Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London UK

Overpriced for what it is.

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Ok. Nice location and ambiance. I feel it is overpriced
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideaal hotel aan de rand van de stad

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Typisch koloniale hotel met ruime kamers. Klassiek Indisch ontbijt met aparte koks voor eierengerechten en Indische dosha's of pannenkoeken.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inconsistent Service

Posted Dec 6, 2014
I stayed at this hotel two separate times - the first stay a week ahead of the second stay. First stay of two nights had been booked direct. Second stay of one night booked on Expedia. Vast difference between the two stays for the room and for the quality of service. Lovely place, but the room is better when booked directly with hotel. Deluxe option is better than standard option but both are good. Restaurant staff are inconsistent on service, but they also work extremly long days! Food is good. Drinks are expensive. Property is wonderful! An oasis away from the city hustle. A pleasure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bangalore

nice hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: very friendly staff
Cons: Food, both menu and taste
Location: Location is very nice
good ambience, lovely hotel..good staff. there were pretty peacocks around, location and rooms are very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice stay in a grand hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
my wife and i enjoyed two wonderful days at the Gateway touring Madurai; our room was comfortable (and enormous) with seating for 4 on the porch, a king bed, couch, desk, table, and large bathroom; the restaurant was quite good, though we found the a la carte dinner and lunch items to be better than those on the buffet; our tuk tuk driver, Pandy (aka "007"), arranged by the front desk, twice took us to the main temple in town (about 15-20 mins.) and waited several hours to take us back to the hotel; he was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Delhi

Lovely Colonial Building

Posted Oct 13, 2014
INteresting place well maintained. You can see peacocks all around dancing. Good pool and TT and gaming options. Kids loved the food and ambience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JAGANNATH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by pkmcalfrom Kolkata

Good Ambience but that's it.

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The arrival at Hotel was pleasant with Dancing Peacocks in view. The check in was messy. The room # 33 is as large as a small hall on ground floor. But room did not had any toiletries or sleepers except washing soap and shampoo and had a stinking smell as found in old unmaintained hotels. There was a big spider roaming around in room and made sleeping difficult. There is not much to write about except the hotel is located on a small hill with beautiful view of city and surroundings with lots of birds all around. It is not value for money you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cochin

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Es ist ein sehr charmantes Hotel mit kolonialer Atmosphäre. Wir haben uns sehr wohlgefühlt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore, Sembawang

Beautiful greenery park stay away from city

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Cons: Provide daily shuttle to city and temples with a Tour Desk
Hotel is away from city pollution and yet close drive to city . There is even a temple in the hotel premise. A real true Temple City. The sound from the temples gives excellent ambience . Will never stay anywhere else in Madurai the next time. Peacocks everywhere. What a sight. The Indian oil massage is the best experience . Food is great and service is excellent.