Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Great staff and location.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, other guests, location, cleanliness,entertainment every night.
Cons: Breakfast could be a little chaotic if you got down after 9 o'clock. Not enough tables to go around and queues for toast, coffee etc.
Location: Great location. Excellent restaurant called The Gallery on the sea front, food outstanding.
We enjoyed a relaxing stay here. The staff were all helpful and pleasant. The hotel is ideally situated for the beach and the centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrow, Middlesex

Great small friendly hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The whole package
Cons: Some parts of the complex need to be refurbished to be honest.
Location: About. 10 minutes to the beach or centre of the town but there is a steep hill to get to the each to be honest.
A great small friendly hotel that provides an excellent service for best value. The food was very good and the price point for the services was very good also. I would recommend this hotel to any one and we plan to return there sometime in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hampshire

good location and nice staff

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: pool area and garden were great, breakfast buffet was fantastic with a great choice of food every day, reception area was very pleasant to relax in.
Cons: rooms and bathrooms, the old I'll reserve a sun lounger with a towel all day and not be on it for hours at a time routine whilst I go into town
on arriving at the villa flamenca we were greeted well and check in was very quick, the rooms we were allocated were then found to be very disappointing, both overlooking the kitchen roof and both were very shabby and not very pleasant at all. having gone to reception to complain about the rooms we were told nothing could be done until the following day as the hotel was full. so we were resigned to spend our first night in two not so nice very smelly rooms, the next day we were moved to another 2 rooms as promised and they were nicer but still very worn out and dated. bathrooms looked as though they had not been refurbished in 20 years, although the rooms and bathrooms were useable for our stay they were of poor quality and I am amazed that the hotel has a 3 star rating. it was noted that there is a leaflet in reception showing that the rooms are going to be updated next year with a picture of a finished room and you were able to visit the show room. so I am sure when this work is done the hotel will be a pleasure to stay in. I cant fault the staff as there were all very happy, helpful and polite, the food at the breakfast buffet was excellent and the meals we had at night when we chose to dine at the hotel were very good, the bar staff were always hard working, the pool area and gardens were very nice too. I would stay at the flamenca again but only after the refurbishment has taken place
3 out of 5
by Philip from Winchester UK

Reasonable hotel - steep road to beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: The Moroccan style area in the foyer was very attractive. Good choice of buffet breakfast. Restaurant and bar prices were very reasonable.
Cons: The d├ęcor on the whole was very dated. A definite policy on money exchanging facilities would be helpful. Suggest that new guests are given a map.
Location: It's a long, steep walk to and from Burriana beach. It also take 20 minutes to walk down to Nerja's centre.
Room was on the small side. The written instruction was not to reserve sunbeds round the pool and not to use inflatables, but this was ignored by many guests and not followed up by the hotel staff. Could have done with sun umbrellas, although there was some shade under trees. There was some confusion about money changing, although there was an exchange sign outside the hotel. One of the reception staff in particular was very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from Devon, U.K.

Pleasant hotel close to beach and shops.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. It had a clean swimming pool and the reception area was cool and welcoming.
Cons: In the bedrooms, a mini-bar or a small refrigerator to hold water, drinks and chocolate, etc. Tea/coffee making facilities.
Location: Near to the beach.Plenty of shops. Local tapas bars and bistros.
This was the first time I had stayed at Villa Flamenca though I have been holidaying in Nerja for 30+ years. Whilst the room was OK and the air conditioning worked well, I was disappointed that there was no mini-bar or fridge to keep water, drinks, etc. cold. This was a problem as it was very, very hot during my stay. Also, there was no coffee/tea making facility which meant having to shower,dress and go to breakfast before I could have my usual early morning coffee(s) before breakfasting. I was also disappointed that - apart from a buffet breakfast which was excellent - evening dinner was also buffet service. This was not made clear to me prior to booking otherwise I would not have chosen this hotel. I like to have dinner in the restaurant with waiter/waitress service. The maids who cleaned my room daily were excellent and very friendly. For the friendliness and welcoming attitude of other staff, I would give a rating of 8 out of 10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luanne from Florida

Close to beach

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay as close to beach, lovely neighborhood and delicious breakfast. Very pretty lobby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heidi from London, England

Decent Hotel with the beach nearby

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: The solarium, the breakfast, the warm fireplace in the lobby -- nice for resting after a long day of sightseeing!
Cons: Heat the pool! Get a few more friendly employees!
Location: Well it's close to the beach. There's also a great pizzeria on the main street called Jiminez Pizzeria -- highly recommended, even late hours! :)
We had a great time although we found the front desk employees to be a a bit stiff and not very inviting. The solarium on the the third floor is nice, it allows for some quiet time in the sun if that's what you're looking for. The room was clean and pleasant although the TV was the tiniest thing we'd ever seen, but I suppose if you're not planning on watching too much TV, it doesn't matter. The included breakfast was very good with a decent selection but the dinner left much to be desired. Don't bring your own wine to dinner either, you'll definitely be barked out by the waitstaff if you do! :( The pool is not heated so don't think about swimming unless it's the summertime, it's far too cold. There are many elderly people who come to this hotel. If you're looking for a wild time with lots of partying, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for some nice and quiet time away from the big city life like in London for example, you'll enjoy. Also skip the store across the street from this establishment. The gentleman running the place isn't very kind or helpful but if you walk to the head of the street (away from the beach) there's a Spar with a very pleasant lady there. Also please be advised to get to the beach you walk down a very steep hill. Going there isn't bad but returning after a long day sunning or after too much wine at a beach front restaurant can prove to be quite the challenge. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kazzafloss

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mel from Chester

Lovely hotel!

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Hotel Flamenca is a lovely hotel that is a short walk to the beach &the Balcon Europa! The hotel is what you pay for! It's a basic hotel in regards to room facility but clean&accommodating! The rooms do not have kettles or refrigerators which I would have preferred but we had breakfast included in our booking&the breakfast buffet has a good variety of foods&drinks to choose from!I know the hotel provides evening meals to which we heard positive feedback from the other guests!The staff are very helpful& polite!The staff will do that little bit more to make you feel very welcome.For example,when we got lost finding our hotel on the first day,when we phoned the hotel they helped us by trying to direct us the right way back to the hotel&in the end phoned a taxi for us.When we asked for extra pillows they were provided too!The staff gave information around weather, buses&tourist attraction info!Also the bar staff were funny&polite!The hotel also had regular entertainment such as flamenco dancers,festive entertainment&info displays about how to make Paela&sangria!The only thing that I could say negative about the hotel is that I would have liked to able have more space around the pool to put sun loungers rather than being restricted to two sides of the pool especially when there was capacity to do so with the hotel being quieter in Oct season!Also I think the pool should be regularly cleaned with a net to get the leaves&debree out each day!Wifi should be accessed in our rooms too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monty from Preston Lancs

Good Value for the price

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: refurbishment of rooms
Location: good location short walks to town and beaches
We found our room adequate and kept very clean, but it was in need of refurbishment and the bathroom in particular has reached the end of its life and should be completely changed. The cabinet was rotten at the bottom, the drawers did nor work or were so warped as to be unusuable. The air conditioning system leaked water through the grill for a complete day befor it was fixed. This said the public rooms were much better, restauarant, bar etc and the garden was well maintained considering this was the end of the season. The staff are by far the best asset of the hotel, friendly and helpful at all times.