Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Excellent hotel in perfect location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Wonderful stay at the fuerte Marbella, everything about the hotel was excellent. Very clean, friendly, efficient and welcoming. Vast choice for breakfast and helpful staff. Great location on the beach and within minutes walk of old town and great restaurants (if you want to leave hotel!). Only a long weekend this time but will definately return in the future for longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo Grove, IL

Lovely facility at the beach and near Old Town

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Location: 5 min walk to the marina andOld Town. 30 min water shuttle to Puerto Banus. 45 min drive from Malaga and about a 60 minute drive to Gilbraltar.
The Fuerte Marbella was quite clean with both a lovely beach and grounds with two swimming pools. Breakfast buffet was quite lavish Extremely conveninent to access the marina and Old Town Marbella, which is a terrific area to walk around and visit shops and all types of restuarants. Only hesitation in our recommendation was them seeking to charge us for a water from the mini-bar we didn't drink (btw, worst mini-bar I've seen in quite some time, but we're not mini-bar people). In addition, since we had to check out prior to our last day's breakfast, they gave us a "box lunch" instead, which was pretty pitiful, compared to what they could have included had they made more of an effort; nor would they in lieu of the box lunch just waive the last day's value of the buffet from our bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

Lovely hotel, very central for beach and old town.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
4th visit to this hotel and it won't be the last. Perfect location in Marbella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Home from home

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Stayed at the Fuerte Marbella with my mum for 2 weeks and it was an absolute joy - I miss it already! Perfectly situated in the centre of Marbella with easy access to shops / public transport etc beach is opposite And hotel is 2 mins from the old town! We had a partial sea view and it was perfect ... didn't hear any noise at all from the promenade and the entertainment finished at a decent time so no disturbances. We had room only but on a couple of occasions, we ordered food from the restaurant and it was lovely. Staff were really pleasant too and love it if you make the effort to speak a bit of Spanish! The only thing is that there are no organised trips, so you may have to sort out transportation yourself. Eg. We went to Selwo Adventura in Estapona and we had to take the bus - it was a fun experience! Had a look at the Fuerte Miramar and that was lovely too but much prefer the Marbella for comfort, style and location. Definately would go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jacksonville , Fl

Best hotel ever

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful Location was perfect Very clean rooms Great breakfast buffet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel now a little 'weary' but well positioned.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities - specifically its pools, immediate access to the Mediterranean and five minutes stroll to the edge of the atmospheric Old Town
Cons: As already mentioned, it's now a bit weary; worn carpets, dated decor etc.
Location: Ideally placed to eat, drink and be merry.
No specific problems. Breakfast was plentiful - if a little bland; dinner o.k but the Old Town has so many good restaurants that it would be a shame to dine at The Fuerte too often where 'atmosphere' is in short supply, by comparison - and in an ideal world, use the hotel for 'bed' only and breakfast in one of the very nearby street caf├ęs. Not only is this the most economic option but it allows the traveller to take advantage of the excellent hotel facilities and location whilst benefitting from immediate access to the Old Town and wider, genuinely Spanish surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
This was my fifth visit to the el fuerte, never disappoints. Fantastic position on frontline, very peaceful, fabulous breakfast. The perfect place to stay in marbella. Have recommended to many friends and they have all enjoyed their stay. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr Khan from Ireland

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel service was excellent! The staff were very good and the hotel was extremely clean, breakfast was super! Will definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paul F from Dublin

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very good hotel - excellent service and friendly staff. The staff at reception were particularly helpful with any query. Just beside the old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com