Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bonn

Angenehmer Aufenthalt bei hilfsbereiten Vermietern

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Die Unterkunft besticht mit der stets überaus hilfsbereiten, aber unaufdringlichen Art der Vermieter. Nett für Kinder: Reiten auf dem Kaltblüter.
Location: Das "Hotel" hat den (durchaus angenehmen) Charakter von "Ferien auf dem Bauernhof". Es liegt verkehrsgünstig (auch ÖPNV) zu Zell am See.
Wir haben im Oktober ein verlängertes Wochenende in einem der Appartments verbracht. Das Appartment war originell mobliert und sehr angenehm zu nutzen. Etwas störend ist der Lärmpegel durch die nahe und recht stark befahrene Durchgangsstraße, der sich allerdings nur bei geöffnetem Fenster bemerkbar macht. Überaus angenehm sind die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft der Vermieter: Es lohnt sich, nach Tipps für Ausflüge zu fragen, auch wenn der nahe gelegene Bereich Kaprun - Zell am See schon ein umfangreiches Standardprogramm bereit hält
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rainerfrom Metzingen

Exzellenter Kurzaufenthalt

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wir waren für das verlängerte Wochenende in diesem im Jahre 2010 vollkommen schön renovierten Schlosshotel. Das "Ritterzimmer" gefiel uns durch seine vielen liebevollen Details. Ein Frühstück und Brötchenservice wird ebenso angeboten wie einen eigenen neuen Saunabereich im Nebenhaus und ein Grill häuschen im Freien, in dem man auch an ungemütlichen Tagen grillen kann. Dabei war die Schlossfamilie ein sehr herzlicher Gastgeber.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chadfrom Austin, Texas

Amazing stay in historic castle

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent 3 days at Schloss Saalhof in June. What an experience! I had researched it extensively on the internet so I knew somewhat what to expect, but my expectations were exceeded once we arrived. As the name implies, this is a real castle dating from the 17th century. It is also a working farm, which means they have fresh milk, preserves, meats and schnapps that they produce on-site. This makes for an amazing breakfast! The rooms were spacious and immaculate, the grounds were filled with plenty of activities for our 9-year-old (trampoline, swings, etc.), and the views of the surrounding mountains were incredible. It's located about 10 minutes from Zell am See, but the village of Maishofen is within walking distance and has everything you need (restaurants, grocery store, bakery). This is a great base for taking in everything the surrounding area has to offer, and the Riedler family will make you feel right at home. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Grymt trevligt

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rekommenderar detta enormt trevliga familjeägda "slott".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Adolf

Warning!!!!

Posted Jul 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
It´s a nice place to stay but they will charge you 45 euro for "final cleaning"!!! That was an unpleasant surprise that they forgot to tell about when i booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge ON Canada

Castle Saalhof - a PERFECT place to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2011 on Hotels.com
Like many other travellers, we found Castle Saalhof on the internet. Great luck! We booked for 3 nights in late May, but ended up staying for 6. Your hostess Kathrin is gracious and friendly,speaking German, English, French and Italian. She knows what to do and see in the local area and has brochures for many of the attractions. The town of Zell am See (and associated lake) is less than 10 minutes away by car. We were there for a hiking holiday, so the location was perfect. Close to the Schmittenhohe gondola, the Grossglockner High Alpine road, Krimml Falls, but a bit farther from the Zillertal Alps hikes (Schlegeisspicher reservoir). The rooms were very modern, clean, and quiet. Ours had a small kitchenette, satellite TV and high speed internet. You can do laundry for 3Euros if you're on an extended trip with limited clothing. Fresh bread and eggs can be provided daily on request (it's on a working farm) for a minimal cost. Fresh milk always available, as well as a shot of homemade Schnapps on arrival! Grocery store, ATM, restaurants within 5 minutes walking. There's even a restaurant across the road which has great salads and pizzas for a very reasonable cost. Basically, you WILL NOT be dissapointed staying at the Castle. We highly recommend it! (for the sceptics: we do not work there nor are we getting paid to write this!) Book with confidence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Bibbiano (RE), italia

Castle saalof Maishofen

Posted Jun 23, 2011
E' veramente bellissimo . Abbiamo soggiornato nella stanza più grande di questo castello seicentesco circondato da prati e mucche...Proprietari gentilissimi e... latte fresco tutte le mattine!! Una meraviglia
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester, United Kingdom

Amazing getaway

Posted Mar 18, 2010
This wonderfully renovated castle made a perfect location for my ski trip. Kathrin was a wonderful hostess. She collected me from the train station in the wee hours of the morning and helped with a loan of her laptop when mine was unable to connect to the internet. It should be noted that because this is a castle, the thick walls do not permit WiFi. So be prepared to come with a USB Ethernet connector. Kathrin provides plenty of ethernet cables as required.