Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by jhon from England, UK

hotel break

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: WE cant think of anything
Cons: The pool and area and reception area
Location: very good location
the hotel needs updating . we had bed and breakfast the very poor . I bought ear plugs needed them at night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Poor quality food; hotel needs reburbishment

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
The food at The Tropicana borders on appalling. Most evening meals are Chicken and/or Pork, and every meal is with soggy chips and peas. The soup is usually bland and lukewarm and the bread rolls are stale. The breakfast is equally terrible. Complaints to reception were met with a shrug of the shoulders. The resulted in having to eat out most evenings even though I paid for half-board. The hotel itself is desperately in need of reburbishment. The official rating is 4 star, which is totally missleading. I would rate it as a mid-level 3 star. It is right next door to a true 4 star hotel: The Amaragua, which by comparison shows how rundown The Tropicana has become over the years. It doesn't look like any money has been spent since the 70s when it was built. Yes, the hotel is in an excellent position right on the front, but I would guess it needs about 1 million Euros spent to bring it back to true 4 star standard. The chances of that happening are probably about zero in the economic climate. On the positive side the hotel and rooms are kept very clean, though the our room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon each day as the hotel is clearly understaffed. If you are looking for a 4 star hotel pass on this one.
2 out of 5
by AN from Hertfordshire, UK

DISAPPOINTING STAY AT THE TROPICANA HOTEL

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: NONE
Cons: STAFF
Location: LA CARIHUELA IS BEAUTIFUL
very disappointing that we never felt that the staff cared to be pleasent around us ,didnt like to ask for anything.food was dreadful cold veg ect:no eggs and bacon.make sure when you have drinks with your meal that all of the staff see that you have signed the reciept or like us they ran after you! no apologies given.If you want a lovely day on the beach we would recommend to buy a sunbed at playa maguel end of la carihuela lovely people always pleased to see you unlike the hotel beach/sunbed ect: We would always recommend La Carihuela beautiful location but not the Tropicana hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

Exactly what we expected

Posted Jul 31, 2011
We stayed in a studio apartment behind the hotel. The room was basic and clean, exactly as we had expected. Our studio room overlooked a busy road but earplugs and black out curtains ensured we had a good nights sleep. Located a few minutes from the hotel and from the beach it was perfect. We chose to have the hotel breakfast buffet each day as there was a plentiful selection of good food on offer. Take slip-on sandals to walk across the sand to the sea - the sand is so hot in the afternoons it feels as if it's burning your feet. One day the sea wasn't very clean but we could have used the pool instead. No nightclubs or noisy bars near to our hotel - but plenty of restaurants and beach bars to choose from. Would recommend this hotal for a quiet beach break.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Hotel Tropicana - the A|C doesn't work

Posted Jun 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
The area is nice, but look at other hotels nearby unless you're OK with not having A/C in your room. Also, no ice and no parking. There is a restaurant on the premises but we didn't eat there because the only option is buffet (so forget about eating in your room).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warwick, England

Hotel Tropicana - 4 star or not 4 star

Posted Jun 28, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel has a good location adjacent to the promenade/beach. It's clean and the staff are friendly. Our stay was on a bed and breakfast basis. The buffet style breakfast was definitely not 4 star, in fact I'd find it hard to give it 1 star. The cooked breakfast was always cold. The bacon and sausages were poor quality as were the cereals and fruit salad. Our room in itself was OK. Clean and a reasonable size. However, June is quite warm, especially for brits, and the air conditioning only worked as an additional fan - no cooling - in conjunction with the ceiling fan. Opening the balcony door might have helped but the noise from an extractor outlet below our room (203) made it impossible to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Central Ilinois

A Nice Beachfront Experience

Posted Jun 8, 2010
The location was perfect--just a few steps to the beach. The staff was very helpful and helped us overcome any language barriers. Our room was spacious and had a great view of the beach. We would definitely stay here again. The Tropicana seemed to be a little smaller that some of the other beachfront hotels, and we liked that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Merseyside

Tropicana Beach Hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2010 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great, location was excellent, had some lovely walks, no hills! Hospitality from staff was excellent, hotel was spotless, rooms were cleaned every day. Had a thouroughly lovely stay and would highly recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ire

Posted May 24, 2010 on Hotels.com
My recommendation of this hotel to others would be qualified. Location is lovely, on the beach. I have stayed there many times but this last visit I was given rooms at the entrance to the restaurant. The noise and the smells were not pleasant, Especially with the wedding on Saturday night. Breakfast has deteriorated from good fresh choice to a buffet down one end of the restaurant with stale cereal and tinned fruit. Not good enough. Dont think it warrents a 4 star anymore