Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: Metro, Prado Museum, Botanical Gardens
The room was very basic, but was just fine for a short stay as a backpacker. The location was fantastic, being near to several big attractions as well as the metro station. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Chicago, IL, USA

Great for proximity to train station!

Posted Apr 11, 2013
We stayed only for one night on our way to Seville during the first half of our trip to Spain. We chose the hotel for the proximity to the train statin which made it very convenient and less stressful in the morning when we needed to catch out train. We arrived late Thursday night and left Friday morning, but after nearly 24 hours of traveling, the room provided us with everything we needed. It was small and we had a room facing the street so the noise levels were pretty high. The room was clean but the building itself could use some renovation (I.e. Toilet paper holder was coming out of the wall). The staff was friendly and courteous. I would reccommend this hotel to low maintenance travelers looking for convinience to the train station. Overall it met our needs and expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by meiga from Philadelphia, PA

Chic but not-so-basic

Posted Jan 8, 2012
Pros: simple decor, but everything you need is there
Cons: noise (heavy traffic street); walls need a fresh coat of paint
Location: central
As its name suggests, Chic and Basic, is chic and basic-- though not so basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wheeling, WV

Perfect Stay - Chic, yes; but better than Basic

Posted Jun 2, 2010
The hotel is well located near museums, nightlife, the subway and train systems. The staff was fabulous, even helping us to make reservations. We had a room near the elevator, with double 'doors' we could open to a 'courtyard' for fresh air. The room was small, comfortable and immaculate - plenty of space for two people looking to enjoy the city. Internet access and coffee to enjoy in the lobby; never made it to the terrace. We would definitely do this again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

What a lovely find!

Posted Jun 1, 2010
We loved staying in Chic and Basic. There was free computers in reception, a simple but quality breakfast was left outside your room each morning, there was free tea and coffee (good quality tea and coffee at that) in reception. It was well located for the art galleries and for access to Atocha train station and the underground. The staff were friendly and helpful. We paid for a slightly bigger room and found it was very spacious. Furniture was simple but functional. If we were looking for a negative the plunbing was a little noisy but no worse than many other hotels. We had a courtyard room so there was no problem with street noise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
Our second visit. Just what the name says - no frills but everything you need for a city visit. Well designed minimalist rooms, good bed, excellent shower, wi-fi throughout + free internet (and coffee/tea) in Reception. Impeccably clean. Read the hotel description and you will get precisely what it says. One note of caution - there is no door between the toilet/shower area and the bedroom area, only a fabric screen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Asheville,NC

Great location

Posted Apr 22, 2010
Couldn't beat the location. A short walk from the Atocha train station. A short walk to the Prado. The hotel had everything we needed - a comfortable room, internet access, very helpful staff (who spoke excellent English), coffee/tea in the lobby all the time, nice little terrace on the top floor. We were originally assigned a room on the first floor, which would have been very noisy (it's on a busy street). The check-in person was very accommodating and gave us a choice of other rooms available. Only complaints are that the room could have used a more thorough cleaning (walls were a bit grubby) and some of the lamps didn't work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX

Chic and Basic, Atocha, Madrid

Posted Feb 5, 2010 on Hotels.com
This little hotel was a true gem. It's located near all major Madrid sites, particularly the Prada. Also, it's close to the Metro (two stops) and easily accessible if you want to take the Metro from the airport; the train station is also a few blocks away. While the room was small, they make the most of the space. It is basic, but also chic, as the name implies. Everything was spotless. The staff were helpful, with hotel issues as well as recommendations, directions etc. Some nice little amenities are: free wifi (you need to know to ask for a hotel password; that info was not offered), free hotel computers in the lobby (2); a nice lobby coffeemaker that does all kinds of espressos, cafe con leche, cappuccino, etc which is available 24 hrs per day. We enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it as a very good place to stay if you are looking for a place to sleep and spend most of your day sightseeing and touring. Also, we discovered that it is a chain, so will look for it in other cities.