Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location and wonderful staff

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was wondeful! Although minimal furniture it certainly was great for the price! Loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alex from London

Bright clean rooms, very friendly and helpful

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were super lovely, i had 2 balconies in my room, the shower was good and strong with plenty of hot water. There was a free coffee machine in the lobby and the location was close to everything I really wanted to see. I can highly recommend this hotel :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J. from USA

Location, location, location ...

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel moto is "chic and simple.". They are both. The accommodations are simple, but comfortable. Just a couple of blocks from the train station and the airport bus. And in the middle of Madrid. The terrace is a plus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 5, 2014
Location: Metro, Prado Museum, Botanical Gardens
The room was very basic, but was just fine for a short stay as a backpacker. The location was fantastic, being near to several big attractions as well as the metro station. Would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by silviacasi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Chicago, IL, USA

Great for proximity to train station!

Posted Apr 11, 2013
We stayed only for one night on our way to Seville during the first half of our trip to Spain. We chose the hotel for the proximity to the train statin which made it very convenient and less stressful in the morning when we needed to catch out train. We arrived late Thursday night and left Friday morning, but after nearly 24 hours of traveling, the room provided us with everything we needed. It was small and we had a room facing the street so the noise levels were pretty high. The room was clean but the building itself could use some renovation (I.e. Toilet paper holder was coming out of the wall). The staff was friendly and courteous. I would reccommend this hotel to low maintenance travelers looking for convinience to the train station. Overall it met our needs and expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by meiga from Philadelphia, PA

Chic but not-so-basic

Posted Jan 8, 2012
Pros: simple decor, but everything you need is there
Cons: noise (heavy traffic street); walls need a fresh coat of paint
Location: central
As its name suggests, Chic and Basic, is chic and basic-- though not so basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wheeling, WV

Perfect Stay - Chic, yes; but better than Basic

Posted Jun 2, 2010
The hotel is well located near museums, nightlife, the subway and train systems. The staff was fabulous, even helping us to make reservations. We had a room near the elevator, with double 'doors' we could open to a 'courtyard' for fresh air. The room was small, comfortable and immaculate - plenty of space for two people looking to enjoy the city. Internet access and coffee to enjoy in the lobby; never made it to the terrace. We would definitely do this again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

What a lovely find!

Posted Jun 1, 2010
We loved staying in Chic and Basic. There was free computers in reception, a simple but quality breakfast was left outside your room each morning, there was free tea and coffee (good quality tea and coffee at that) in reception. It was well located for the art galleries and for access to Atocha train station and the underground. The staff were friendly and helpful. We paid for a slightly bigger room and found it was very spacious. Furniture was simple but functional. If we were looking for a negative the plunbing was a little noisy but no worse than many other hotels. We had a courtyard room so there was no problem with street noise.