 10, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Regente stay December 2013

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Very clean, attentive staff, and a great location.
Cons: The Wifi is terrible, didn't work with our smartphones or tablet (iPad). The provided computers also function poorly.
Was a nice room for the two of us, with a great location in town, but the room was tiny. There wasn't a place to put more that one suitcase, nor were there any drawers to put clothes into. So, things will get rather cluttered in the room in a hurry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by EEY from Sydney

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent location, off Gran Via which is Madrids main street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013