Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Great honeymoon location. The food at the hotel is a bit pricey but loved the buffet breakfast! Make sure you try some of the restaurants on the island and make a trip to the super market to grab some snacks or things to make lunch. Stayed 5 nights/6 days and only spent about $740 in food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fair Oaks, CA

Time of our lives

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Just returned from our amazing vacation. Everything about our water bungalow was spectacular. The bed was super comfy and soft. Shower was perfect. Water pressure was great with a huge showerhead. Frd the fishes day and night from our deck.Most beautiful view ever. Most definitely an experienced of a lifetime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

The most beautiful location

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Moorea is a stunning island but 30 minutes ferry from tahiti. We were actually looking for a hotel close to the airport in order to stay over before joining our cruise. It is close to the airport but you need a ferry to get there. The Expedia search engine doesn't make that distinction. However it was worth it. The hotel is very nice, we had a bungalow over the water. If I have a complaint it would be that the service is slow. But then that's true on all of FP and not limited to this hotel. Apart from that they couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. We arrived very early around 7.30am. We phoned ahead and booked a day room which allowed us to enjoy an extra day effectively.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Didier, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for your "day trip" in Moorea, you could enjoy the most beautiful beach of the island in a magnifique resort. we are working hard to maintain the good speed regularity for all our services at any time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Restaurant menus; Rooms; overwater bungalow;
Cons: Shuttle from Airport/Ferry; movie rentals (especially for English); varieties in the tours/excursions
We had a good time at the resort. We really enjoyed the performances at the Pure each night for dinner. The daily dinner menu's with changing themes is a plus. We would recommend movies to rent as a nice item to have, especially since most of the TV was in French. This would have been nice during the rainy season when we went since we were inside our rooms. However, the lagoon was always warm enough to go in, even when raining so it was not like we were bored when it was raining. Overall, my wife and I had an excellent experience for our Anniversary/Honeymoon trip despite it being the rainy season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Didier, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing us for your "So special event" All my "ambassadors" and myself are proud to make each of our guest feeling unique and happy! Thank you for your "so magnifique comments"!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom AR

Bug city and bad service

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: the room was ok
Cons: The food service
Location: close to the airport and ferry but not walking distance close.
The location is close to the airport and the ferry. It does have probably the best beach of any of the hotels on Moorea. The room was clean and well kept. The reception was ok but not as expected. We had just stayed at Bora Bora and this was a let down after that. The food service was the worst thing about the place. The food was ok but you could't get waited on and they got nothing right you ordered.. and the bugs were awful. We had to put bug spray on just to eat dinner and so did everyone else we saw eating. It is not walking distance to anything we rented a car and glad we did or it would of been pretty boring there. It is in a lagoon and the water is not as pretty. We wouldn't stay their again. I think next time we will just stay our whole trip at Bora Bora.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2015 by Didier, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and that is true that december and beginning of january was not easy to keep all our standards as many of our well trained "ambassadors" were sick due to the Chikungunia. This has affected the regularity of some of our quality standards. All my team and myself are really sorry about this situation you had to face when you were with us. As you know all our "Ambassadors" are proud to deliver the best quality service and to share their smile and culture with all of our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcfrom California

Comfort and Class in Moorea

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in an over-water bungalow for one night before returning to Tahiti. The room was very nice and comfortable. It easily slept 3 of us. We snorkeled right off the deck and there was much to see. We dined at the restaurant which has a great view. We enjoyed the show more than the food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by didier, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, We thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Ia Ora and for the time you took to leave your comments. We are happy that your experience meet your expectations. Hope to welcome you soon in our Sofitel resorts. Kind regards,
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tonyfrom Markham

Don't stay at Sofitel La Ora Beach, Moorea....

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely place, weather and resort was very nice. Service was horrible. Wrong food was brought to our table, some didn't get what they ordered, my meal was the size of an appetizer and it cost $45! Chef did not price menu according to type of food. 2 strips of eggplant cost the same as a lamb dinner! I was eating bread & butter because the dinner portion was so tiny. We asked to speak to a Manager but Managers are no where to be found on this resort. No consistency with service. Some of us ordered the same breakfast (continental) but we all got different foods delivered to the table. Some got a fruit platter, some didn't, some got a yogurt, others didn't (and we were all sitting at the same table!) Very disappointing stay at Sofitel La Ora Beach, Moorea. Will definitely return to Moorea but never to Sofitel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by didier, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for staying at the Sofitel Ia Ora and for the time you took to leave your comments. We are most concerned with you rcomments as what they relate is not reflecting the level of service and food most guests enjoy. We do receive a large amount of praises and we can only apologize we did not meet your expectations. Please believe that this infortunate experience is extraordinatry and we have already forwarded your feed back to the relevant Heads of Departments so that actions are taken accordingly. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Nice hotel not so good food service.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The location and the property.
Cons: Management should learn how to manage because staff was friendly but seem to not know very much, we felt invisible at times. Both concierges excellent
Location: Enjoy the property, it's beautiful
Spent four days here, beautiful property could not ask for better, rooms were amazing unfortunately we found ourselves having to eat off property all the time, even breakfast we never knew what they considered what a continental breakfast was. Lack of management made things worse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2014 by didier, Hotel Management
Dear sir, Thank you for taking the Time to Tell us about your experience at the Sofitel. I am sorry that this one did ont met your expectations; Pleae allow me to express our sincerest apologies. Kid regard,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Victor Mfrom Toronto, Ontario

Paradise with room for improvement

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel, rooms, beach, surroundings were absolutely amazing. Unfortunately the hotel appears to be going through a transition in management which resulted in a total disconnect between employees/communication (i.e. one front desk employee happily provided WI-FI password and minutes later another advised someone else that server was being changed and would be back up in the evening; different members of our group received different answers to the same questions; employees did not know where planned activities were taking place; dinner orders were all mixed up resulting in some of our group waiting for their meals to be prepared after everyone else had been served; desserts were delivered to wrong people, taken back and not delivered to right person; entree sizes were inconsistent, quality was average to good and not reflective of the price). When the dining issues were brought to the attention of the staff, an appropriate bill adjustment was made for everyone in the group, which was appreciated. Other very nice restaurants, which we enjoyed thoroughly, were no more than a 10 minute cab ride away. Once this seemingly "transitional" period is over, hopefully these issues will be resolved to match the beautiful top notch scenic location, georgeous rooms, amazing beach/swimming/snorkelling, etc. Except for the concerns noted, I'd rate this hotel a 5 out of 5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2015 by Didier, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Transition period was still on at your time but franckly speaking we were more affected with the "Chikungunia" who made many of our ambassador sick, like everywhere in French Polynesia . Our standards are to deliver the highest quality service and change is always done to reach our new standards to go beyond your expectation. please come back to experience a true luxury experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora! everything is back to our standards to provide the best of your holidays!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Coreyfrom Los Angeles

big let down

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
maybe it was the let down from just having spent 8 days in bora bora, but my wife & i were sorely disappointed in the sofitel. the service was not what we were expecting. after having an in-depth golf cart tour of the entire facility at our previous hotel, just having the woman from reception point out the window as directions to our room was a big let down. we also did not appreciate waiting 15 minutes & not having a waiter or waitress ever come to our table. this happened every time we went. do yourself a favor & bring booze from duty free & make your own drinks in your room. also if you stay here, make sure you bring bug spray. the mosquitos will eat you alive. the service is not good, the property is a bit run down, & you pay for EVERYTHING (come on, for the price of the room you shouldn't have to pay for snorkels & fins). next time we'll skip this stop & go to bora bora & only bora bora.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by didier, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. Regarding the short trip to your room, although most guests actually enjoy a walk through our beautiful property, we would have been pleased to drive you with one of our golf cars would you have requested it. Regarding your short wait at the restaurant, we can only apologize for it and only stress the fact that it was really exceptional. We thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will ensure our staff is reminded about our quality and service standards. As for mosquitoes, we do take many actions to prevent/ limit any inconvenience to our guests. . On your comment on the state of the hotel, please note that the entire property was entirely renovated in 2006. Some overwater bungalows were actually built that same year and our beautifull Villa was built last year. Finally, the hotel provides the snorkeling equipment on a complimentary basis for the entire length of our guests’ stay. Charges only apply if the equipment is not returned. We hope that our explanations are satisfactory and we remain at your disposal should you have any questions Kind regards