Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Murray from Alberta, Canada

This older hotel has class.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The desk staff were EXCELLENT, some spoke English and all were pleasant and helpfull. The woman from housekeeping (sorry no name) was an absolute joy.
Cons: The WiFi was not very good for communication back home
Location: Tour the Gran Via it has everything, and take the tourist bus tour, don't miss the Prada Art gallery
The hotel is right on the Gran Via. there are lots of shops and bistros for food and drinks, so don't buy the breakfast. The metro and bus stations are 1 block away (the best way to get around).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fred from uk

excellent location, very comfortable

Posted Mar 6, 2014
very pleased after our short break to Madrid, hotel is right in the centre and near a metro station. hotel rooms were clean and comfortable although parts of the hotel could do with a little updating. that said we didn't have any problems and we were also allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out as our flight was in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Great location, full brakfast, cosy room, helpful staff !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Fairly central. Clean bathroom. Ok for the price.
Cons: The air conditioning was quite noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Cons: room size could be a little bigger
Very good location, room was small but cozy, fine for one person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juan from Miami

Central hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2013
This is a central and nice hotel, the only problem is the wifi, what not works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trish & Graham from Manchester, England

Tryp Hotel Washington, Madrid

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Size of our room (No. 809). Cleanliness. Very helpful staff. Buffet breakfast. In a very good position for sightseeing.
Cons: Unfortunately the airconditioning was not on and the room did become quite hot during the night.
Location: Good site for sightseeing. Metro Station very handy. We travelled from the airport to the hotel by the Metro. Very good.
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of November. We were very pleased with this Hotel. Our room (No. 809) was a twin bedded room and of a larger size than normal. It was at the front of the Hotel and could have been very noisy, but there was double glazing that stopped the noise (except for the Ambulances and Police Cars going by with their sirons on. The Buffet Breakfast was excellent, with all types of cold meats, cheese, fruit pastries and toast making facilities. As well as this, there was hot scrambled eggs, beans, bacon and sausages. In fact, there was something for everyone. Quite impressed. Would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by catherine from ireland

close to centre

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
initial sight of the outside of hotel worried me. The reception didnt bear any resemblance to the opulent one in picture. But the offer of half price breakfast and the refurbished rooms made up for it. Good value for great location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joe from Ontario, Canada

Great Gran Via location in Madrid.

Posted Oct 25, 2013
Pros: Good breakfast buffet upped the value here from good to quite good.
Cons: Building interior getting pretty old, needs some work, but more in main areas and halls than in actual rooms. Bathrooms better quality than main room.
Location: Great launching pad for a very large city. 10 mins puts you in puerta del sol, physical center of city,15 puts you in Plaza Mayor, other main plaza.
Excellent location to explore old town and also Gran Via area land marks. Hotel meets all basics, but looking a little dated and tired. Price was good, staff OK.