Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west yorkshire

Good for families

Posted Jun 3, 2014
The hotel is designed for families with young children the kids club looked great and the entertainment was mostly directed at children. The beach is 5 mins away and is very nice we found it a bit noisy round the pool. The food was excellent in the restaurant and Carmen one of the waitresses is really lovely. I didn't find the reception staff particularly helpful with our queries. The cable cars in Benalmadena were a really enjoyable day out with the falconry show at the top.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2014 by Luis Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your feedback after your stay with us. We appreciate your good reviews regarding our staff and Mini club, and we take your comment regarding the reception staff very serious. Our aim is to ease and please your stay 100% and therefore we apologise. Kindest regards from the Benalmadena Palace team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aggie

Great hotel for young families with kids.

Posted May 29, 2014
I was well impressed by the amount of activities and play areas for kids. My 5 year old daughter was delighted and think that despite some minuses I would highly recommend it for people with kids. Also big plus for the meal options. We went for half-board options and would highly recommend it. Great variety of food and also really delicious dishes served every day. The minuses are: 1) hotel is promising to change towels daily although sometimes we had a letter left on the table that they only changed bins and made beds. Even when towels were changed we were getting sometimes right amount of them sometimes only two big one what was not enough for my family. 2)our bathroom was only cleaned on our arrival, even hotel state it is twice a week, the same with bed linens. 3) rip off on dinner when even when you paid for it you have to pay for drinks separately (for breakfast drinks are included in price) 4) laundry service - I used it twice, firstly at reception they charge for it 3.5 EUR, and two days later they said 4 EUR? 5) we had a great view with pool and sea view although sometimes it was very noisy in the night time as pub area is very close as well. 6) sofa bed option is probably good for children only, very difficult to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by haggis from Burlington, Ontario

A first-rate hotel for couples with young families

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They worked harder than in any hotel that I have ever stayed in.
Cons: This is a family hotel. If you want a place where you can sleep at night, I recommend that you should book another hotel in Benalmadena.
Location: Benalmadena is a splendid resort for young families with children. There a first-rate beach, a marina, a theme park and a dolphinarium.
The hotel has excellent staff and facilities and is located on a hill. This location means that the return journey from the beach can be remarkably exhausting. Benalmadena has a beautiful marina and is much more attractive than surrounding resorts (Torrelomenos, Fuengirola and so on). A terrific bus and train service means that visiting Marbella, Malaga and so on is remarkably straightforward and inexpensive. Noise was a serious issue, particularly during the Easter Vacation, when many people 'partied' on their balconies well into the night. Noise will be an issue during warm summer evenings in the high season (July, August). In the main bar, the noise level during 'happy-hour' from 9 p.m. to 10 p.m. was unbelievably high, since young children ran amok in the entertainment area, while their parents sat outside and smoked on the adjoining patio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay

Posted May 15, 2014
Lovely hotel close to beach and nicewalk along sseafront to the harbour. Perfect location very clean staff helpful and good selection off high quality good. It would definitely go back x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hayley from manchester

fantastic hotel excellent facilities

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: modern and clean with great facilities. Food always good, varied in the evening always plenty for fussy eaters.
Cons: nothing that i noticed.It is a large hotel so easy to get lost but once you figuire out where everything is its ok.
Location: beach right at the end of the road only 5 min walk. Restaurants and shop nearby also supermarket which is great value.
lovely hotel with lots of facilities, rooms cleaned daily, hotel always clean, staff polite and friendly. pools and pool area lovely and clean and attractive surroundings with nice views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Scotland

Nice hotel on the whole

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Food was the best thing.
Cons: My room could have been much more comfortable and welcoming.
Location: Plenty to see and do in the area. Hop on/off bus was great, as was the cable car trip. Marina was gorgeous. Boat trip was lovely. Great restaurants.
My room was vey basic and sparce. I had 2 very small balconies which I had to stand on a chair to see out of. Sofa was incredibly uncomfortable to sit on. Food was very good, although not everything on the buffet was hot enough. Staff mostly really friendly and helpful. Perhaps Manuel could be persuaded to smile occasionally! Evening entertainment didn't start until 10.15pm!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't see how this rates a 4 star...

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The pool, free wifi, free parking outside
Overall, it wasn't bad... but it wasn't very good either. The staff, contrary to the reviews I have seen were far from nice and never seemed to want to speak to us. We had questions about the area and what we could do, where we could eat, they simply could not answer. The rooms were cleaned daily, but they need a good scrubbing cause I felt hesitant about letting my child crawl on the floor, his hands were black afterwards! We could not even turn on the oven fan cause the knobs were so greasy. The food at the restaurant and snack bar was horrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Luis Garcia, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Benalmadena Palace for your holidays and for writing your feedback. We are very sorry we didnĀ“t meet your expectations in some aspects. Our Hotel is precisely well known for the kindness of our staff, therefore we take your complaints very seriously. We shall look into your complaints, and hope we can still rebuild your confidence in our Hotel. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Leicestershire

Good apart/hotel in elevated position

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Outside terraces and pools
Cons: Make the Menus more Spanish
Location: Good walk along the sea front to the marina and on along the Torremolinos promenade. The cable car ascending 700 meters Go by bus to Malaga 3+ Euro
As an 79 yr old solo traveler I found the studio apartment on the 7th floor excellent. With a close by lift which went down to the garage reducing the hill walk from the promenade!! The menu for the restaurant and snack bar was very disappointing and not Spanish - very little fish or seafood and no tapas I prepared and cooked my own breakfasts, lunches and 3 evening meals with food bought from Mercadona supermarket 20 mins walk their and a 5 euro taxi return! I ate out on 4 eveningsat nearby restaurants - Crystal and Los Remos Lazaro, down the hill then right and cross the road and down the steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by spanish family

Really good for children

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Really good hotel for the price, the children club and thestaff the best. Good buffet with someone playing a big piano every day, good situation aswell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by marie from north warwickshire

Good hotel, plenty of facilities and entertainment

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Stayed 1 week January hotel and staff very good, lection for evening buffet. Staff were very helpful especially dining room staff. A bit of uphill walk to hotel entrance but by using garage entrance this eliminates steepest part of the road. The whole area away from the beach and promenade is hilly, but the buses etc are very good (very cheap compared to uk) and it is easy to get about on them. We went to Mijas, Fuengirolo and Torremolinos by bus for 1.65 euros each way. Also got train from airport for 2 euros each to Benalmedena station and then got cab to hotel. Trains run every 20 mins and station is juonly criticism is that food could have been hotter although there is a microwave available if you wish to use it, and was hoping for better fish sest across from airport entrance.