Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Traditional hotel with character

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The character, helpful staff and a very good breakfast service.
Cons: Quality of the standard bedrooms
Location: Conveniently situated for the Retiro Park and Prado Museum
based on a 5* rating - the quality of the bedroom was disappointing; it smelled of cigarette smoke and was in need of redecorating. As a consequence we had to pay a further eu33 per night to upgrade to a superior room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor, UK

Great hotel in the beautiful Salamanca district

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Had a wonder ful stay in the hotel Wellington. Starting with the reception and entrance hall, all feels very luxurious, clean and staff is very helpful. We discovered as a bonus to have access to the Wellington Suite on the 7th floor which offered a relaxed seating area inside and seating outside on the rooftop garden with free non-alcoholic drinks and snacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Caracas

Excellent hotel and staff

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Its staff, location and rooms
Cons: Trying to keep it up
Location: The location was specially good for us
The room was confortable and clean. But the staff of the hotel is outstanding
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: everything!
- the check in is from 1pm. Arriving on a Sunday at 3.15pm, we have been told that it was because we booked the wellington club (with access to the executive lounge) that the room wasn't ready yet as clients from these rooms are always late for checkout, and will not be until 4pm...sorry guys for upgrading the room :-) ; - for the delay..he "offered" us to go and wait in the executive lounge (already included in the room)....thanks for the commercial gesture ...! ; - 27 degrees and the outdoor pool is closed and it was obviously not mentioned anywhere; I would have opted for the urban hotel if i knew; - after all these disappointments, we decided to go to the spa to relax, but here again, totally misleading information on the main website and all the leaflets, they forgot to mention that it was 24.20 Eur per person (still looking for this information to be written somewhere), even though we have booked the club room, asked for it at the reception (they probably forgot that too) , were disappointed and not getting any apologize for it.., and last but not least, was not mentioned anywhere; i would have gone to the urso hotel if i knew... You better be lucky if you want to give it a try!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida, USA

Excelent Hotel.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
An excellent traditional hotel, at a perfect location. Well trained personnel. Updated rooms. Wi Fi service included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore MD

Elegant hotel near shopping.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: The hotel provided all of the comforts one could want.
Cons: Just remember to bring an electric converter plug if you bring anything that needs to be plugged in. Some of the hair dryers need to be upgraded.
Location: Hotel has a gym, spa & coffee shop. There are nearby sidewalk cafes, and the Plaza Indepencia and Prada are within walking distance.
We wanted a classic, upscale hotel near to the city, with easy access to shopping, museums, and sidewalk cafes. My room was pool-side, which provided a quiet night's sleep and a terrace for a morning coffee and croisant. My traveling companion used the gym facilities several times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
There were 2 women at the front desk that did not know that the tour to Toledo could be taken in the afternoon. I needed to call the tour office myself.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Stay with a toddler

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay here. Our flight came in quite early and we had a room ready immediately with a crib for our son. The hotel went above and beyond with attention and service to our every need. Our son had an amazing time, and really enjoyed all the extra attention from the overly kind and warm staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by evbfrom nyc

Close to El Prado, the park, shopping and metro

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice room, great pool although I had problem with wifi which they did everything in their power to fix. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall a great hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Service at the pool/pool bar could be much faster. We waited over 30 minutes to be served one round of drinks! Hotel location is nice; a few metro stops to the centre of everything (Plaza del Sol) or a 20-30 minute walk which was nice. Would stay again but only if less expensive.