Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Paradise....;.

Posted Apr 11, 2013
We had been there for five days.....it was superb...service was excellent...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stuart from Singapore

Worthy of the great reviews

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Pristine waters, wonderful staff. Mainly couples so very peaceful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just a 30 minute speedboat ride from Male. Saved a lot on the cost of seaplane transfers.
The Anantara Veli lived up to the great reviews and the hotel's web site images. The staff were amazing - probably the best I've experienced. They hit a perfect mix of being friendly, efficient and professional. The resort must have an excess of facilities because despite being full the place felt completely uncrowded. We stayed in a deluxe over-water villa and I'd have preferred to be at the end of the jetty which has better views and is more peaceful and secluded. Despite asking with my booking, a villa at the end wasn't available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Omier from Egypt

so much fun in anatara ,

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: banglow
Cons: everything was great ..
Location: more than great ...
i had soo mych fun there ,,it was my honeymoon and everything was great ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, uk

Great place for couples getaway

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Food and cost is only things that could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim & Harika

Paradise found

Posted Mar 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
We looked at a lot of resorts, and specifically wanted an over-water villa with swimming and snorkeling off the deck, which we found in spades here. The Deluxe Water Villa is everything we wanted. The Deluxe villas have a two level deck, the lower is the 'upgrade' along with the very large soaking tub that is part of the bathroom. Very large villa for the price, and I would have given it all 5's except just a little bit of tlc maintenance is needed. I understand the resort will be closed this summer to refresh so its all good! Great choice, no disappointments. We also love Thai food, and the over-the-water restaurant was excellent, romantic (except shared with families) with great service. This resort does have great coral in the lagoon, and a house reef (contrary to some reports). Another bonus is the close proximity to the island of Male with the airport, so a short 35-40 minute boat ride ($350 per couple, r/t) is all that is required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from india

absolute bliss!!

Posted Feb 28, 2013
Pros: the beach was beautiful and so were the rooms
Cons: expensive..but that is expected as it is a 5 star but it completely lived up to the expectations
from the moment we arrived it was wonderful...the beach was breathtakingly beautiful...the rooms large and very comfortable. the bathroom had a huge tub for two. we had a wonderful 5 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Boston, MA, USA

Paradise, great resort

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Pool, food, activities, beach & ocean!
Cons: Additional taxes at checkout
Location: Perfect!
Everything about this place was easy, and it is the perfect paradise vacation. I chose it because it was attached to the other part of the Anantara resort Dhigu, for completely different choices for food- all of it was delicious, including fresh breakfast buffet. This was a great way to see more than one of the islands. The rooms were lovely and spacious- we stayed in an overwater bungalow. The activities were plenty- we snorkeled, jet-skied, and kayaked. Best infinity pool with great poolside service! Wifi was reliable. People were quite helpful. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A.Seow

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
The over-water villas at Veli are amazing; there is an extensive coral reef right below the villas. We could snorkel right off the villas and swim among the myriad of marine fishes. They provide free snorkelling gear which you get to keep throughout your stay and return only when you check-out. The resort provides a good selection of restaurants between Dhigu & Veli islands. The Thai restaurant is situated at the edge of the lagoon. While dining there in the evening, we watched reef sharks and sting rays swim into the lagoon from the Indian Ocean. Overall, we had a memorable and relaxing stay at the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sara

Posted Dec 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel and staff, great setting. The room was wonderful and it was actually nice having the other Anantara hotel near-by for additional recreation/beach and dining options. We loved the Thai restaurant. The island never felt crowded, though we were told it was operating at 98% capacity. Felt somewhat "resort-y"-- maybe a bit too groomed and organized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ross from Qatar

Friendly, professional service. Truly World Class!

Posted Sep 28, 2012
Pros: The level of service and friendliness from staff was second to none.
Location: Located on a stunning lagoon full of beautiful sea life!
From the moment we were met at airport arrivals to the morning we were dropped off back at departures we were treated to world class service by some of the friendliest, most professional staff I've ever encountered. Grace, our personal guest liaison, who met us off the boat and made sure we always had everything we needed, is particularly deserving of recognition. The villa was spacious and airy, while still being cosy during a spectacular lightning storm. The surroundings are genuinely stunning and although every one of our requests were met within seconds, everything somehow seems to be done in a relaxed, chilled out way. Food at the hotel is very good and I highly recommend the Thai restaurant where you can enjoy great food and service while watching baby sharks and stingrays play in the lagoon below, just a few metres away! One last thing in case you're still unsure: I noted on our reservation that we were travelling to celebrate my wife's birthday and thought maybe they'll leave some chocolates on the bed or something...Massively exceeding my expectations (as ever) the hotel arranged a special breakfast on a table decorated with coloured sand, a chocolate birthday cake delivered to our villa after dinner, a card signed by the manager and I lost count of the staff members who wished her a happy birthday out of the blue. We were blown away.