Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing location with sandy beaches.

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Fab location . Hotel good but rooms need updated. Food is plentiful but could do with more taste. Breakfast fab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by emma from surrey england

Great weekend break

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Location great Wide breakfast selection
Cons: Heating the pool
Location: Fantastic location Plenty of restaurants, shops and bars all within walking distance.
This hotel is in a great location right next to the harbour , lots of caf├ęs, restaurants and shops. We Stayed here may 2014 for a 4 night break. We had two rooms with sea view on the 5th floor, (need to be aware they do not have interconnecting rooms) Rooms were bright with a great view of the harbour. A little dated but clean and comfortable. Breakfast buffet had a great selection. Lifts reliable and speedy. Surprised the outdoor pool was not heated as it was freezing, too cold for the kids to swim! It was worth booking the sea view as at first they tried to put us in a ground floor room which overlooked the alley/ mountain stream with trees and shrubs. If you are planning a full weeks holiday take some ear plugs as local dogs bark ALL night long, although this is not the hotels fault. Also if you like to sit by the pool you will need to have your towel out by 6.30 am , however plenty of very comfortable beach beds for a small cost each day. Would book another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ACMA from Dublin

Great Hotel - great location

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the pool/sun loungers and the overall general location. Staff are very helpful and work very hard.
Cons: Try to improve on providing hot breakfasts.
We stayed at the Sol Aloha over Easter for 7 nights, the hotel was spotless, staff extremely friendly and bedrooms comfortable, the only small issue was that the hot breakfast was in fact cold, however, We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by emma from london

Disappointed with all the extra charges

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: The variety of food they offered for their breakfast & lunch
Cons: Room was clean but sheets were not changed in the 5 days that we stayed, guests should not be charged extra for the use of equipments in the room
Location: Good location near bin almadina harbour, lots of restaurants
Was promised a room with a sea view by expedia staff but wasn't the case when I arrived, couldn't use the fridge for my medication & special dietary food unless I bought 10 items from the mini bar, was forced to buy drinks with lunch& wasn't allowed to bring in my special drinks that I took with me from England, Wi Fi was very expensive for my son to do his homework whereas all the other hotels offered free Internet use & last but not least the use of the safe in the room had to be paid for which makes the hotel a nice place to stay in but very expensive in comparison to other packaged holidays
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Northampton, UK

Good central location

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Generally very good buffet style food, with a number of different options to choose from. Nice gardens and outside snack bar. Sea view from room.
Cons: Sunbeds reserved with towels by fellow guests from v early in the morning and many of them were left unused for several hours. No free WIFI or safe.
Location: Excellent location with rear of hotel facing out onto the sea with access to the promenade and beach just a few metres away. Shops/restaurants nearby.
Enjoyed a 5 night stay at this hotel having stayed here many times previously. Pleased to see that the main bar and reception area has been refurbished to a good standard. The bedrooms are clean and spacious, many have sea views of some sort depending on which block you are in. However the rooms are in need of a makeover as do look rather dated now. Staff at reception helpful as always. The hotel was extremely busy (most Spanish people take their holidays during August) and getting a sunbed was pretty much impossible unless you are prepared to get up at around 7am to reserve a spot. The beach is right in front of the pool terrace and gardens so a sunbed and parasol can be hired for around 4 euros 50 per person. Some areas of the beach include free wifi within the price. There are high prices for this in the hotel therefore worthwhile if you like to surf the net from your sunbed! Pool, terraces and gardens are all well maintained. Food choices were good for breakfast and dinner, with something to suit most tastes. The hotel is close to all the action - Benalmadena marina is a short stroll away. There are many bars, restaurants and shops on the beachside promenade and also on the road at the front of the hotel. There is also a taxi rank just outside. The hotel is well placed for exploring the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gary from Bristol

Surprisingly good

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
A family holiday in July for a week, read the reviews on this hotel and expected less than we actually got. we were upgraded to a suite, nice room overlooking the gardens, which was nice as shaded in the afternoon and a view of the sea and mountains and gardens. On halfboard, food quality was very good, with a lot of choices for the evening meal to satisfy anyones taste including a nightly roast - the roast beef was very good. The location is excellent right next door to the marina. We enjoyed the week although as mentioned in other reviews, the cost for wifi is very expensive and we didn't use as plenty of free points around the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Noel from Dolgellau, Wales.

Great Location

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Brilliant location, front line hotel, access to promenade, short stroll to Benalmadena marina, good food, reasonable service, clean comfortable rooms... Bad points?.. This is a very large hotel (aproximately 400 rooms) with a very small area for sunbathing, consiquently there are only sufficient sun loungers for a small amount of guests'. I was amused to find over 3 dozen people waiting with towels for the garden and pool area to open at 0730 hrs one day. Only 2 British channels on the room tv (more4 & film4). Wi Fi which in my view should be free in public areas in a 4 star hotel is very expensive, as is the extra charge if you require a 'Sunny' room. But that aside, an enjoyable holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Southampton, UK

Excellent trip away with the Flip Flop girls

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Food was excellent
Cons: Rooms need a little updating
Location: Excellent location
Stayed at this hotel with a group of friends for 3 nights, we had an excellent time, comfortable rooms had all that you needed, could do with a little updating but was good enough. We stayed half board so had breakfast and evening meal, plenty of food to suit all tastes and excellent quality, I quite fussy , but it was lovely. Hotel has evening entertainment so that was a good bonus, would come back to this hotel
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've used that hotel on numerous occasions in the past 15yrs, however this year I found the room very disappointing, expecting an improvement because the hotel had been closed for refurbishment. I was first offered a double bed to accommodate myself and my adult son. In the past the room was more like a suite but now everthing is in a much smaller space, in one compact room. The view was disappointing. I booked half board, presuming it to mean breakfast and lunch and was faced with each day having to clarify this and cautioned about not being able to have a dinner as well. It was the first time staying there that I felt that in the future I would have to stay somewhere else. I wish to compliment Ionowa and Elena in the entertainment section.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rahma from Kenya

Fridge in the room

Posted Apr 10, 2013
Pros: The location and the children's entertainment.
Cons: Receptionist had no Information of the city
Location: Very good location
It is a perfect hotel for anyone especially families, It's unfortunate that they do not switch on the fridge until you buy ten bottles of water from them. I wish they just add the extra for the fridge in their hotel price. I had my 4 children with me and 2 were very small, I was out most of the day I was in Mijas, Puerto Banus, Marbella and Tarifa. When I got back to the hotel was the time I needed it on.