Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Good location if you are doing vineyard tours and self driving.
Cons: If your don't want to drive, I would suggest a Mendoza hotel or there abouts and hire a guide and driver for vineyard tours. It's very affordable.
Location: You need a car to make this work best and finding your way around will be a major challenge as there is little highway and street signs.
A bit rustic in that the rooms are small and not "finished" and not accommodating - need a chair or two. Could be cleaner. Good location, a little hard to find, but a beautiful setting. Very secure but in the middle of less desirable properties - major dog barking all night, but if you keep the AC on, it negates the noise. Attentive staff, but some confusion with requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from St Paul, MN

Cool Hotel!

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Very clean and modern. Small, delver breakfast without charge and really helpful desk people giving recommendations for anything you might need.
Location: Location very convenient to shopping - in the Retiro.
Very hip place, easy location, great hotel staff. The greatest bamboo bikes to use without charge. HIghly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jen

Beautiful resort hotel!

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although a little difficult to find, this resort is well worth the effort! It has beautiful accomodations in the middle of a vineyard with a stunning view of the Andes right outside your window - what more could you ask for! We booked this place at the last minute and are so happy we did. The rooms was very clean with high quality linens, local bath products and an amazing shower/tub. We bought a bottle of wine and enjoyed it on our back deck and also on the deck at the restaurant. The restaurant has a limited menu, but the food was fresh and the staff extremely accomodating. The pool area is also beautiful and comfortable. Aguamiel is a great place to get out of the bustle of the city and decompress. This was our favorite place to stay on our 2-week trip to South America - we HIGHLY recommend it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

El Aguamiel stay Nov 2012

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: Quiet, small and good breakfast
Cons: Distance from attractions and any restaurants as only basic meals on site
Location: Too far from towns and any restaurants so a bit isolated
Long way from local towns and vine yards. Room basic but comfortable. Pool was not clean on arrival (green). Staff were helpful and arranged drivers to restaurants and wineries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by James

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Great little place, very different. Great location, lovely setting, very friendly staff. Need a car unless willing to pay for private drivers (which s not too pricey). Breakfast is nice, food is all fresh although dinner/lunch menu is limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Perfect for a romantic getaway or retreat

Posted Apr 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
We (couple) spent two nights at the El Aguamiel as a romantic getaway. The hotel was just charming, and a magical place, all rooms have a view of the Andes and looking over the hotel vineyards; just stunning. the design is great, you get your own little 'suite' and a patio which feels very private there are only 8 rooms so the place feels relaxed and chilled, a lovely outdoor pool and relaxing area. We were so impressed by the service. We were the only guests on our first night, and due to a miss communication, we had not booked ourselves in for dinner at the hotel that night in their dining room (again lovely design, stunning view). We walked into the reception to a blank look and all the lights in the dining room off. We explained we would like to eat (this was at 8:30pm) and the receptionist went to ask a few questions and came back with a menu for us to order form and turned on the kitchen lights... she said there was no chef, and it would be about an hour... we said fine and sat in the lounge and relaxed; we had low expectations by this point as we though the food was going to come out a microwave and be cooked by the receptionist... WELL!!! Even though there were only two of us they drove out, got the Chef, bough him to the hotel, he cooked the most amazing 3 course meal for us (everything on the menu was available apart form cheeses and everything was fresh) and we drank wine from the hotel vineyard. We had our own private dining room and private chef and waitress, the service and food was outstanding, and all done with a smile despite only two paying guests... the food was so fantastic we ate there on our second night also (with other guests who had arrived). The only negative is that the hotel is in the middle of no where!! You have to get taxis everywhere if you don't rent a car, but the hotel organises these and we did not find it a problem at all, they are cheap. Its the perfect idyllic get away for a couple who want a romantic break, or a group of friends who just want to relax. BUT the remote location is also what make this place so special. It was a great place, I would go back in a heart beat, very special, and great food and service. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Aguamiel - some things great, others not

Posted Mar 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
I loved the pool area, the daily fresh fruit in the rooms, and the care-taking concierge service. The super-deep, super huge stone bathtub was a real treat, as were the bespoke wine-labeled shampoos/conditioners. Drawbacks: It appeared they were refilling the shampoos/conditioners - they were not new, which just is a simple thing that leaves a very bad impression; they only served their estate-bottled wine at their "restaurant". In a wine-region, you'd expect more variety. The design of the rooms was not to my taste - but you see most of what you get online: I did not find the bed comfortable, storage in the room was sorely lacking (one small wardrobe closet meant that you and your partner will be tripping over your suitcases on the floor - not even a suitcase stand was available), no decoration, a small box-style TV like that found in US Motel 6 (they should just get rid of the TVs or put in a more chic flat panel - the ones they have bring down the tone and make the rooms look cheap); no covering on upper window in the room means the sun will shine in every morning - it woke me but that doesn't bother some people. Cleaning service did not come until 6 pm - meaning our room was not that welcoming, fresh, clean that you expect at a hotel with this number of stars. Pricey, ambitious restaurant - needs more quality control in execution. You will spend a lot on cab fare if you stay here without a car - getting to and from activities, wineries and dinner elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY, USA

Great

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Location: Middle of nowhere
Beautiful, serene, good food and great lounging by the pool. Rent a car in Mendoza and drive down here (with a map).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice and relaxing

Posted Oct 17, 2011 on Hotels.com
We stayed for two nights while exploring some of the great wineries of Mendoza. It's a great hotel to stay at and lay low for a couple of days. The food service was a little slow, but call the restaurant in advance to order your food and all should be good. We didn't have a car so we had to stay in most of the time, but that didn't matter. We just popped open a bottle of wine and enjoyed the sun setting over the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rio de Janeiro, RJ

Wonderful stay, surprisingly good food

Posted Mar 21, 2011
Lovely hotel, great service, beautiful surroundings, but the thing that surprised us the most was the food - superb, innovative, plentiful... A wonderful stay, we highly recommend it for couples. Make sure you dine in the hotel and order the goat cheese starter. The "house" wine isn't bad either, but I guess the choices could be wider. Mendoza is a great region to visit and the Aguamiel is a great place to rest and enjoy after the tours.