Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathleen

Great value - should not miss!

Posted Nov 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Would highly recommend Roommate Laura. Great location & very nice room. Add ons of breakfast & kitchenette are worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clive from England

A quiet central location - excellent value.

Posted Nov 2, 2012
Pros: Continental Breakfast buffet
Cons: Some floor to ceiling cupboard doors difficult to open due to flooring friction
Location: An excellent location in a quiet central square
Room Mate Laura offered excellent value for money during our short 3 night 'city break'. Hotel location is ideally located, within easy walking distance of all tourist venues. Having arrived quite late we were greeted with friendly and helpful reception staff who were quick to deal with registration etc without delay. The 'continental' breakfast help yourself buffet provided ample choice and quantity to get the day off to a good start. Our third floor room was spacious and well furnished, comfortable bed providing a sound night's sleep. Staff looking after rooms obviously took pride in there work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Umit from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Good experience

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: Helpful staff, location and sunny rooms.
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Very good location, close to all the highlights of the city.
Very good location. The staff were very accomodating and helpful.
2 out of 5
by Be from London, UK

Bizarre, not in a good way

Posted Oct 13, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Impersonal, lack of attention to detail, general wierdness
Location: Central for everything we wanted to do, nice places to eat nearby
On arrival we were roundly ignored. The offhand reception from staff in their 'little box' and total absence of eye contact were surprising and disconcerting. The first room we were offered was unacceptable. The bed/ raised sleeping area were directly over the hotel's entrance, and the noise and piped music from the foyer were clearly audible. The receptionist claimed we had been upgraded, which was not true as we had booked and pre-paid for a duplex room. They agreed to move us without making a big deal, which I appreciated. The room we ended up in had no carpet, just underlay! Extraordinary. Stains on the sofa and unwashed red wine stain on the rug, paint peeling off the bathroom tiles above the basin, chipped tiles in the shower. Most bizarre of all, a pair of mens' underpants were hanging off a ledge above the door. We could have complained, although I didn't have the feeling it would have been much use and the hotel was full anyway. Maybe we were just unlucky?? Overall, my impression is that the hotel had the feel of a student or backpacker hostel, and is therefore wildly overpriced at best. Had a great time in Madrid anyway, the weather and city were fab so we used the hotel just for sleeping in, not for hanging out. You live and learn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike D

Quirky but nice neighborhood hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
Conveniently in the center of Madrid, we were immediately pleased by the style of the lobby. The rooms are also not your run of the mill hotel style. All good! Enjoyed it so much that we changed another later booking to the Room Mate Oscar, hoping it's as good or better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very well pleased. Great location. Reasonable price. Only "complaint": needed better lighting for reading.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK but definitely not a wonderful experience

Posted Jul 5, 2012
After reading the reviews we thought we were in for a great stay. It was just for one night; The last night in our 3 week euro trip before we caught our roundtrip flight out of Madrid the next morning. Honestly, we were very disappointed. The hotel was clean, but just ok. Definitely not a great place. The tv was tiny and with the volume up full blast we could barely hear it. I ordered a sandwich from room service and was annoyed to hear I had to go down to the front desk and pick it up (because that would not technically be "room service"). When I did, I was very angered when I received a boxed sandwich that was of gas station quality. We later ended up going down to a local convenience store which sold the same sandwiches for about half the price. The place is near a metro station but the area is a bit odd and not very central. Our previous stay in Madrid (for the earlier leg of our trip) was actually in a hostel. It was located at the center of the city and was honestly a much much better stay than this place. It was about half the cost and had comparable rooms (we got a private) with better service and atmosphere (Way hostel for those of you interested). We thought we were treating ourselves for our last night in Europe but were woefully mistaken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frank from Honolulu

Roommate Laura review

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: None
Location: Great, convenient
The location was excellent, it was close to the metro and all the major sights. Breakfast was not bad, we enjoyed the easy-to-use espresso machine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
Well-located--on a quiet street yet within walking distance of the Plaza Mayor and the Puerta del Sol. The staff was friendly and helpful.