Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Great location

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Can't beat the location. Walking distance to many important landmarks. Unfortunately, this is an old building. Bathroom fixtures were falling off and the beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

Central location, near Metro but easier to walk

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Central, easy walk to Royal Palace, Prada del Sol, Plaza de Mayor.
Location superb! Staff very helpful and efficient. Although the hotel is a little tired, will not detract from the delight of staying here. Other guest could be noisy with closing of the fire doors, however the room was spacious. Housekeeping were efficient and polite. Overall,I liked this hotel and it's staff. I look forward to my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Springs, CA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Large, comfortable rooms in a 19th century palace near the Opera House. Incredibly friendly front desk staff and exceptional breakfast buffet. This hotel has lots of old world charm and offers exceptional value. Yes, some of the common areas need a little sprucing up, but the room was imacculately clean. Loved this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Centraly layed Hotel in Madrid

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Very clean. Centraly layed still quiet. Stuff frendly and helpful.
Cons: To renew furniture and carpets, to change every second day the breackfast menu.
The best thing about this Hotel is its place, very central and still in a quiet small street. Each one of the stuff is helpful and friendly, very nice people. The breackfast is o.k. but every day exactly the same, as we stayed in the hotel during 9 nights we got fed up with the same repeated menu. Still, the fresh fruits and the freshly squized juices should be mentioned. Our room, no.633 was big and comfortable, unlike hotel rooms in big cities. The furniture and carpets are old fashioned and worn out, as for a 4 stars hotel, one expects it to be new and more up to date. The room and everything around is very clean. To sum up, if we return to Madrid one day, we go to that same Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

good city centre hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The Location, rooms high standard of cleanliness, traditional feel to the hotel and staff friendly
Location: Close to the Royal palace, theatres, shops restaurants, short walk to Plaza Mayor
We stayed for 3 nights, hotel staff were welcoming on arrival. We were pleased with the location of the hotel for our city break, near to the Royal Palace and close to the bus stop for the open top tourist bus making it easy to get around the city. Breakfast at the hotel was good value for money, the hotel staff were happy to arrange a taxi to the airport for us and also kept our bags in a secure room, after we checked out, for free which was most helpful. I would recommend the hotel to friends and I would happily visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Average hotel with good location.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Faster service at reception, not enough staff at busy times.
Location: Close to the Real Palace and the Opera House.
We were happy with our room on the fourth floor, spacious and comfortable. We didn't eat there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Friendly hotel in the centre of Madrid

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff were excellent. The location was really good.
We had a very pleasant overnight stay in the summer - the staff were very helpful, the room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. The location is great for anyone wanting to see the historic centre of Madrid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santiago, Chile

Nice Hotel downtown Madrid

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Room which are spacious and well maintained and the staff was helpful and efficient.
Location: See note above
The hotel is very well located in the heart of downtown Madrid and therefore close to most of the landmarks of the city (Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Plaza Callao, Gran Via and museums). It located in a quiet area away from the noise of the major streets. Breakfast is fantastic and the hotel has a tapa bar open all day and up to midnight which. One of the days during our stay it rained very hard so we stayed at the hotel and enjoyed a great food and wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Family run friendly small hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Make sure yiour taxi driver knows how to find this hotel in an older building on a narroiw one-way street close to he the Opera. Family-run friendly help and hospitality make staying there a pleasure. Central location mean you can walk everyewhere of interest in and around the old city. Hundreds of great eateries and tapas places in close proximity.Furnishings and decor a bit tired and bathroom facilities more 3 than 4 star, but clean and functional. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Germany

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Too many to list here-- could not have asked for better
Close locations to many great sights and shopping in Madrid