Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Scotland

A completely different hotel - like a castle.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It was completely different from the usual hotel.
Cons: Buffet breakfast would make this better as most of the staff did not speak good Englsih although they were very friendly and helpful.
Location: Location was not good - in an industrial estate. It was also difficult to find if you did not know the area.
The hotel itself was completely different from the usual type of hotel in which we usually stay. Very Spanish. The location was difficult to find - it being in an industrial estate, and we did have problems finding it. First time round we took a taxi from the airport and the driver had not heard of the hotel! He had to ask the other taxi drivers! Second time around at the end of our holiday we managed to get directions and a map from our timeshare. There was no buffet breakfast as is usual in hotels but on our second visit of two visits we managed to have a nice breakfast. First time round we just had toast. Most of the staff did not speak good English although they were very helpful and very friendly.
3 out of 5
by Ikukumu from Central Africa

Nice hotel but in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The architecture of the hotel was great and the exposition of old cars inside.
Cons: It'd easier for people who don't speak english to have pictures of the food at the restaurant. Also a free shuttle would make life easier for people.
Location: The location is a total disaster. There is nothing to do near by. You need to have a car or wait for the bus that comes every 20 minutes.
We booked the hhis hotel because of the good price. As soon as we arrived, we understood why the price was so affordable for a 4 stars hotel. Unfortunately, we couldn't cancel because our reservation was not refundable. The hotel is really nice but there is nothing to do arround because it is located in an industrial area. So we decided to rent a car to get away from that place. If you are looking for a nice hotel close to shops and restaurants, Plaza del Castillo is definately not the place to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel it is a shame the location

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: staff and facilities good rooms
Cons: signs and posts but staff explained it was due to politics with the local council
Location: there is nothing but empty land where rubbish is dumped and no cafes or restaurants for miles,no bus and no public transport,cant walk at night
it is located in the middle of an industrial park by the highway and it is not possible to find it without GPS..i drove 2,5 hrs up the road and was only 4 miles away from the hotel but because it is in a back street at the very end of the slums in an industrial park full of warehouses, it was hard to find. it is virtually underneath a fly over,most bizarre. after asking 10 people and going through 3 petrol stations,right in the middle of nowhere there it was hidden at the very end of the warehouses its a shame as it is an hidden gem with gardens and amazing rooms and food,private underground parking etc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MJ from Bristol

Out of the way - yet convenient

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: New, clean, interesting, handy, very good deeal on prices. Friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Silly really but a rug on the cold tile floors would have been a great comfort.
Location: Within half an hour to an hour of ALL the attractions of the Costa del Sol Handy to airport and city centre with great network of roads.
Tucked away well out of town on the edge of an estate of warehouses but ideal for our purposes. It had views of the mountains but we weren't there for the views. We were house hunting for a pad in the Costa del Sol region. This was perfectly placed for us with good communications via an excellent new road network. The whole hotel, which I think is quite new, is fashioned as a medieval castle. Some may find this a bit naff but I loved the effort they had made. The room was Ok, very clean, plainly furnished but a very comfy bed and all we needed really including TV, free Wi-Fi, pristine bath/shower room, again immaculately clean. I also loved the collection of classic British cars they had around the ground floor level. Incongruous but fascinating non the less. Lots of facilities we didn't use but all looked fine. About 15 minutes from city or airport but beware sat-navs need to be up to date as ours didn't recognise some of the new (but brilliant) roads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tony from Colorado

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose the hotel for its proximity to the airport and down town and on ratings from previous guests. The neighborhood was sort of industrial but appeared to be safe. The hotel and our room were clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly, helpful and available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christine from USA

Easy access into Malaga

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful and romantic castle-like hotel located right off the auto via with easy drive into city center and very close to airport. Parking easy and free with many spaces available. Very friendly staff, great restaurant, and excellent hotel service. Great value and highly recommended for a stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Susan G White from England

Wanting to please!

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Plaza Del Castillo really goes out of their way to please you. The staff is very friendly, the hotel is really clean and new looking, with a fun Spanish Mediaeval Fantasy theme. Our room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and great air conditioning. It even had a lovely restaurant with full meals or snacks at a reasonable price. Only one draw back, it was really hard to find...never try it in the dark! Saying that though, I am sure we will go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jan from Canada

Nice, but difficult to find.

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and well kept with very friendly and helpful staff. The only downside was that it was located in the middle of an industrial area, and it took my friend and I a while to find it... And we had a car. Still, we had a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by globetrotters from Warwickwshire

Quirky hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although only opened in July, the hotel has been made to look like a medieval castle! We really liked the d├ęcor and the courtyard garden was very pleasant. The restaurant was good value too.