Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lima,peru

Neat rooms at room mate alicia

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Location location location - right on the corner of the Plaza Santa Ana, which is a good place to be- day or night.
Cons: I disliked is the large animated drawing of a woman walking nude. I am not a prude, but it just hit me wrong everytime I walked into the reception/
Location: Santa Ana has lots of outdoors cafes that serve great tapas.The museums- the Prado and others are a 10 min, walk as are the Plaza Mayor and puerta sol
We stayed first at a standard room. It was nice, albeit a bit bright with its yellow walls. the next time, we were able to upgrade to a suite, which was fantastic, with an outside terrace from which you could view the Plaza Santa Ana. I would go back to that one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Glasgow, Scotland

Excellent hotel, great location & helpful staff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Second visit to Madrid and Room Mate Alicia. The hotel is every bit as good as it was on our previous visit in 2007. The minimal/modern style of the hotel is exactly to my taste. The staff are extremely pleasant & helpful. The location is perfect. And we were particularly impressed with the mobile wi-fi device presented to us on arrival on this visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Si from London

Great location, right on the sq. Walking distance

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Really friendly, right on the sq. Gave good food recommendations for us. Loved out time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Liverpool

Comfortable, stylish hotel in the heart of Madrid.

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, staff.
Cons: Tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms.
Location: Right next to the theatre, lots of bars, restaurants and shops
Alicia is right at the heart of Madrid's nightlife on the corner of Plaza Santa Ana. Staff were very welcoming and helpful and the room was comfortable and well-equipped. Just step out of the door and dozens of eating and drinking options are infront of you. An excellent buffet breakfast is served on the ground floor in what becomes a sushi restaurant later in the day. Turn right and you can be at the Prado in about 10 minutes on foot or head straight up to Puerta del Sol for the Metro a similar distance away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally & Simon from Leeds, UK

Modern boutique hotel in an excellent location.

Posted May 6, 2014
We stayed at the Room Mate Alicia for 2 nights and I would definitely return. The hotel is situated in an excellent central location, just 5 minutes walk from the Sol Metro station on the edge of a bustling plaza full of bars and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and modern and the staff were extremely helpful. My only slight grumble was that our room was quite dark as it was facing directly onto another side of the building with very little natural light, however it was very quiet which was a bonus considering the location of the hotel. We caught a glimpse of the room next door which looked identical to ours but with light flooding in the large floor to ceiling window so you should probably request this if it's important to you. Breakfast was nice, nothing fancy but a decent selection of hot or continental food served in the lovely adjoining bar/restaurant. We didn't have a kettle in our room which would have been nice but there are plenty of places on the doorstep to get coffee! We are very pleased that we chose to stay at Room Mate Alicia and highly recommend it - thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Betty from Santa Rosa, CA

Fantastic Location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room Mate Alicia was perfect from the staff to the location. We were able to check in a little early after a long flight. The front desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful especially Itziar and Jose with our questions. I would stay at Alicia on any future visit to Madrid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by debbie and mark from USA

amazing location

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
we loved Room Mate Alicia! the rooms were spacious and very clean as well as being very chic! the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. the location was close to museums,shopping,bars,restaurants and nightlife! we would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Michael from Canada

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel based on the reviews and it far exceeded our expectations. My wife speaks 3 languages and was able to converse with the front desk staff easily in any one of them. It was a very pleasant stay and we will certainly return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stella from Canada

Centrally located; friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our family were in Madrid for a few days. This hotel was clean, central and the staff helpful and friendly. My father needed to be hospitalized overnight and Jose (the concierge) even sent his sister-in-law/ doctor who happened to be working at the same hospital to check up on my father!! Breakfast Buffet was included and although it was not at the hotel (they sent us to another hotel because they were renovating their breakfast area) the breakfast was superb! The spread was fabulous-- good selection of hot dishes and an assortment of fresh pastries and fruits. There were even 2 Nespresso machines for guests to use. Rooms are roomy and the windows blocked out the noise from outside. The hotel is so central it is located a stone's throw away from the Plaza which did get quite busy in the evenings. My only complaint was that we couldn't open the windows so it did get stuffy during the night. I thought the rooms were sound proof but my sister who was in another room and level did not think so. I guess there is only so much noise that can be blocked if you have a noisy neighbour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

v convenient hotel in tourist center of Madrid

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, functional and modern fittings within the rooms. Excellent cleaning staff.
Cons: See above. Ask guests making noisy love with windows open in the afternoon to either be quicker or quieter!
Location: Square outside offers convenient wining and dining facilities
Noisy banging of doors in corridors by other guests who were inconsiderate was unhelpful. Narrow width of shower room doors in room 207 would have been unacceptable to some large clients.