Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Expand cafe menus and evaluate cafe staff courtesy from time to time.
Hotel was comfortable and clean if I stay there again I would bring my own bath soap. Liquid soap in packets and no wash cloths doesn't work for me. The front desk staff for the most part was pleasant however there were a couple of staff members that always seemed annoyed when questions were asked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juan

Clean, well-located, and inexpensive

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Clean and inexpensive rooms, close to metro, trains, buses.
Cons: When hiring new hotel staff, I would suggest staff who are professionally trained, more friendly and helpful.
A reliably hotel situated very close to metro, train, bus station. Hotel staff can be less than inviting by US standards. The attached cafeteria staff can be downright unpleasant by any standard (I say this as a Spanish-speaker with years of experience living and traveling in Spain).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Nice view of the river from room at the back of the hotel
Cons: Hotel is rather dated and a little run down. Tea/coffee makers in room would be good. Bathroom basin cracked from obviously a weight dropped in it.
Location: Excellent location opposite Principe Pio station making it easy to get anywhere and walkable to Palace and Cathedral. Main reason for staying here.
Had a great time in Madrid. This hotel is in the perfect location to get around easily by Metro which being used to the London Tube was very easy to follow. A trip to Toledo was lovely. We found it best to go by bus as it was impossible to book the fast train. The bus took less than an hour anyway and ran till late. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast fine. A few things made it more a 3 1/2* than a 4*. Tea/coffee machines in the bedrooms would be good. The bathroom was rather dated - the toilet cistern had to be fiddled with to make it stop running! and the basin had obviously had something heavy dropped in it as it had some hairline cracks. The only other thing I would mention is that the Reception staff had slightly less command of English than I would expect in a 4* hotel. However the above problems were all minor and would not stop us staying at this hotel again. It was an adequate hotel in an excellent location.
3 out of 5
by Sloopjohnb from Reading, UK

Conveniently Situated but not the quiestest hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Clean, bedding changed every day.
Cons: The room fittings need to be updated.
Location: Principe Pio is close to the royal palace, and has excellent transport links to the centre of the city, and to the airport and Real Madrid stadium.
I booked this hotel because I thought it would be a bit quieter than those in the city centre. The hotel is next to a major sation (Principe Pio) and this is very advantageous for travelling. However, the rooms are old-fashioned, with many out of date fixtures, and the walls are very thin. If you are unlucky enough to have American jet laggers next door, you won't get a good night's sleep! The room was clean, and the staff were helpful .There were a number of annoyances. For example, although there was a safe deposit box in the room, it was key operated, and I had to pay for the key. So I was being charged for keeping my valuables safe from the staff. Also, the fittings in the bathroom were old and in need of an update. For me, peace and quiet is a must, and this hotel did not have that feel, it was constantly busy and noisy. Not for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Catalina from Costa Rica

Perfect location

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed in total 11 nights at this hotel. I have to say that it has the greatest location of any hotel I´ve ever been. It´s in front (literaly) of Principe Pio station, where you can take the direct metro or train to the airport, Atocha and Bus staions. You´re also walking distance from every tourist attraction in Madrid and in the close neighbourhood there are all kinds of bars and restaurants. It´s also a very safe area, I had to walk around at late hours and it always felt safe. You have to consider that it is an old hotel, but the beds, pillows and bathroom are very confortable. I wouldn´t recomend you to eat in the hotel, since the dining area is always crazy with hundreds of people (it takes big groups of YOUNG tourists) and because of this food quality and eating environment is not the best.
2 out of 5
by Mac from London

Unfortunately, too noisy...

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Not sure what you could suggest about the noise.
The hotel has a great location, the room was clean and the staff helpful enough. However, the noise each night was dreadful. The hotel is popular with Spanish and Italian school tours, on the first night we had a large group of children checking in at midnight. The noise was awful and we eventually had to change rooms (twice). The second night we had people coming and going along corridors throughout the night; doors banging and TVs on. I read the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to take a risk but wish I hadn't. I really couldn't recommend this hotel, it's on par to a hostel rather than a hotel.
1 out of 5
by Traveller

Posted Nov 2, 2013
It misrepresented itself as a 4 star hotel when in fact it is 3 star tops. It did not have wifi, which is a must in a 4 star hotel. Rooms were tired and old. Also location what outside the city center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Mr Martino from England, UK

Great value hotel. Great area off center.

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff. Prices represented excellent value for money.
Cons: Not very central location.
Location: Great for coach groups. Not very central by foot. Good bus and Metro services outside main door.
A very out of date style hotel. The lobby with all the dark green was more suited to a museum. The bathroom worked fine, it did everything it should do. But the fittings and colour scheme was so out of date. The hotel is overdue a complete refurbishment to bring it up to modern expectations. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a very good location, but was not central for tourists on foot. As the hotel had lots of groups; it must have been very good for them. I know we live in a commercial world. Bottom line, the hotel was very good value for the price paid. Refurbishments dont come cheap, so if they were to refurbish, I am sure they would also have new more expensive looking prices. I would not complain about the stay at the hotel.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Canada

Needs a Major Rehab

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: Some of the staff tried to be helpful, some ot so much!
Cons: Location, general condition. Uncomfortable beds. Does not have a refrigerator. Extra charge for safe. No self serve laundry inspite of saying so!
This hotel is way past its prime. It is very old. The bathroom fixtures were pink to give you a jist. I think the hotel did an admirable job of cleaning but it just is not possible with what they had to work with. The location is not ideal. While it is not too far from the Royal Palace, but a difficult walk it is far where a tourist would want to be. The WiFi was inadequate and would not hold a signal. They take school tours here and it can get very noisey!
2 out of 5
by MG from Valencia, Province of Valencia, Spain

Expedia scam

Posted Nov 6, 2012
Pros: The GTs they served in the cafeteria next to the hotel
Cons: The room
Location: the location is a little off ...but OK
Expedia has a concept where they promise you a super price on a nice hotel. The price we paid for this hotel was not super ..but superior to Expedias competitors and the hotel was overall a big disapointment. Madrid is a wonderful city but this hotel reminds you of the Franco era and it really needs a thorough update. This is not way near a 4 star hotel! And I guess Expedia should now that ...and not scam its regular customers with something like this.